Orca unable to connect

Requests for help with Orca Browser go here. Note that Orca is no longer in development, and no new builds or versions of Orca are planned.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
michaelc.123
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 8:40 am
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: 11.7 Build 35
IE Version: N/A

Orca unable to connect

Post by michaelc.123 » Wed Oct 14, 2009 11:52 am

I have been using Avant, Orca and Firefox for over a year. I turned on the PC this morning but Orca tells me it is unable to connect. Firefox will not either. But Avante and Opera will without any issues.

I uninstalled both Orca and Firefox, downloaded latest versions and reloaded. Still no good. The only thing I have noticed is that Oraca thinks it is the default browser when clicking a URL in an email, whereas it always used to be Avante.

Any advice greatfully received.

M

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Orca unable to connect

Post by André » Wed Oct 14, 2009 6:18 pm

Do you have a firewall? Make sure it is set to allow Orca and Firefox to access the internet.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

michaelc.123
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 8:40 am
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: 11.7 Build 35
IE Version: N/A

Re: Orca unable to connect

Post by michaelc.123 » Wed Oct 14, 2009 11:40 pm

That is the first thing I thought of. I run Norton but for the last couple of weeks it has stopped working (another problem - will reinstall that later as it is paid for etc). So I am relying on Windows firewal which I deactivated to see if it made it work. It didn't.

Michael

Post Reply