RIGHT CLICK MENU

Orca bug reports go here, and only here. Note that Orca is no longer in development, and no new builds or versions of Orca are planned.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
ghencea
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 4:28 pm
Windows Version: xp
Avant Version: 11.7.26
IE Version: 7

RIGHT CLICK MENU

Post by ghencea » Wed Mar 04, 2009 1:57 pm

If I move the mouse in order to close or refresh a page (mouse gesture) the right click menu appears and stay on the screen even after the move is done. The right click menu shouldn't appear on mouse gesture. AB works ok on this one.

User avatar
Horse
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 3:51 pm
Windows Version: 7 ultimate
Avant Version: 2010 Build 122
IE Version: 8
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: RIGHT CLICK MENU

Post by Horse » Wed Mar 04, 2009 2:04 pm

Yes.
Confirm.
Sometime

AlvinPing
Fan
Fan
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:13 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: California
Contact:

Re: RIGHT CLICK MENU

Post by AlvinPing » Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:54 am

Happens often when using right+left click to go back, or left+right click to go forward. Also occurs when using rightclick+wheel to cycle tabs.

The worst part is that the bug cannot be reproduced faithfully; I have submitted a ticket a while back, but I still have the problem quite a bit. Does not occur at all in Avant.

Vista Hm Prm 32bit SP1
-Alvin

Darklord
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 1:15 pm
Windows Version: Vista Home Premium 64-bit
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A

Re: RIGHT CLICK MENU

Post by Darklord » Sat Mar 07, 2009 3:44 pm

I also experience this once in a while.

I even had an odd one: I right click'ed a flash window where the menu appeared correctly, but also, a huge right click menu appeared, seperate from that, as if I had clicked on something special in the page (the huge right click menu reminded me of the one that would appear regularly in a previous version of orca - can't remember excactly which one).

User avatar
Horse
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 3:51 pm
Windows Version: 7 ultimate
Avant Version: 2010 Build 122
IE Version: 8
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: RIGHT CLICK MENU

Post by Horse » Mon Mar 09, 2009 8:34 pm

The right click menu shouldn't appear on mouse gesture.

Present in Orca 1.1b2 too

And Ctrl+N sometime dont work.

AlvinPing
Fan
Fan
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:13 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: California
Contact:

Re: RIGHT CLICK MENU

Post by AlvinPing » Tue Mar 10, 2009 12:19 am

Horse wrote:And Ctrl+N sometime dont work.
A different issue but yes, I confirm this as well...
-Alvin

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: RIGHT CLICK MENU

Post by kudos » Tue Mar 10, 2009 12:52 am

The popup menu appears only after a mouse-up message. Are you sure that your mouse/driver is not creating a mouse-down, mouse-up, mouse-down sequence.

Darklord
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 1:15 pm
Windows Version: Vista Home Premium 64-bit
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A

Re: RIGHT CLICK MENU

Post by Darklord » Tue Mar 10, 2009 1:29 am

kudos wrote:[...]Are you sure that your mouse/driver is not creating a mouse-down, mouse-up, mouse-down sequence.
if it was a mouse/driver problem, wouldn't it happen more often (not just sometimes, as described here) and show up outside of orca too?...

AlvinPing
Fan
Fan
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:13 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: California
Contact:

Re: RIGHT CLICK MENU

Post by AlvinPing » Tue Mar 10, 2009 1:32 am

Tested it with a different mouse, same problem. Also happens on my laptop using the buttons below the touchpad, as well. Does not happen at all in Avant, which leads me to believe this is an issue with Orca
-Alvin

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: RIGHT CLICK MENU

Post by kudos » Tue Mar 10, 2009 3:26 pm

Use this page to test your mouse clicks.
A mouse gesture should generate only mousedown.

AlvinPing
Fan
Fan
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:13 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: California
Contact:

Re: RIGHT CLICK MENU

Post by AlvinPing » Tue Mar 10, 2009 5:56 pm

kudos wrote:Use this page to test your mouse clicks.
A mouse gesture should generate only mousedown.
This is when I have the Avant Forum tab, and the test page tab open:

Code: Select all

mousedown   which=3 button=2
mousedown   which=3 button=2
mousedown   which=3 button=2
mousedown   which=3 button=2
mousedown   which=3 button=2
mousedown   which=3 button=2
mousedown   which=3 button=2
mousedown   which=3 button=2
mousedown   which=3 button=2
mousedown   which=3 button=2
Looks good so far. Now let me open some more "complex" sites. I now have Engadget and IGN open:

Code: Select all

mousedown   which=3 button=2
mouseup     which=3 button=2
contextmenu which=3 button=2
mousedown   which=3 button=2
mousedown   which=3 button=2
mousedown   which=3 button=2
mouseup     which=3 button=2
contextmenu which=3 button=2
mousedown   which=3 button=2
mouseup     which=3 button=2
contextmenu which=3 button=2
mousedown   which=3 button=2
mouseup     which=3 button=2
contextmenu which=3 button=2
Almost every time! Are we beginning to narrow this down? It appears it is a non-issue when "simple" sites are open in tabs. the Engadget blog has several images loaded, and the IGN page has a lot of Flash. Could these be causing the mouse events to register incorrectly?
-Alvin

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: RIGHT CLICK MENU

Post by kudos » Wed Mar 11, 2009 10:08 am

I loaded your mentioned sites but cannot confirm.
I wonder if the problem is with Flash playback. Can you tell me your Flash Version.
Can you disable flash animations from the tools menu, restart Orca, then try the tests again.

AlvinPing
Fan
Fan
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:13 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: California
Contact:

Re: RIGHT CLICK MENU

Post by AlvinPing » Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:34 am

Flash is the problem! I disabled it, restarted Orca, and did the test again with the same sites open, and I did not replicate the problem (granted, I did not attempt surfing the web for extended periods of time so there's still a chance it still exists, but this is still a significant finding)!

Here's what the Adobe page tells me

Player version: WIN 10,0,12,36
Debug player: No
OS: Windows Vista
Video capable: Yes
Audio capable: Yes
Local File I/O Enabled: Yes
-Alvin

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: RIGHT CLICK MENU

Post by kudos » Thu Mar 12, 2009 9:09 am

I found this solution related from a similar problem:
Close all programs including browsers, firewalls and anti-virus scanners
Go to: C:\Windows\System32\Macromed\Flash\
Right-click on the following file: NPSWF32_FlashUtil.exe
Select "Run as Administrator" and install the update
Restart your computer
Just to say that here on XP all is fine even with multiple tabs playing Flash

AlvinPing
Fan
Fan
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:13 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: California
Contact:

Re: RIGHT CLICK MENU

Post by AlvinPing » Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:08 am

I followed the steps but the context menu still seems to be popping up. I haven't done much testing with this latest build on my XP machine, but on Vista for some reason it still an issue...
-Alvin

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: RIGHT CLICK MENU

Post by kudos » Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:41 pm

If this newest build is still a problem in Vista, you can try going back to version 9.
Download from the Flash archive (big download - all builds) or OldApps.
Remember to uninstall current version first then reboot.

Is anyone else experiencing this on Vista?

User avatar
Horse
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 3:51 pm
Windows Version: 7 ultimate
Avant Version: 2010 Build 122
IE Version: 8
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: RIGHT CLICK MENU

Post by Horse » Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:03 pm

kudos wrote: Is anyone else experiencing this on Vista?
yes

AlvinPing
Fan
Fan
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:13 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: California
Contact:

Re: RIGHT CLICK MENU

Post by AlvinPing » Sat Mar 14, 2009 9:53 pm

Currently on my XP machine; right click menu is appearing when navigating back/forward using left+rightclick (and vice versa), even on pages with no Flash. Not quite sure what's going on here :(
-Alvin

AlvinPing
Fan
Fan
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 12:13 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: California
Contact:

Re: RIGHT CLICK MENU

Post by AlvinPing » Thu Apr 23, 2009 6:41 am

Hi team,

It looks like this one has been fixed! Great job and many thanks :thumbup:

I'm kind of curious how it was done! I assume in order to fix it, you had to pinpoint some part of the code that was causing the problem? Can you share how it was done? I am very curious, as it was perplexing to me that the context menu only came up sometimes, and sometimes even randomly when there weren't any "complex" pages/tabs open. Things seem to be much much better now

Thanks!
-Alvin

Post Reply