orca version 1.2 build 5, connection has timed out

Resolved Orca Help issues and Bug Reports can be found here. Orca is a legacy browser that is no longer supported.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
mikenzinbfe
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 7:32 pm
Windows Version: vista ultimate 32bit
Avant Version: 11.7
IE Version: 8

orca version 1.2 build 5, connection has timed out

Post by mikenzinbfe » Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:08 pm

i've used orca with no problems for over a year now, installing updates as they've become available. currently using vista ultimate 32 bit op sys. 4gb ram, amd quad core 2.2, ran update on 8/13 after update could not connect to any site, received timeout message regardless of site, deleted and re-installed, no change. on 8/15 new update online, installed, ran and same issue. deleted again re-installed same issue. checked my antivirus and firewall settings, using bitdefender 2009, did not see any obvious problem, windows firewall is disabled, also during all of this there have been zero changes to software, updates etc. other than installing the orca updates. i've checked everything i can think of but can't find any obvious reason orca won't load pages. it does seem to behave as if i had a firewall block in place but i don't, at least not one i can find. any help or suggestions is appreciated. thanks mike

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: orca version 1.2 build 5, connection has timed out

Post by bigC » Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:52 pm

Did you try removing Orca from the firewalls allow list and then let it be re-added?

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: orca version 1.2 build 5, connection has timed out

Post by kudos » Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:59 pm

Do other browsers work correctly? Does Orca work if you completely disable your BitDefender firewall?

You may need to remove Orca.exe from the exceptions list then restart Orca to let it be added again.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: orca version 1.2 build 5, connection has timed out

Post by kudos » Sun Aug 16, 2009 9:13 pm

Hey - bigC beat me to it, I'm running slo-mo tonight.
Anyway, here's a tip from the BitDefender forum: link
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mikenzinbfe
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 7:32 pm
Windows Version: vista ultimate 32bit
Avant Version: 11.7
IE Version: 8

Re: orca version 1.2 build 5, connection has timed out

Post by mikenzinbfe » Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:13 pm

thanks for the input, sorry took so long to respond i've been out for a week.
as to the replies;
Did you try removing Orca from the firewalls allow list and then let it be re-added?
yes
Do other browsers work correctly?
yes
Does Orca work if you completely disable your BitDefender firewall?
no
You may need to remove Orca.exe from the exceptions list then restart Orca to let it be added again.
tried that no such luck
Anyway, here's a tip from the BitDefender forum-
i followed up with the link, thanks, and still can't get orca to load any pages.

its so strange i can't think of anything else that could be going on. i've got all the current versions of ie, firefox, avant, google, opera and safari that work just fine, yeah i'm a browser junkie but i've always liked to try different ones to see how they compare. but back to orca it worked great until the 8/13-14 update and i really liked it or i wouldn't be going through all this to get her up and going again. oh well it never hurts to try, if you have any other ideas please feel free to throw them out since i'm totally at a loss now. thanks again for the other ideas though, never, well usually never hurts to try ;)

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: orca version 1.2 build 5, connection has timed out

Post by kudos » Sat Aug 29, 2009 4:00 pm

Are you able to view built-in pages?
Try: File >> New >> browser:home

Do you use a proxy?
If not, set to: Tools >> Proxy >> Connect Directly

You can also try clearing the Mozdata folder (where extensions and Gecko settings are stored).
Close Orca, then from a command-line type or copy/paste the following:

Code: Select all

rd /s "%appdata%\Orca Profiles\.default\mozdata\"
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

mikenzinbfe
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 7:32 pm
Windows Version: vista ultimate 32bit
Avant Version: 11.7
IE Version: 8

Re: orca version 1.2 build 5, connection has timed out

Post by mikenzinbfe » Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:30 pm

well the issue is resolved. eventhough the app would not load even with my firewall down i went into advanced settings and changed to "allow all paths" for orca, restarted and she works. i appreciate everyones input. fyi when i installed the most recent update for avant i had the same issue crop up which is what prompted me to dig deeper into the advanced settings. everything is working fine now and thats all that matters, again thanks

Post Reply