Zoom Function (bug) in Orca I think?

Requests for help with Orca Browser go here. Note that Orca is no longer in development, and no new builds or versions of Orca are planned.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
Steves.Place
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:42 pm
Windows Version: XPHome-SP3-dpi-150%-1280x1024
Avant Version: Current V11.7: B-46
IE Version: IE8-Occasional Use.
Location: Ok . . . Canada. The best free nation on the planet.
Contact:

Zoom Function (bug) in Orca I think?

Post by Steves.Place » Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:36 am

Yo hi there. I just ran across a bug in the zoom function in ORCA. I hope this is the right place to ask about an Orca Bug?

So you can try and duplicate my actions I'll include a link in here to (one) of the pages this happens on.

- - - - -
http://forum.utorrent.com/viewtopic.php?id=67788
The below link can be found at the above URL
- - - - -

Ok what happens is when I click on the screen shot link below, it opens a link in the same page/tab. No problem with that, but when I click the back button I go back to the previous page but the zoom (in my case) defaults to 100% while I have my zoom set at 50%. I then have to re-zoom the page back down to 50%. It has happened in other forums as well when clicking on something that opens a new page in the same tab.


- - - - -
http://lookpic.com/t/553/CmGF4dQ7.png
- - - - -


Ok, I hope I explained that ok?

It does the same thing in here with that post link, so you should not have to go to the first link above, just click in the post link and see what I mean?

Again, this does happen in any page that is opened in the tab and then I back step to get to the original page and zoom stays at 100% until I re-zoom it back down.
(Steve)
"I think I think therefore, I think I am; I think?"
Image \(Image)¿(-)/ MS Vista = Image
Altogether now, everyone do the MS Vista headbang!
(S)
teadily (T)wisting (E)very (V)ariable (E)ncountered☻

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Zoom Function (bug) in Orca I think?

Post by kudos » Mon Mar 01, 2010 10:49 am

Have you set the default new window size: Tools >> Orca Browser Options... >> New Window >> Always create new browsing window with zoom size: 50%
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
Steves.Place
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:42 pm
Windows Version: XPHome-SP3-dpi-150%-1280x1024
Avant Version: Current V11.7: B-46
IE Version: IE8-Occasional Use.
Location: Ok . . . Canada. The best free nation on the planet.
Contact:

Re: Zoom Function (bug) in Orca I think?

Post by Steves.Place » Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:06 am

Ah, yes I have. I am indeed familiar with all the adjustments available there. Did you not have the same problem?

Oh and my font size in Orca is set a 22. If that makes any difference?

You do know that there is no adjustment for the font size in Orca or selecting the link colors as they are not linked and are Firefox settings. I had to get 'Sword' to show me how to make those adjustments
"I think I think therefore, I think I am; I think?"
Image \(Image)¿(-)/ MS Vista = Image
Altogether now, everyone do the MS Vista headbang!
(S)
teadily (T)wisting (E)very (V)ariable (E)ncountered☻

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Zoom Function (bug) in Orca I think?

Post by kudos » Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:38 am

Yes, I can confirm the bug:

- set the default page zoom to 50% as per my last post
- go to a page which contains a direct link to an image eg this page
- click the image link to see the image only
- at this point the zoom has reset to 100%
- click back or type an address to browse to and the resultant page will be at 100%

It makes no difference about font size (I assumed that you set it in: chrome://browser/content/preferences/preferences.xul >> Content tab)
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
Steves.Place
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:42 pm
Windows Version: XPHome-SP3-dpi-150%-1280x1024
Avant Version: Current V11.7: B-46
IE Version: IE8-Occasional Use.
Location: Ok . . . Canada. The best free nation on the planet.
Contact:

Re: Zoom Function (bug) in Orca I think?

Post by Steves.Place » Mon Mar 01, 2010 12:09 pm

Ya, sorta. This was the link I used for the fonts. You might also need to know that in the area for changing the link colors I can select a color to change but when I close the window in automatically defaults back to the previous color (purple) I had to use a different method to change that one.

link below.

chrome://browser/content/preferences/fonts.xul

about:config
Browser.visited_color_____ Default_____String_____#551A8B (original Purple)

LOL, I liked that warning message too. "I'll be careful" I had a **** of a time trying to figure out what the code for orange was. I was afraid to change anything until 'Sword' sent back the right code that did the magic 'presto-fixo' and left me a very happy Orca camper.

I use Comic Sans MS for everything. I find it the best font and the easiest on the eyes for all web pages but it probable is a reason some text doesn't render quite properly, like overlapping text. It doesn't happen all that often though.
"I think I think therefore, I think I am; I think?"
Image \(Image)¿(-)/ MS Vista = Image
Altogether now, everyone do the MS Vista headbang!
(S)
teadily (T)wisting (E)very (V)ariable (E)ncountered☻

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Zoom Function (bug) in Orca I think?

Post by kudos » Mon Mar 01, 2010 12:33 pm

For HTML colour codes take a look at http://html-color-codes.info/

But to make it even easier:

chrome://browser/content/preferences/preferences.xul >> Content tab >> Fonts & Colours section >> Advanced

chrome://browser/content/preferences/preferences.xul >> Content tab >> Fonts & Colours section >> Colours >> Select a colour then untick the box at the bottom
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
Steves.Place
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:42 pm
Windows Version: XPHome-SP3-dpi-150%-1280x1024
Avant Version: Current V11.7: B-46
IE Version: IE8-Occasional Use.
Location: Ok . . . Canada. The best free nation on the planet.
Contact:

Re: Zoom Function (bug) in Orca I think?

Post by Steves.Place » Mon Mar 01, 2010 1:20 pm

Ah, thanks. That will no doubt be very helpful.

BTW, where are you that you can be up at 5am my time? PST. I thought I was the only one that stays up all day and night.

The 2010 Olympics just ended 6 blocks from where I live. Honestly, I'm glad it is over now. Never has Vancouver seen so many people at the same time.

But it is a good day to be a Canadian . . . Eh?

14 Gold metals, 27 total and no problem children causing trouble. I have never been prouder in my very long life *grins see profile* to be a Canadian . . . Eh.

Good night, time to sleep the day away.
- - -

After reading your Kudos I just had to add this . . .
(S)teadily (T)wisting (E)very (V)ariable (E)ncountered.
Last edited by Steves.Place on Mon Mar 01, 2010 1:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"I think I think therefore, I think I am; I think?"
Image \(Image)¿(-)/ MS Vista = Image
Altogether now, everyone do the MS Vista headbang!
(S)
teadily (T)wisting (E)very (V)ariable (E)ncountered☻

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Zoom Function (bug) in Orca I think?

Post by kudos » Mon Mar 01, 2010 1:29 pm

I'm in the UK - so you're the one keeping funny hours, not I...
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

Post Reply