a website Orca can not enter

Requests for help with Orca Browser go here. Note that Orca is no longer in development, and no new builds or versions of Orca are planned.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
jcandysu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 8:52 am
Windows Version: XP sp3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 23
IE Version: 7

a website Orca can not enter

Post by jcandysu » Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:06 am

There is one of my favorite websites (http://bbs.moninet.com.tw/board/leobbs.cgi) that I can enter via either Firefox 3.0.7 or Avant 11.7b23, but not via Orca Browser 1.1 build2.

Your expertise is needed to solve this problem, many thanks!

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: a website Orca can not enter

Post by kudos » Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:29 am

Maybe it filters out the Orca user agent string.
Type about:config into the address bar and go there.
Find general.useragent.extra.orca and set the value to an empty one.
Try your site again.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: a website Orca can not enter

Post by kudos » Fri Mar 20, 2009 10:49 am

Upon further investigation, Orca restores the default string when you restart it.

A better solution is to add a new string value: general.useragent.override

Set it to something like this:

Code: Select all

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.0.7) Gecko/2009021910 Firefox/3.0.7"
You can check your results at http://user-agent-string.info/

jcandysu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 8:52 am
Windows Version: XP sp3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 23
IE Version: 7

Re: a website Orca can not enter

Post by jcandysu » Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:20 am

It works, thanks!

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: a website Orca can not enter

Post by kudos » Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:24 am

Good. Are you able to contact the site admin and find out why they reject Orca?

jcandysu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 8:52 am
Windows Version: XP sp3
Avant Version: 11.7 build 23
IE Version: 7

Re: a website Orca can not enter

Post by jcandysu » Sat Mar 21, 2009 3:11 am

Sorry, I can't!

Post Reply