prious bugs - line skip on page down and error indication

Resolved Orca Help issues and Bug Reports can be found here. Orca is a legacy browser that is no longer supported.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

prious bugs - line skip on page down and error indication

Post by mathman » Sat Apr 10, 2010 2:23 am

I believe I discovered the source of the problem. You mentioned removing all addons. I realized that the only thing of this nature I had done was to implement the capability of video capture with Realplayer. The restore to default removed it. When I put video capture back in (it did work), the bugs which had been removed came back! Do you have any thoughts about how to reconcile these two issues?

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: prious bugs - line skip on page down and error indicatio

Post by mathman » Sat Apr 10, 2010 2:40 am

The title should have been "previous bugs ...".

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: prious bugs - line skip on page down and error indicatio

Post by kudos » Sat Apr 10, 2010 9:03 am

Obviously the RealPlayer capture addon is not completely compatible then - although when I briefly tested it for you I did not encounter the issues. Have considered using another program to capture video streams?
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: prious bugs - line skip on page down and error indicatio

Post by kudos » Sat Apr 10, 2010 9:43 am

I just tried again and no errors here. Maybe you are using a different version. I downloaded RealPlayer SP v1.1.3 from here: http://www.filehippo.com/download_realplayer/
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: prious bugs - line skip on page down and error indicatio

Post by mathman » Sat Apr 10, 2010 12:35 pm

The realplayer version I have is the same as yours. It is the most recent.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: prious bugs - line skip on page down and error indicatio

Post by kudos » Sat Apr 10, 2010 9:10 pm

Rather than using my advice in the other thread to get the recorder to work, try installing the attached addon (of course, you must have RealPlayer installed first). Download the file then either drag it onto Orca or install it via: Tools >> Addons >> Extensions >> Install...
Attachments
BrowserRecordPlugin.xpi
(20.59 KiB) Downloaded 195 times
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: prious bugs - line skip on page down and error indicatio

Post by mathman » Sat Apr 10, 2010 11:12 pm

Tools >> Addons >> Extensions >> Install...
Question 1: which addons (Mozilla or Orca)
I tried both. For Mozilla addons I got to extensions, but there was no indication for install.
For Orca addons, there was nothing called extensions.

As for real player, I have it on my computer, but I removed the streaming video capture from Orca, so the bugs went away. Will your fix work or do I have to put the video capture back into Orca?

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: prious bugs - line skip on page down and error indicatio

Post by kudos » Sat Apr 10, 2010 11:40 pm

In Orca's "Tools" menu, I only have 1 "Add-ons" - it is the 7th one down, below "Downloads" - see the attached image (4 red indicators).

If you have RealPlayer installed then just install the addon as directed - no other config necessary.
Attachments
add-ons.gif
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: prious bugs - line skip on page down and error indicatio

Post by mathman » Sun Apr 11, 2010 12:24 am

My version of tools menu in Orca is different.

Minor difference - where yours says addons, mine says Mozilla addons.

Major difference, my extensions (which does not have anything, while yours has realplayer) bottom line does not have "install" at all and "Find updates" is not available (it has been turned off).

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: prious bugs - line skip on page down and error indicatio

Post by André » Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:21 am

I have the same thing. The first one is because of the difference between the UK English and the US English files. The second one, I'm not too sure. But either way, you can drag and drop the file into the window.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: prious bugs - line skip on page down and error indicatio

Post by mathman » Sun Apr 11, 2010 4:43 am

It worked! Realplayer streaming capture OK. Times page down works properly. Orca closing seems OK (in the past the problem was intermittent, so I should continue to observe).

The extensions page I have now looks just like Kudos picture, except that "Install" is not there. When I did the drop as Andre indicated, "Install" appeared, and then disappeared after it was clicked on. Could this be another difference between US and UK?

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: prious bugs - line skip on page down and error indicatio

Post by kudos » Sun Apr 11, 2010 12:52 pm

Very odd, that screenshot was from a freshly installed Orca with no customisations.

And I did mention that you could drag and drop it too:
kudos wrote:... Download the file then either drag it onto Orca or ...
Anyway, thanks for confirming that it works - hopefully that's the end of that!
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: prious bugs - line skip on page down and error indicatio

Post by André » Sun Apr 11, 2010 2:32 pm

Maybe because I'm using the USB version? But why would that change it?
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: prious bugs - line skip on page down and error indicatio

Post by mathman » Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:22 pm

Bad news again - the message indicating a closing error has appeared again, although less often. I can live with it, since all I have to do is close the message. Before I added that realplayer item to extensions, I had used Orca about a dozen times without incident. The page down issue remains cleared up.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: prious bugs - line skip on page down and error indicatio

Post by kudos » Sun Apr 11, 2010 6:22 pm

André wrote:Maybe because I'm using the USB version? But why would that change it?
Me too. Dunno - I'll have a look later.
mathman wrote:Bad news again - the message indicating a closing error has appeared again, although less often.
Can you delete Orca's preferences again as directed in our other thread before installing the extension that I provided above. I suspect that whatever you did originally to cause the problem have been done again.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: prious bugs - line skip on page down and error indicatio

Post by AXEMAN » Sun Apr 11, 2010 8:16 pm

Are you useing a proxy . Just a thought.?????????? :)

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: prious bugs - line skip on page down and error indicatio

Post by mathman » Sun Apr 11, 2010 8:57 pm

Note to kudos. The version I started with went through these steps. 1 - delete all Orca preferences, 2 - add realplayer streaming (old method) - problems returned, 3 - remove realplayer streaming - problems corrected, 4 - add realplayer streaming (new method) - closing problem returned.

I suppose I could remove (new) realplayer streaming and see if that corrects the problem. As an aside, I could live without it, since I can use Avant or Firefox for streaming capture. Alternatively don't worry about closing problem, since it doesn't affect anything I'm doing. The page down problem, which has remained corrected, was my major concern.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: prious bugs - line skip on page down and error indicatio

Post by kudos » Sun Apr 11, 2010 10:10 pm

I understand - but I am puzzled as I am having no problems whatsoever so (just because I am being a bit of a perfectionist) I didn't expect you to have any either:

1 - delete all Orca preferences
skip steps 2 and 3
4 - add realplayer streaming (new method)

But of course you don't have to do any of my suggestions, no problems at all - I'm just glad that we've got another happily satisfied Orca user.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: prious bugs - line skip on page down and error indicatio

Post by kudos » Sun Apr 11, 2010 10:11 pm

AXEMAN wrote:Are you useing a proxy . Just a thought.?????????? :)
I don't see the relevance in this case, AXE.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: prious bugs - line skip on page down and error indicatio

Post by mathman » Mon Apr 12, 2010 12:52 am

To kudos. I am reluctant to start over again. Orca saves all my signon information for forums and such. It is a nuisance when I have to start from scratch. I am happy to live with things as they are. The only experiment I might try is removing the realplayer streaming capability and see if the error message goes away completely. What is a little surprising is that it occurs much less often than before.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users