"New Window" Positioning Problem

Orca bug reports go here, and only here. Note that Orca is no longer in development, and no new builds or versions of Orca are planned.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
archaeum
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 9:23 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate
Avant Version: 11.7 b23
IE Version: 7 is installed

"New Window" Positioning Problem

Post by archaeum » Tue Mar 17, 2009 3:50 am

Hello all

I just set up a new monitor to use for a dual screen setup. Now whenever I open a new window from a link, not ctrl+n or new windows from bookmarks, the image attached happens.

I am using orca maximized on my main monitor, I have a 8800 GTS, fairly recent drivers for everything etc. to confirm this was the monitor and not something else, I disabled the monitor and the problem went away. When not maximized, the same thing occurs, but the window starts in the middle of the screen instead of near the top.

Can anyone else confirm this?
Attachments
orca-dualscreen-problem.jpg

archaeum
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 9:23 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate
Avant Version: 11.7 b23
IE Version: 7 is installed

Re: "New Window" Positioning Problem

Post by archaeum » Tue Mar 17, 2009 4:27 am

correction, the problem happens when clicking bookmarks and links to new windows, but opening a new window and then clicking a bookmark makes the window behave as normal.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: "New Window" Positioning Problem

Post by kudos » Tue Mar 17, 2009 9:10 am

It's not too clear - is the problem with the window position?
Do other applications have this problem - specifically Firefox?
Are you using the latest version - your profile states an old one.
Can you try to disable the NView Desktop Manager.

archaeum
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 9:23 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate
Avant Version: 11.7 b23
IE Version: 7 is installed

Re: "New Window" Positioning Problem

Post by archaeum » Wed Mar 18, 2009 10:52 pm

The problem is: Clicking a link that opens a new window will cause said new window to place itself in a fixed position that is not maximized. The workaround is right-clicking the window's tab and "restoring" and then maximizing it, bringing it to the desired position. This is linked to having a second monitor but I can't figure out why. Nothing in settings that I can see links to default new window position behavior other than Zoom which is properly set to 100%.

In the image I attached above, you can see the gray bar dividing the foreground page and the page behind it. That bar is not clickable whatsoever.

Does not occur in either Avant or Firefox 3.
I was using the current version; forgot to update my profile.

Last but not least, I don't have NView DM, just NVidia Control Panel. Looking it up, the DM looks like a feature of older ForceWare drivers.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: "New Window" Positioning Problem

Post by kudos » Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:10 pm

Have you tried using Windows Vista compatibility mode?
I have XP and Orca works fine on dual monitors for me.

Image

archaeum
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 9:23 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate
Avant Version: 11.7 b23
IE Version: 7 is installed

Re: "New Window" Positioning Problem

Post by archaeum » Thu Mar 19, 2009 1:15 am

interesting. I did try compatibility mode as you suggested, but to no avail. However, running orca maximized on my other monitor removes this problem entirely...I will continue to look for another workaround.

Post Reply