Orca Browser, just installed

Requests for help with Orca Browser go here. Note that Orca is no longer in development, and no new builds or versions of Orca are planned.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
No14u
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 6:15 pm
Windows Version: xp
Avant Version: n/a
IE Version: n/a

Orca Browser, just installed

Post by No14u » Thu Jan 14, 2010 6:29 pm

Hi folks, I've just come across the Orca browser and at first I thought it was a very good browser until...... It does not seem to work with a lot of the FF plugins as it claims to be, especially the ( Tab ) add ons such as Tab Miix Plus. I do at times use Avant as my alternative to IE as I refuse to use IE and Google Chrome. I have been a faithful Firefox user for a very long time and I am at the point now that I am getting bored with it for a few reasons.

For me, the Tab Mix Plus add-on for FF is a major Plus ( need ) for me. The main thing about it is that I am able to resize my tabs because I do not like my tabs to be as long as they are. I like them ( all of them ) to be small. I have tried nearly every FF add-on for the Orca and none of them will resize the tabs. I know in FF Tab Mix Plus does resize to the way I want. I tried using this add-on for Orca but when I start up Orca, it freezes up and I cant do nothing but hit ctrl+alt+del to end the process.

So with this said, since I cannot get my tabs the way I want them to be, Orca may as well be a useless browser for me unless someone knows how I can adjust my tab sizes. The main thing about Orca is the speed, thats a plus, but still my only concern right now is my tabs.

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Orca Browser, just installed

Post by André » Fri Jan 15, 2010 5:35 am

Orca is very limited in the types of extensions that can be used with it. Anything that changes the look of the browser simply won't work because Orca is created with an entirely different technology. There is a list of extensions that work and do not work.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

No14u
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 6:15 pm
Windows Version: xp
Avant Version: n/a
IE Version: n/a

Re: Orca Browser, just installed

Post by No14u » Fri Jan 15, 2010 6:35 am

thanks for the info, is there ANY way at all I can change the size of the tabs? Because if not, then that is what's going to stop me from using Orca and/or Avant. I do not at all like my tabs to be as long as they are

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Orca Browser, just installed

Post by André » Sat Jan 16, 2010 6:41 am

Nope.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

Post Reply