odd warning

Resolved Orca Help issues and Bug Reports can be found here. Orca is a legacy browser that is no longer supported.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 917
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

odd warning

Post by mathman » Thu Feb 25, 2010 1:56 am

AFTER closing Orca, I keep getting a warning message that an error has been detected and Orca will have to close.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: odd warning

Post by kudos » Thu Feb 25, 2010 2:01 am

Please post a screenshot of the error and list all plugins and extensions installed (Tools >> Add-ons >> Extensions / Plugins)
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 917
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: odd warning

Post by mathman » Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:45 am

I don't know how to get a screen shot when no browser is open. A further note, if I close all tabs first, then I do not get the message. In other words if I close Orca with at least one tab still open it gives me the error message. The error seems to originate in Windows itself, since nothing is open.
Last edited by mathman on Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: odd warning

Post by kudos » Thu Feb 25, 2010 9:48 am

Click here to find out how to take a screenshot: take-a-screenshot

We need the extensions and addons information as requested too please.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 917
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: odd warning

Post by mathman » Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:49 pm

I tried to attach screen shot, but I got a message saying:
-------------------------------------------------------------
The attachment’s file size is too large, the maximum upload size is 2 MB.
Please note this is set in php.ini and cannot be overridden.
-----------------------------------------------------

How do I get extensions and addons (I am not sure what they mean)?

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: odd warning

Post by kudos » Thu Feb 25, 2010 1:17 pm

Save the file as a PNG or A JPEG as they are compressed (smaller) formats.

In Orca, go to:
- Tools >> Add-ons >> Extensions
- let us know what is listed or take a screenshot
- Tools >> Add-ons >> Plugins
- let us know what is listed or take a screenshot
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 917
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: odd warning

Post by mathman » Thu Feb 25, 2010 4:58 pm

Added oddity - if Avant is open, I do not get the error message when I close Orca!

No extensions
Plugins:
~Mirage Plugin 6.1.58.0
Adobe Acrobat 9.3.0.148
Google Earth Plugin 1.0.0.1
Google Update 1.2.183.13
Google Updater 2.4.1739.5352
iTunes Application Detector 1.0.1.1
Java Deployment Toolkit 6.0.170.4
Java (TM) Platform SE 6 U17 6.0.170.4
MetaStream 3 Plugin 2.0.14.160
Microsoft DRM 9.0.0.4503 [twice] (DRM Netscape Network Object) (DRM Store Netscape Plugin)
Microsoft Windows Media Services 4.1.0.3917
Move Streaming Media Player 715.5.0.10
Mozilla Default Plugin 1.0.0.15
Quicktime Plugin 7.6.5.0
RealJukebox NS Plugin 1.0.3.448
RealNetworks Rhapsody Player Engine 1.1.0.1130
RealPlayer Version Plugin 6.0.12.448
RealPlayer(tm) G2 LiveConnect-Enabled Plug-in (32-bit) 6.0.12.450
Shockwave Flash 10.0.45.2
Shockwave for Director 11.0.3.472
Silverlight Plug-In 3.0.50106.0
Windows Media Player Plug-in Dynamic Link Library 3.0.2.629
Windows Presentation Foundation 3.5.30729.1
Attachments
screenshot3.JPG
screenshot2.JPG
screenshot1.JPG

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: odd warning

Post by kudos » Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:28 pm

Thanks - can you provide the full error report contents too, the image only shows partial text.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 917
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: odd warning

Post by mathman » Thu Feb 25, 2010 7:19 pm

Here are the next few. It would take well over 100 screen shots to get the entire content and there doesn't appear to be any way to capture the content.
Attachments
screenshot 6.JPG
screenshot 5.JPG
screenshot 4.JPG

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 917
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: odd warning

Post by mathman » Thu Feb 25, 2010 7:21 pm

Here are two more. Is there some limit on the number of attachments? I tried to attach all 5.
Attachments
screenshot 8.JPG
screenshot 7.JPG

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: odd warning

Post by kudos » Thu Feb 25, 2010 9:52 pm

Right click on the text in the report >> Select all
Right click on the highlighted text >> Copy
Then reply here and paste the text
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 917
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: odd warning

Post by mathman » Fri Feb 26, 2010 12:01 am

Whrn I right click nothing happens - no menu or anything else.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: odd warning

Post by kudos » Fri Feb 26, 2010 9:32 am

Find the file it mentions at the bottom, ie:

C:\Documents and Settings\Herb\Local Settings\Temp\XXXX_appcompat.txt

and attach it to your post.

It may be easier to get to the folder by going to Start >> Run and typing in %TEMP%
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 917
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: odd warning

Post by mathman » Fri Feb 26, 2010 1:19 pm

Attached report.
Attachments
2a26_appcompat.txt
(36.32 KiB) Downloaded 217 times
2a26_appcompat.txt
(36.32 KiB) Downloaded 221 times

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: odd warning

Post by kudos » Fri Feb 26, 2010 1:46 pm

Thanks. Can you disable the following addons then restart Orca and see if the issue persists:
mathman wrote: ~Mirage Plugin 6.1.58.0
Google Earth Plugin 1.0.0.1
Google Update 1.2.183.13
Google Updater 2.4.1739.5352
iTunes Application Detector 1.0.1.1
MetaStream 3 Plugin 2.0.14.160
Microsoft Windows Media Services 4.1.0.3917
Move Streaming Media Player 715.5.0.10
RealJukebox NS Plugin 1.0.3.448
RealNetworks Rhapsody Player Engine 1.1.0.1130
RealPlayer Version Plugin 6.0.12.448
RealPlayer(tm) G2 LiveConnect-Enabled Plug-in (32-bit) 6.0.12.450
Shockwave for Director 11.0.3.472
Silverlight Plug-In 3.0.50106.0
Windows Presentation Foundation 3.5.30729.1
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 917
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: odd warning

Post by mathman » Fri Feb 26, 2010 2:05 pm

Are you sure???? On my tools menu, these were Mozilla addons. There were no Orca addons.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: odd warning

Post by kudos » Fri Feb 26, 2010 2:15 pm

Yes - Orca and Firefox are both Mozilla based browsers - they use the same rendering engine. Just like Avant and Internet Explorer do.

When you install a Mozilla addon it (generally) becomes available for all Mozilla based browsers. But there are some addons that are not yet compatible with Orca. I looked at your list and compared it with several others that I have and asked you to disable the ones that I do not have.

Hopefully this will resolve the issue then you can enable them again one-by-one until we work out which one is causing the problem.

Don't worry - disabling them in Orca does not affect any other browsers that you may have installed.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 917
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: odd warning

Post by mathman » Fri Feb 26, 2010 6:06 pm

After disabling all on your list, the problem remained. I tried again after a restart - no luck. I enabled them back again. Any other thoughts?

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: odd warning

Post by kudos » Fri Feb 26, 2010 7:42 pm

Thanks for trying. I notice that you have various other programs running in the background. Can you disable them - especially the anti-virus/malware/spyware and firewall - just in case one of them is the culprit and interfering with Orca's shutdown process.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 917
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: odd warning

Post by mathman » Fri Feb 26, 2010 8:27 pm

I disabled avira, ad-aware, and commodo - nothing worked. However I did discover something. If I close ALL tabs before exit I do not get the message. There may be some sort of timing conflict in Orca, i.e. it must first shut all tabs then exit.

Post Reply