page down overshoot

Resolved Orca Help issues and Bug Reports can be found here. Orca is a legacy browser that is no longer supported.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 918
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

page down overshoot

Post by mathman » Mon Apr 05, 2010 8:05 pm

In general when paging down (scroll bar or keyboard) there normally is a slight overlap between the newly visible test and the previous. However Orca sometimes overshoots, so that one or two lines get skipped and I have to back up a couple of lines to get the missing text. Following is a page where problem arose.

http://opinionator.blogs.nytimes.com/20 ... n&emc=tya1

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: page down overshoot

Post by kudos » Mon Apr 05, 2010 8:26 pm

I have never noticed the reported problem. I just checked on your linked page and I cannot confirm the issue.

Can you disable any installed addons or extensions in case one of them is causing the overshoot.

Also, if you are able to, please check with Firefox v3.5.6 in case the Gecko rendering engine is the culprit.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 918
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: page down overshoot

Post by mathman » Mon Apr 05, 2010 8:31 pm

Addons or extensions - I have no idea what to do.
I have the latest Firefox - 3.6.2.
I loaded the page using Avant and the problem did not occur. There was an overlap of about two lines, rather than a skip.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: page down overshoot

Post by kudos » Mon Apr 05, 2010 9:22 pm

Extensions are found at: Tools >> Add-ons >> Extensions
What do you have listed there?
They can be disabled from that dialog.
There is also an Pluins tab on there to check.


The current release of Orca is based on Firefox v3.5.6 which is why I asked you to try that on your system. Avant is based on IE and will render the page differently.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 918
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: page down overshoot

Post by mathman » Mon Apr 05, 2010 9:57 pm

I don't think there is any way to backtrack Firefox. There are no Orca addons. There are Mozilla addons. The latest is something called ~Mirage.

P.S. I examined the offending page using Firefox and there was no problem. There was about one line overlap after page down.

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 918
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: page down overshoot

Post by mathman » Mon Apr 05, 2010 11:35 pm

Just to add to the confusion. The problem cited is exceptional in that for most pages it does not happen.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: page down overshoot

Post by kudos » Tue Apr 06, 2010 9:27 am

mathman wrote:There are no Orca addons. There are Mozilla addons. The latest is something called ~Mirage.
Orca uses Mozilla addons. Please provide more details of this "~Mirage" item.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 918
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: page down overshoot

Post by mathman » Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:51 pm

Adobe Acrobat
Google Earth Plugin
Google Update
Google Updater
iTunes Application Detector
Java Deployment Toolkit
Java (TM) Platform SE
Metastream 3 Plugin
Microsoft DRM (twice)
Microsoft Windows Media Services
Move Streaming Media Player
Mozilla Default Plugin
Quick Time Plugin
Real Jukebox NS Plugin
Real Networks Rhapsody Player Engine
Realplayer Version Plugin
Realplayer (tm) G2 Live-connect Enabled Plugin
Realplayer (tm) HTML5Videoshim Plugin
Shockwave Flash
Shockwave for Director
Silverlight Plugin
Windows Media Player Plugin Dynamic Link Library
Windows Presentation Foundation
------------------------------
Above are Mozilla addons. Frankly I can't imagine what any of them have to do with the problem.

Correction: Firefox version is 3.6.3

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: page down overshoot

Post by kudos » Tue Apr 06, 2010 3:01 pm

Sorry, let me make it clear - I do not want any details of Firefox v3.6.3 or anything else installed on your computer.

I asked about v3.5.6 because that is what Orca uses internally to browse the web. If that specific version also had the problem then we know that it is not Orca's problem but the underlying version of the browser.

Addons and extensions designed for Firefox also work with Orca, hence why I asked about them. They need to have been installed into Orca and are shown in the Tools >> Addons menu. They will affect browsing and may not be 100% compatible with Orca so we have to examine those too.

Thank you for providing the list above - but are they from Orca or Firefox?

What I am more interested in is what is listed in the Extensions tab ie this mysterious Mirage extension.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 918
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: page down overshoot

Post by mathman » Tue Apr 06, 2010 7:35 pm

The list is from Orca under the heading (Tools menu) Mozilla Addons.

I don't know whether the problem would appear under Firefox v3.5.6, since the version I have (3.6.3) is the latest and I have no way of backtracking.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: page down overshoot

Post by kudos » Tue Apr 06, 2010 9:09 pm

The dialog has four tabs across the top: Get Add-ons, Extensions, Themes, Plugins.
You provided details from "Plugins" - please click "Extensions" and provide those.
Or post a screenshot is that is easier for you.

As for older Firefox versions, I provided a link in my first reply to this thread.

Have you identified any other pages which exhibit the report problem too?
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 918
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: page down overshoot

Post by mathman » Tue Apr 06, 2010 9:29 pm

There were no extensions.

As for other pages - the closest so far is another page from the same source (NY Times) where there was no overlap on page down.

I clicked on the Firefox 3.5.6 and got a list of Firefox versions, but it seemed to provide a download only for the current version (3.6.3). There was a minor error in that it said the current version was 3.6.2.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: page down overshoot

Post by kudos » Tue Apr 06, 2010 9:38 pm

Hmm, so what was the "Mirage" one that you mentioned earlier?
Anyway, please provide any URL's in full so that we may check them.
As for the old version, scroll down the page to reveal older version links.
Also, what is your screen resolution and layout? Please post a screenshot.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 918
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: page down overshoot

Post by mathman » Wed Apr 07, 2010 3:45 pm

~Mirage Plugin 6.1.58.0
~Mirage 6.1.58.0 Plugin for Visual Mirage Projects

screen 1152 by 864. Where do I get layout?

I don't remember how to get screenshot. What do you want screenshot of?

I'll try Firefox change later.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: page down overshoot

Post by kudos » Wed Apr 07, 2010 6:20 pm

I cannot find any information online about this plugin - can you disable or uninstall it and try again.

As far as layout goes, please take some screenshots. Preferably full screen, with a before and after of when you scroll down - and a description of what is done, ie press page down key or click scroll bar with mouse.

Click here to find out how to take a screenshot: take-a-screenshot
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 918
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: page down overshoot

Post by mathman » Wed Apr 07, 2010 8:48 pm

Attached are three screen shots. The first is a particular piece of the article. The second is the next piece, having clicked on the scroll bar. The third is a shot covering the end of the first and the beginning of the second, showing a missing line.

A limited amount of testing leads me to believe that it is a problem only with the New York Times. I did try a few other sites and the necessary overlap was there.
Attachments
article3.JPG
article2.JPG
article1.JPG

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: page down overshoot

Post by kudos » Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:38 pm

Thanks for the screenshots. I have tried and tried on many pages of that site but I cannot replicate your reported problem. Are you doing anything other than browsing there and clicking on the scrollbar? For example I see that you have an account there and are logged on. Does it happen when you are not logged on? Have you been able to try the other version of Firefox yet?
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 918
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: page down overshoot

Post by mathman » Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:01 pm

NY Times requires registration to access links to their articles. If I were not logged on I would not have access. Moving up and down can only be done by clicking on the scroll bar. As I have reported earlier, using the keyboard doesn't work. When I am looking at these pages I am not doing anything else.

I haven't tried the older version of Firefox, but I am skeptical about it making any difference, since later versions are supposed to fix bugs. Have you tried Orca with the latest version of Firefox?

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: page down overshoot

Post by kudos » Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:16 pm

But do you see the problem if you do not log on?

Now, this is the first time that you have stated that the keyboard does not work. Anything else that you need to mention before we proceed?

There is no later version of Orca. As I said earlier: Orca v1.2.6 (the newest) uses the Firefox v3.5.6 engine internally. Having a newer version of Firefox installed has absolutely no impacet on Orca - they are completely separate. The only things that we can compare are Orca v1.2.6 with Firefox v3.5.6 and nothing else.

You can have Orca, Firefox 3.5.x and Firefox 3.6.x installed in different folders so no confusion can arise.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 918
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: page down overshoot

Post by mathman » Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:50 pm

I don't understand your first comment. If I am not logged on when I try to use the NY Times links, I can't. As far as I can tell, the problem is only with NY Times pages.

I thought I had mentioned it (keyboard problem) - I did report it as bug in February. In any case, the problem as described occurs when clicking on the scroll bar.

I have had Orca only since Feb 14, 2010. By that time Firefox was up to 3.5.7. As I've said I now have 3.6.3. Isn't Orca using it now on my computer, since I don't have previous versions?

Post Reply