Page 1 of 1

URL bar: auto-complete takes a long time

Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 5:06 pm
by Kryz
When typing something in the URL bar, I sometimes use the auto-complete function, because during some periods you visit a website quite often, but not enough to bookmark them. In Orca however, the autocompletion takes a long time, and this time is extended by the amount of characters you type: 1 character is normal speed (but useless), 2 characters is a bit slower but acceptable, and from 5 characters onwards it takes multiple seconds for the auto-completion to pop up the right URL's.

Another thing: I don't understand the order of the auto-completion. My theory: eventhough you may sometimes type a part of a word / URL, you will almost always type the beginning of the word or URL. Example:

I'm trying to go to www.ordinaopen.com. I try to avoid typing the www part, so I start with ord... The top result today was actually:

file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/Kryz/Local%20Settings/Temporary%20Internet%20Files/Content.IE5/SP9FUGB1/D__DOCUME~1_ROY~1.STE_MYDOCU~1_ROYROE~1_KPNGLA~2_AVERAG~1_VORDER~1%5B1%5D.HTM

Now if I would have wanted that result, I would have probably searched in a different way. ;) Isn't there a better algorithm to present you with your options?

Re: URL bar: auto-complete takes a long time

Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 7:45 pm
by AXEMAN
Hello Kryz the link you posted above works fine for me are you still having the problem????.It is not slow for me.Can anyone confirm this :)

Re: URL bar: auto-complete takes a long time

Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 7:53 pm
by kudos
Avant's / Orca's auto-complete algorithm does indeed need some improvement. I have noticed both reported behaviours in both browsers. It is most evident when there are lot of entries in the browser's history.

Although, it has improved in recent builds. Kryz, your profile states that you are using v1.1 build 3, but the latest version is build 7. If you have not updated yet, I recommend doing so.

Re: URL bar: auto-complete takes a long time

Posted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 6:59 am
by Kryz
AXEMAN wrote:Hello Kryz the link you posted above works fine for me are you still having the problem????.It is not slow for me.Can anyone confirm this :)
Hi Axeman, I don't think you understood the problem fully. ;) The link works fine, that's not the issue.
kudos wrote:Avant's / Orca's auto-complete algorithm does indeed need some improvement. I have noticed both reported behaviours in both browsers. It is most evident when there are lot of entries in the browser's history.

Although, it has improved in recent builds. Kryz, your profile states that you are using v1.1 build 3, but the latest version is build 7. If you have not updated yet, I recommend doing so.
Hmm, that's the second time I report a bug and you have to tell me there's a new version out. ;) Why doesn't the notifier tell me there is a new version? I indeed have 1.1 b3, and check version tells me this is the latest one...

I'll upgrade and report back.

Edit: just upgraded. Performance is still the same. Short words used for auto-completion perform pretty good, longer words take a very long time.

Re: URL bar: auto-complete takes a long time

Posted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 9:04 am
by kudos
Kryz wrote:Hmm, that's the second time I report a bug and you have to tell me there's a new version out. ;) Why doesn't the notifier tell me there is a new version? I indeed have 1.1 b3, and check version tells me this is the latest one...
Sorry, I'm just the messenger - nag Jasmine/Anderson to update the server ;-)
Kryz wrote:Edit: just upgraded. Performance is still the same. Short words used for auto-completion perform pretty good, longer words take a very long time.
I hope that the forthcoming Avant v12 (and hence the corresponding Orca release) improves it. There have been similar requests (ie here and here) to improve this feature.

Upgrading to IE8 may help - since certain IE dll's are used to implement this feature. BTW have you compared the autocomplete with Avant?

Re: URL bar: auto-complete takes a long time

Posted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 7:23 pm
by bigC
Kryz wrote:Hmm, that's the second time I report a bug and you have to tell me there's a new version out. ;) Why doesn't the notifier tell me there is a new version?
You can also let the forum notify you,
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 36&t=23485

Re: URL bar: auto-complete takes a long time

Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 6:34 pm
by AXEMAN
You are correct Kryz i did missunderstand sorry about that bud :)

Re: URL bar: auto-complete takes a long time

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 4:44 am
by Jasmine
Kryz wrote:Hmm, that's the second time I report a bug and you have to tell me there's a new version out. Why doesn't the notifier tell me there is a new version? I indeed have 1.1 b3, and check version tells me this is the latest one...
Really feel sorry. Generally we'll wait a couple of days to upgrade the version check number if nobody reports there exist big bugs. However,unfortunately a series of builds come out with obvious bugs occasionally, as we don't hope them get to too many users, the developer have to release new versions and accordingly delay more to modify it.
kudos wrote:Avant's / Orca's auto-complete algorithm does indeed need some improvement. I have noticed both reported behaviours in both browsers. It is most evident when there are lot of entries in the browser's history.
I'll mention both old problems to Anderson.

Re: URL bar: auto-complete takes a long time

Posted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 3:25 pm
by Kryz
This problem is getting progressively worse for me. This is probably because I have quite a large history of visited websites by now. In essence the whole visited sites history with auto-completion functionality has been rendered useless, because it takes longer to wait for the suggested links to appear than to simply type them out completely. A fix for this would be really appreciated.

Apparently this problem exists in both Orca and AvantBrowser. My history in AB is next to nothing though, so I can't really say for sure.

Re: URL bar: auto-complete takes a long time

Posted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 6:57 pm
by Kryz
Small bump: this is getting worse by the day. Is there any expected solution?

Re: URL bar: auto-complete takes a long time

Posted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 4:04 pm
by kudos
There has been no feedback from the development team yet. Do you really need your history? Clearing it will speed it up.

Re: URL bar: auto-complete takes a long time

Posted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 6:53 pm
by Kryz
kudos wrote:There has been no feedback from the development team yet. Do you really need your history? Clearing it will speed it up.
Let me apologize for the sarcasm that's going to follow, but: is that what the feature is for? ;)

To clarify: if you just type an address and don't need the history, the speed-problem is not an issue, since it doesn't stop you from typing. The browser doesn't become slow, it only takes ages for the history to pop up. In other words: I only experience this problem when I want to use the feature. Therefor, if I were to empty the history, my problem wouldn't be that it's slow, but that the history isn't there anymore. ;)

Sidenote: I'm aware you're trying to help, don't take it personally. I'm just a tad annoyed by the issue, and it probably shows in my posts here.

Re: URL bar: auto-complete takes a long time

Posted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 8:05 pm
by kudos
Don't worry, I didn't take it personally, and I guess that you have a right to be annoyed - it's just that I'm afraid that it was the only answer that I could offer from a support point of view. Let's hope that the new framework for Avant v12 and Orca v2 rectifies this issue.

Re: URL bar: auto-complete takes a long time

Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 10:26 pm
by Kryz
kudos wrote:Let's hope that the new framework for Avant v12 and Orca v2 rectifies this issue.
Any idea what the status on this is? As I said in another thread, it's been a while since the last update to Orca. And if there is an update, can we expect this issue to be solved?

Re: URL bar: auto-complete takes a long time

Posted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:14 am
by Kryz
I've switched to AvantBrowser Ultimate 2012, and this issue does not occur in this version.