how does one use the Firefox password manager in Orca?

Resolved Orca Help issues and Bug Reports can be found here. Orca is a legacy browser that is no longer supported.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
FrizzleFry
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 1:29 pm
Avant Version:

how does one use the Firefox password manager in Orca?

Post by FrizzleFry » Mon Feb 23, 2009 8:49 pm

it is listed as a new feature in RC4 but I have not found a way to enable it.

from http://www.orcabrowser.com/

Orca Browser 1.1 RC 4 Released
February 20th, 2009

* Fixed the thumbnails preview issue with vista
* Fixed the bug that Orca would exit with fatal memory error
* Fixed the focus problem when creating new tabs with double click
* Added more languages for webpage translation
* Added option to use firefox’s password manager

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: how does one use the Firefox password manager in Orca?

Post by kudos » Mon Feb 23, 2009 9:06 pm

Orca should ask to remember passwords in a popup bar.
Passwords can be managed in the following dialog:
File -> Properties -> Security -> View Saved Passwords

User avatar
FrizzleFry
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 1:29 pm
Avant Version:

Re: how does one use the Firefox password manager in Orca?

Post by FrizzleFry » Mon Feb 23, 2009 11:14 pm

I see how to get to the password manager but I have not seen the popup bar to save passwords. The only password related popup is the one that creates new autofills.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: how does one use the Firefox password manager in Orca?

Post by kudos » Mon Feb 23, 2009 11:51 pm

A lot of sites prevent password saving by using the flag: autocomplete="off" (see this article).

Off the top of my head, try logging into wikipedia (if you have an account).

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: how does one use the Firefox password manager in Orca?

Post by Jasmine » Wed Feb 25, 2009 6:55 am

First turn off Orca's autofill feature in ab options and then type or paste about:config to address bar and press enter.
Confirm to change the settings and search for signon.rememberSignons in filter box. Double click the item to turn on Firefox's password manager(make sure value turns to true)
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: how does one use the Firefox password manager in Orca?

Post by kudos » Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:37 pm

Note that the settings mentioned above are the defaults in a clean install of Orca

User avatar
FrizzleFry
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 1:29 pm
Avant Version:

Re: how does one use the Firefox password manager in Orca?

Post by FrizzleFry » Wed Feb 25, 2009 5:09 pm

Thanks, Jasmine, that is what I needed to know.

Nogger
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 7:02 pm
Avant Version:

Re: how does one use the Firefox password manager in Orca?

Post by Nogger » Mon Mar 02, 2009 8:17 am

HI,

how can I set and use the "Master Password", which is usable in FireFox?

With out this password everybody can use enabled password manager in Orca.
In FireFox I can enable the "MAster Password" in menu "Extras->Settings->Security".

I can not find a similar option in Orca!

How can I use the Master Password in Orca?

Thanks for you help!

Nogger

btw. the Orca is a very good browser. Very Good Job.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: how does one use the Firefox password manager in Orca?

Post by kudos » Mon Mar 02, 2009 9:14 am

Type the following link into the Orca address bar:

Code: Select all

chrome://pippki/content/pref-masterpass.xul
Last edited by kudos on Mon Mar 02, 2009 9:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Nogger
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 7:02 pm
Avant Version:

Re: how does one use the Firefox password manager in Orca?

Post by Nogger » Mon Mar 02, 2009 4:07 pm

Hi Kudos,

after typing in adress bar "chrome://pippki/content/pref-masterpass.xul" I was able to set master password and it works. You also offer "time out feature" for the master password, but I was not able to enable it (becaus of a missing OK-button?).

How can I enable "time out for master password"?

Thanks and regards
Nogger

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: how does one use the Firefox password manager in Orca?

Post by kudos » Mon Mar 02, 2009 5:35 pm

I don't think that it is currently supported. It may have been left there by the Firefox developers. There are several extensions available on the web which offer that functionality.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: how does one use the Firefox password manager in Orca?

Post by kudos » Mon Mar 02, 2009 5:37 pm

Here is a link to Master Password Timeout Extension if you want to try it.

Nogger
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 7:02 pm
Avant Version:

Re: how does one use the Firefox password manager in Orca?

Post by Nogger » Fri Mar 06, 2009 7:18 pm

Hi,

with help of your hints and addon "Master Password Timeout Extension" its work perfect for me.

Thanks for your help.

Regards
Nogger

Hayleyseely
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 12:38 pm
Windows Version: xp
Avant Version: 11.7
IE Version: 7

Re: how does one use the Firefox password manager in Orca?

Post by Hayleyseely » Sat Sep 19, 2009 12:52 pm

I'd like to use this password function on my work computer. Do I need to have cookies turned on for it to work because when I go to my orca browser there's no passwords saved even though I've got the passwords in firefox.

Hayley

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: how does one use the Firefox password manager in Orca?

Post by kudos » Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:36 pm

Firefox and Orca are separate applications and do not share data. You can always export data out of Orca and into Firefox - or vice versa. Use this extension for import/export: Password Exporter
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

superfly86
Fan
Fan
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 1:18 pm
Avant Version:

Re: how does one use the Firefox password manager in Orca?

Post by superfly86 » Wed Oct 07, 2009 4:26 pm

is it possible to save password by firefox engine? Without use of AutoComplete for passwords ? I don't like asking popup window appearing at each site that I need to log in. I would like to see solution like in Firefox

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: how does one use the Firefox password manager in Orca?

Post by kudos » Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:29 pm

 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

superfly86
Fan
Fan
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 1:18 pm
Avant Version:

Re: how does one use the Firefox password manager in Orca?

Post by superfly86 » Thu Oct 08, 2009 11:11 am

thanks, that is working
But there should be a special configuration menu in Orca that makes possible to change some settings in firefox engine, like this I asked you
Some important settings from "about:config" should be easily configurable in GUI.

Post Reply