page down overshoot

Resolved Orca Help issues and Bug Reports can be found here. Orca is a legacy browser that is no longer supported.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: page down overshoot

Post by kudos » Thu Apr 08, 2010 12:10 am

I am able to view pages on that site without logging onto it. Have you tried logging off? Please do and then try your tests again. If the problem resolves then it must be a site coding issue.

Ah, if it was in another thread then sorry but I did not do a full background check on you - I just focus on one problem per thread per user, otherwise it gets horribly confusing.

No, Orca does not use other versions of Firefox - it contains its own embedded engine - currently that from Firefox v3.5.6 - it is not linked in any way at all to your other Firefox installations (unlike Avant which is linked to the currently installed version of IE). You can remove all versions of Firefox from your computer and Orca will still work. Hence my constantly asking you to do a comparative test with the specific Firefox version.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: page down overshoot

Post by mathman » Thu Apr 08, 2010 1:56 am

I logged out of the NY Times and it made no difference, i.e. I accessed a page and the same skipping took place (scroll bar click).

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: page down overshoot

Post by kudos » Thu Apr 08, 2010 9:52 am

I would like to see your config file:
- Go to Run on your start menu
- Type in (including quotes): "%appdata%\Orca Profiles\.default\mozdata\UserData\"
- An Explorer window will open up
- Send us the file named: prefs.js
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: page down overshoot

Post by mathman » Thu Apr 08, 2010 11:54 am

requested file is attached
Attachments
prefs.js
(6.07 KiB) Downloaded 198 times

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: page down overshoot

Post by kudos » Thu Apr 08, 2010 4:06 pm

Thanks for the file - it looks OK, so now let's try resetting Orca back to default settings:
Close Orca then type the following into a command prompt (including quotes):

Code: Select all

ren "%appdata%\Orca Profiles\" "Orca Backup %DATE:/=% %TIME::=%"
This will backup/rename your settings folder with the current date and time.
Then try running Orca again.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: page down overshoot

Post by mathman » Thu Apr 08, 2010 9:07 pm

I did what you suggested. The only result I saw was a folder opened containing one file (or folder) with the name .default

I checked the scroll bar page down and the problem remained.

Then I recalled that to use the keyboard you had said to first click on a blank space on the page and the keys will work. I tried that and the results were DIFFERENT from using the scroll bar. Specifically no lines were skipped. However there was no overlap either.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: page down overshoot

Post by kudos » Thu Apr 08, 2010 9:15 pm

You entered the command and a folder opened? That should not have happened. Are you sure that Orca was not running (including checking the tray area)? Please try the command again from a command prompt so that you can read if an error is reported.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: page down overshoot

Post by mathman » Thu Apr 08, 2010 11:34 pm

Same thing happened. Specifically I clicked on Run from the Start menu, entered

ren "%appdata%\Orca Profiles\" "Orca Backup %DATE:/=% %TIME::=%"

Run said it didn't understand ren, so I removed it and then got the same result as before.

C:\Documents and Settings\Herb\Application Data\Orca Profiles\.default

Above is the name of the folder that showed up, after I clicked to open .default. The contents were several folders, most of which have the current date, so presumably something happened.

Neither Orca or Avant were running. When I tried the first time I had Avant open, but not Orca.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: page down overshoot

Post by kudos » Thu Apr 08, 2010 11:48 pm

Don't remove ren - use the command prompt, not the run dialog.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: page down overshoot

Post by mathman » Thu Apr 08, 2010 11:58 pm

I don't see anything called "command prompt". The options are OK, Cancel, Browse.

The instruction is to type in the name and Windows will open it. The box itself is marked Run.

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: page down overshoot

Post by André » Fri Apr 09, 2010 12:02 am

In the Run dialog, type "cmd" (without quotes) and hit Enter.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: page down overshoot

Post by kudos » Fri Apr 09, 2010 12:13 am

..or: Start > All Programs > Accessories > Command Prompt

Image
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: page down overshoot

Post by mathman » Fri Apr 09, 2010 12:36 am

What next?

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: page down overshoot

Post by kudos » Fri Apr 09, 2010 12:39 am

kudos wrote:Close Orca then type the following into a command prompt (including quotes):

Code: Select all

ren "%appdata%\Orca Profiles\" "Orca Backup %DATE:/=% %TIME::=%"
This will backup/rename your settings folder with the current date and time.
Then try running Orca again.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: page down overshoot

Post by mathman » Fri Apr 09, 2010 1:11 am

The command prompt opens with:

C:\Documents and Settings\Herb>

I type in (I can't copy) your line (ren etc.) and press enter.

All I get is the following message:

The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect

There must be a better way!

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: page down overshoot

Post by kudos » Fri Apr 09, 2010 1:15 am

Look at where the code is in my post and you will see "Select all"
Click it then right-click the highlighted text and select "Copy"
Close Orca then start the command prompt, right-click it then "Paste"
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: page down overshoot

Post by mathman » Fri Apr 09, 2010 1:33 am

To avoid Orca opening and closing I was using Avant while I was doing all this.

Finally! It worked| I had been using Ctrl C to copy and Ctrl V to paste. The latter doesn't work in the command prompt.

I tested the NY Times page and the problem appears to have been fixed.

There seems to be one minor nuisance. Orca has been remembering things, but apparently all had been lost so it has to begin over again.

Thanks

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: page down overshoot

Post by kudos » Fri Apr 09, 2010 1:38 am

That command backed up all of Orca's settings to another folder and you are now starting again with a "clean slate".

If you really want some of the items back then let me know what and I'll give you instructions on how to do it.

Did it also fix your other problems too?
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users