Pb Page Layout

Resolved Orca Help issues and Bug Reports can be found here. Orca is a legacy browser that is no longer supported.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
pibale2002
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 10:11 am
Windows Version: XP SP3
Avant Version: -
IE Version: IE7

Pb Page Layout

Post by pibale2002 » Sat Oct 31, 2009 10:41 am

Hi all

I got a problem with page layout in my orca 1.2.5
Some pictures are shown larger than expected, which causes that the entire page does not appear correctly. Some text are below instead of being at the right, etc...

I attached a picture which shows difference between IE7 (at the top) and Orca (at the bottom)
In IE7, all the small pictures are on 1 line, but we need 2 lines in Orca

I feel that at first, I did not have this pb. May be I got a troubleshooting with a plugin.
It appeared last month, and I remember that at this time, I installed Itunes on my PC...
Could be a link between Itunes and my pb ?
I was on Orca 1.1.7 when it happened. I just upgraded to 1.2.5 but with no change, unfortunately...

Do someone have a solution ?

Regards

Guillaume
Attachments
PageLayout.jpg
Same site in IE7 (top) and Orca (bottom), look at difference in picture sizes...

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Pb Page Layout

Post by kudos » Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:51 am

I have tested http://www.lequipe.fr/home.html with IE7, IE8, Avant, Firefox and Orca and all the page, including the images, render out exactly the same.

Are you using the page zoom feature at all?
Please provide a list of all plugins/addons/extensions installed.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

pibale2002
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 10:11 am
Windows Version: XP SP3
Avant Version: -
IE Version: IE7

Re: Pb Page Layout

Post by pibale2002 » Mon Nov 02, 2009 1:24 pm

Hi !

Thanks for your answer.
I had opportunity to test this site with Orca on another PC, and it works normally.
So I've got a troubleshooting in MY config.
I took the list of active plugins and extensions on this working version, and I will try to deactivate the ones I've got on my config and which are not on the list.

I suspected Itunes, but this plugin was actually on the working version, then I have a doubt on an Adobe plugin.... I'll tell you more later.
Actually, I was not quite satisfied by the video player which is lauch by Orca (youtube vids for example). I tried some experiences to get better result... but with no real improvement... May be my trouble shooting appeared at this time...

I'll tell you more this evening...

Questions : Reading topics, I saw that we could access parameters using about:config the address line...
1- are there other interesting commands like this one ? (I saw about :plugins as well...)
2- would it be possible/pertinent to save my present config somewhere and to reset my Orca to Default values ? How ?

Thanks again

Guillaume

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Pb Page Layout

Post by kudos » Mon Nov 02, 2009 1:41 pm

Check your installed addons/extension by going to Tools >> Add-ons >> Extensions / Plugins
For YouTube videos you need Shockwave Flash 10.x installed (listed in Plugins)
pibale2002 wrote:would it be possible/pertinent to save my present config somewhere and to reset my Orca to Default values? How?
- Close Orca
- Go to the Windows "Run" box
- Type in: %appdata%
- An Explorer window will open
- Rename the folder Orca Profiles to Orca Profiles.bak
- Restart Orca

You can revert back to your old setup by renaming the folder back.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

pibale2002
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 10:11 am
Windows Version: XP SP3
Avant Version: -
IE Version: IE7

Re: Pb Page Layout

Post by pibale2002 » Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:36 pm

Hi Kudos

OK, my problem is solved.

I did what you said, renaiming folder in %appdata%, and now it works normally.
I notice that all plugins were still active, so they seem not involved in my trouble.
Concerning my extensions, I reloaded them but that still works...

I tried some extensions (load, and clear) for this video pb. I guess one of them changed something in the config.
Yes I have the Shockwave 10.22, but, often, watching a vid on full screen caused that was impossible to stop it. The only way was to kill the Job... Not very comfortable...
So I wanted to link vids to another player, with no success unfortunately. Now I use PLaylink extension. Not a very sexy solution, but that works...

Many thanks for your help !!! I love this browser !!!!!!

Kind regards

Guillaume

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Pb Page Layout

Post by kudos » Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:45 pm

You're welcome - thanks for confirming.

With YouTube videos, it is just a case of clicking the X on the bottom bar, or pressing ESC, to revert it back to normal. Orca 1.2 builds 3 and 5 had some issues so maybe going back to build 2 may work better for you.

You may also want to try the FlowTube addon.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

pibale2002
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 10:11 am
Windows Version: XP SP3
Avant Version: -
IE Version: IE7

Re: Pb Page Layout

Post by pibale2002 » Tue Nov 03, 2009 9:58 am

Hi

No, the X or ESC did not work well. Or it worked after a very very long time delay...
Note that was not systematic. Sometimes everything was ok, sometimes not... depending
on the vid...

I had these pb with Orca 1.1 build 7 if I remember well. As I said, I recently upgraded
to 1.2 Build 5. I could not say whether it's better or not... (not checked)

FlowTube ? Thanks for the advice, I'll try it...

Kind regards

Post Reply