How to Succesfully Run Multiple Instances of Orca...

Suggestions for making Orca Browser even better go here. Note that Orca is no longer in development, and no new builds or versions of Orca are planned.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
mariano81
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 1:57 am
Windows Version: vista
Avant Version: 1.1
IE Version: n/a

How to Succesfully Run Multiple Instances of Orca...

Post by mariano81 » Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:10 pm

You guys have created two fine products. I've been using Avant Browser for years, after 5 minutes of trying Orca, I became instantly hooked. :thumbup: Much faster in rendering heavy Ajax applications.

I work with 4 monitors in my Vista computer, and I would love to run multiple instances of Orca. Right now, I jump from I use Orca as my main, than Avant, than Firefox, and then Flock. :crazy: It would be so much better if I used Orca for all of them. Is this possible? If so how?

Thanks a Million to any one that can answer this!

:?:

mariano81
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 1:57 am
Windows Version: vista
Avant Version: 1.1
IE Version: n/a

Update: How to Succesfully Run Multiple Instances of Orca...

Post by mariano81 » Mon Jan 12, 2009 6:36 am

With my next words, I am speaking to the loyal following folks of Avant Browser and Orca community of POWER users (perhaps those of us who depend so much on multiple browser windows because of the amount of work and research that we do)....

It would be pretty cool, if we can have multiple instances of Orca running in our computers, right?

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: How to Succesfully Run Multiple Instances of Orca...

Post by bigC » Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:08 pm

Currently this option isn't available in Orca but you can open multiple Avant's. Go to the File menu and select New Avant Browser... or right-click a link and select Open in New Avant Browser

And if you want a new instance to open when you click the icon... Right click AB's icon, click properties and add -runextra to the end of the Target line. Like so,

"C:\Program Files\Avant Browser\avant.exe" -runextra

AlvinPing
Fan
Fan
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:13 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: California
Contact:

Re: How to Succesfully Run Multiple Instances of Orca...

Post by AlvinPing » Tue Feb 03, 2009 5:45 am

bigC wrote:Currently this option isn't available in Orca
Hi,

Are there plans to implement this feature, like in Avant? It is surprisingly useful to have to independent tabbed browsers running simultaneously.

Thanks,
-Alvin

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: How to Succesfully Run Multiple Instances of Orca...

Post by Jasmine » Wed Feb 04, 2009 5:53 am

AlvinPing wrote:
bigC wrote:Currently this option isn't available in Orca
Hi,

Are there plans to implement this feature, like in Avant? It is surprisingly useful to have to independent tabbed browsers running simultaneously.

Thanks,

No way for now...
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

AlvinPing
Fan
Fan
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:13 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: California
Contact:

Re: How to Succesfully Run Multiple Instances of Orca...

Post by AlvinPing » Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:03 am

Darn.

well I guess I could have Avant and Orca running side by side instead :P
-Alvin

shaunwang
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:00 am
Windows Version: XP/Vista
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: 6.0

Open new windows

Post by shaunwang » Wed Feb 25, 2009 2:19 pm

I currently using Orca 1.1 RC4...

I do not see a features that allows me to open multiple new orca browser as in another window of Orca browser.

I hope this can be build into the next release because it is a very useful features.

Merged. -DrDrrae

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Open new windows

Post by MysteryFCM » Wed Feb 25, 2009 2:22 pm

Thank you, and welcome to the forums :)

Merged. -DrDrrae

bksening
Fan
Fan
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:14 pm
Windows Version: XP SP3
Avant Version: 2010 build1
IE Version: 8.0

Re: Open new windows

Post by bksening » Wed Feb 25, 2009 10:39 pm

And you may wish to re-download the public release Orca 1.1 build 1

Merged. -DrDrrae

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1412
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2018 Build 5 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: How to Succesfully Run Multiple Instances of Orca...

Post by Dreamer » Thu Apr 09, 2009 11:41 pm

It is possible using the "OrcaXtra" - not released yet, for more information check this topic:

http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 74&t=25018
Dreamer

skandranon
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 10:58 pm
Avant Version:

Re: How to Succesfully Run Multiple Instances of Orca...

Post by skandranon » Tue Jun 22, 2010 10:55 pm

So this is a old thread...

I read it long ago, and find myself once again wondering if Ocra will ever be able to run multiable instances...

Has this feature been implemented yet?

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: How to Succesfully Run Multiple Instances of Orca...

Post by kudos » Wed Jun 23, 2010 8:57 pm

The development team has been very busy with Avant lately and Orca has not been updated for about 6 months now. There is a workaround using OrcaXtra, but nothing official yet unfortunately.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

Post Reply