where is applications tab in orca?

Requests for help with Orca Browser go here. Note that Orca is no longer in development, and no new builds or versions of Orca are planned.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
dark_n1ghtmar3
Fan
Fan
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:49 pm
Windows Version: windows 8 pro 64 bit
Avant Version: n/a
Default engine: firefox
IE Version: n/a
Skin: n/a

where is applications tab in orca?

Post by dark_n1ghtmar3 » Thu Jun 17, 2010 8:37 pm

it says when i download something i can set options in app tab in orcas options its not there?

dark_n1ghtmar3
Fan
Fan
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:49 pm
Windows Version: windows 8 pro 64 bit
Avant Version: n/a
Default engine: firefox
IE Version: n/a
Skin: n/a

Re: Orca only allows 'save as' for .torrent file type

Post by dark_n1ghtmar3 » Fri Jun 18, 2010 1:48 am

i cant get this to work either the program u listed doesnt do anything and when i go to that chrome link i get the application tab but i cant do anything with it

dark_n1ghtmar3
Fan
Fan
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:49 pm
Windows Version: windows 8 pro 64 bit
Avant Version: n/a
Default engine: firefox
IE Version: n/a
Skin: n/a

Re: where is applications tab in orca?

Post by dark_n1ghtmar3 » Fri Jun 18, 2010 3:35 am

im trying to make torrent files automaticly open with uttorrent but it always says save as i put the tick on always choose these setting sbut it keeps asking how do i fix it iv tried the tutorial thats in the resolved section but its not working for me any ideas?

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: where is applications tab in orca?

Post by kudos » Sat Jun 19, 2010 1:22 am

You are currently using Orca v1.2.5 - try updating to v1.2.6 (download link).

(I saw that you also posted in another thread as well as here. To facilitate working on this issue, I have now locked the other thread and merged your posts here.)
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

dark_n1ghtmar3
Fan
Fan
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:49 pm
Windows Version: windows 8 pro 64 bit
Avant Version: n/a
Default engine: firefox
IE Version: n/a
Skin: n/a

Re: where is applications tab in orca?

Post by dark_n1ghtmar3 » Sat Jun 19, 2010 3:16 am

i dont want build 6 because the adblock plus doesnt fully work yet i got it to work b4

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: where is applications tab in orca?

Post by kudos » Sat Jun 19, 2010 10:55 am

Adblock Plus v1.2 does work with Orca 1.2.6 - I use it here.

Ah, I remember - it doesn't show the context menu entry. Use this fix to enable it.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

dark_n1ghtmar3
Fan
Fan
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:49 pm
Windows Version: windows 8 pro 64 bit
Avant Version: n/a
Default engine: firefox
IE Version: n/a
Skin: n/a

Re: where is applications tab in orca?

Post by dark_n1ghtmar3 » Sun Jun 20, 2010 5:47 am

yes it works but middle mouse button doesnt work

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: where is applications tab in orca?

Post by kudos » Sun Jun 20, 2010 10:13 am

I shall install v1.2.5 today and check things out for you..
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: where is applications tab in orca?

Post by kudos » Sun Jun 20, 2010 12:42 pm

OK, here's what I did:

- Install Orca v1.2.5
- Start Orca normally
- Install Adblock Plus v1.2
- Install Open Download v2.1.5
- Restart Orca
- Orca displays Adblock Plus subsciption dialog
- Click the Add Subsciption button
- Browse to: http://neosmart.net/blog/2008/windows-v ... -download/
- Click on: Windows Vista 32-Bit (x86) Recovery Disc Torrent
- The open download dialog appears
- Select: Open with uTorrent
- Select: Do this automatically for files like this from now on
- Click OK
- File downloads and immediately opens in uTorrent

To change torrent file behaviour:

- Browse to:

Code: Select all

chrome://browser/content/preferences/preferences.xul
- Click on Applications at the top
- Find the entry for TORRENT file
- Change it to whatever you want to
- Click OK to save your choice

Hope that helps
Attachments
dialog.gif
change.gif
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

Crazy_John
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 398
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:13 pm
Windows Version: W10 x64 / W7 x64
Avant Version: Avant Browser 2019 build 2
Default engine: 1ºFirefox \ 2ºChrome
IE Version: 7 and 10 but i never use it
Skin: Xito - old skins

Re: where is applications tab in orca?

Post by Crazy_John » Sun Jun 20, 2010 2:10 pm

dark_n1ghtmar3 wrote:yes it works but middle mouse button doesnt work
I use Orca v1.2.6 with fix , what i do is left-click and drag abit and the link opens in a new window , works fine on almost all links,pics... ,except on flash.

I tried put the middle mouse button working with some firefox plugins but couldn´t make it work ,maybe i didnt found the right plugin yet.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: where is applications tab in orca?

Post by kudos » Sun Jun 20, 2010 2:31 pm

Yes, I have to admit that I use the drag-and-drop feature all the time too.
Or you can shift/ctrl click a link. (I don't have a middle mouse button!)
For Flash content, use the floating toolbar and click on: open in new window.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

dark_n1ghtmar3
Fan
Fan
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:49 pm
Windows Version: windows 8 pro 64 bit
Avant Version: n/a
Default engine: firefox
IE Version: n/a
Skin: n/a

Re: where is applications tab in orca?

Post by dark_n1ghtmar3 » Sun Jun 20, 2010 3:39 pm

i use the middle mouse button more then anything and that would drive me nuts i got it to open utorrent files automaticly b4 but i cant figure out y it stopped and opendownload doesnt do anything for me

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: where is applications tab in orca?

Post by kudos » Sun Jun 20, 2010 3:48 pm

Are you sure that OpenDownload is installed? Tools >> Add-ons >> Extensions (see screenshot)
Attachments
add-ons.gif
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

dark_n1ghtmar3
Fan
Fan
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:49 pm
Windows Version: windows 8 pro 64 bit
Avant Version: n/a
Default engine: firefox
IE Version: n/a
Skin: n/a

Re: where is applications tab in orca?

Post by dark_n1ghtmar3 » Sun Jun 20, 2010 4:45 pm

sorry my main account wont let me login after changing email but i have opendownload installed but i didnt upgrade to the latest orca version im on build 5 still

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: where is applications tab in orca?

Post by kudos » Sun Jun 20, 2010 4:58 pm

All of my tests and screenshots were from Orca 1.2 build 5 too.
Did you follow my step by step instructions?
Do my screenshots match up with what you are seeing?

I tried to activate your dark_n1ghtmar3 account but I do not have the privileges to do so - I'm sure that an admin here shall do it soon.

EDIT: I tried again and was now able to activate it - which do you want to keep?
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

dark_n1ghtmar3
Fan
Fan
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:49 pm
Windows Version: windows 8 pro 64 bit
Avant Version: n/a
Default engine: firefox
IE Version: n/a
Skin: n/a

Re: where is applications tab in orca?

Post by dark_n1ghtmar3 » Sun Jun 20, 2010 5:04 pm

this one lol ill try everything step by step does it matter im on 64 bit windows 7?

dark_n1ghtmar3
Fan
Fan
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:49 pm
Windows Version: windows 8 pro 64 bit
Avant Version: n/a
Default engine: firefox
IE Version: n/a
Skin: n/a

Re: where is applications tab in orca?

Post by dark_n1ghtmar3 » Sun Jun 20, 2010 5:19 pm

it worked i had to reinstall orca but it all worked out for some reason it wouldnt let me see anything in app tab but its all good now

Post Reply