I am told by Yahoo mail to update my browser

Resolved Orca Help issues and Bug Reports can be found here. Orca is a legacy browser that is no longer supported.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
Brainetree
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 10:32 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: 11.7 build 23
IE Version: ie7

I am told by Yahoo mail to update my browser

Post by Brainetree » Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:03 pm

I have the latest Orca browser (build 1.2 6) and can not access my Yahoo email account for 3 weeks now - Yahoo denies me access, telling me to download Firefox.

Does this mean that Orca is needing an update? I re-installed to no avail.

I have Firefox, ie8, Chrome and Avant on my system, but I've warmed up to Orca, just love it and use it 96% of the time, so I'm anxious to find a solution.

Thank you for listening.

P.S. -I just noticed after posting this that it says to the left under my info that Orca is not installed on my system, but it is very much installed as you can see in the attachment.
Attachments
pic1.jpeg
See for yourself:

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: I am told by Yahoo mail to update my browser

Post by bigC » Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:29 pm

Orca is still using an older version of the firefox engine. Yahoo probably thinks you're using firefox and is alerting you there is a newer version.

You should still be able to access your inbox though... for me there was a "no thanks, take me to my inbox" link under the get it now button. But it appears that some of the page didn't load completly in your screenshot. Try turning off ad blocker & refreshing the page.
Brainetree wrote:P.S. -I just noticed after posting this that it says to the left under my info that Orca is not installed on my system, but it is very much installed as you can see in the attachment.
You have to update that info. manually in the forum control panel.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: I am told by Yahoo mail to update my browser

Post by kudos » Tue Mar 23, 2010 10:01 pm

Also, clear your cache (Tools >> Clear Records >> Clear All Records) and use the direct yahoo mail link.

BTW, this problem was also reported on Mozilla's forum and the problem turned out to be an extension.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
Brainetree
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 10:32 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: 11.7 build 23
IE Version: ie7

Re: I am told by Yahoo mail to update my browser

Post by Brainetree » Wed Mar 24, 2010 3:02 am

Thank you for responding. I tried your suggestions, such as turning off AdBlock, but the problem persist.

The entire page did not show in my screen shot because I got only a rectangular area.

For now I use Avant for Yahoo mail. I wrote to Yahoo about it 3 weeks a go and received no response.

I'm surprised I'm not hearing more about this problem because surely I'm not the only one.

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: I am told by Yahoo mail to update my browser

Post by bigC » Wed Mar 24, 2010 8:32 pm

Brainetree wrote:The entire page did not show in my screen shot because I got only a rectangular area.
Yes but there should be a background image there and thats why you can't see the link I mentioned. Try right clicking a blank area on the page and choose select all. You should see the proceed to inbox link directly under the gold "get it now" button.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: I am told by Yahoo mail to update my browser

Post by kudos » Wed Mar 24, 2010 10:15 pm

Brainetree wrote:I'm surprised I'm not hearing more about this problem because surely I'm not the only one.
I've never had that message and I use Orca with Yahoo mail every day. Did you try the suggestions in my last post?
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
Brainetree
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 10:32 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: 11.7 build 23
IE Version: ie7

Re: I am told by Yahoo mail to update my browser

Post by Brainetree » Wed Mar 24, 2010 10:20 pm

BigC =D> ! ! Thank you, thank you! :thumbup:

User avatar
Brainetree
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 10:32 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: 11.7 build 23
IE Version: ie7

Re: I am told by Yahoo mail to update my browser

Post by Brainetree » Wed Mar 24, 2010 10:35 pm

kudos wrote:
Brainetree wrote:I'm surprised I'm not hearing more about this problem because surely I'm not the only one.
I've never had that message and I use Orca with Yahoo mail every day. Did you try the suggestions in my last post?
Yes Kudos, thank you for your suggestion - I tried clearing all records, but that didn't solve it for some reason. I read all 3 pages at the Firefox forum, was interesting.

I do not understand why you would not have the same problem with your Orca, what the difference could be.

BigC's suggestion worked! Interesting thing now is that, like you, I no longer have the problem at all. Even if I clear all records. And Yahoo now goes directly to Inbox.

Thank you guys very much! Glad to have Orca back completely.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users