windows 10 and avant

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

windows 10 and avant

Post by mathman » Mon May 29, 2017 8:52 pm

Recent bug reports seem to have a common thread. Windows 10 and build 5 forward. When build 7 (also build 6) is installed user settings get lost. Something is wrong! My experience includes the fact that Avant builds 7 gets installed, since it always thinks is is using build 5, even though build 7 had already been installed.

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 479
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2017 build 3 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: windows 10 and avant

Post by Nederpietos » Mon May 29, 2017 9:39 pm

Probably something went wrong during installing, though it could be a bug of course.

just download the latest build from the website http://www.avantbrowser.com/download.aspx?uil=en

Reboot first (to make sure everything of Avant is closed) and then install it.

it's worth a try.

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: windows 10 and avant

Post by mathman » Tue May 30, 2017 8:03 pm

I doubt it - I have the latest build. About Avant thinks I have build 5.

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 479
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2017 build 3 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: windows 10 and avant

Post by Nederpietos » Tue May 30, 2017 8:32 pm

If you don't try it we will never know, but ok....

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: windows 10 and avant

Post by mathman » Tue May 30, 2017 9:04 pm

Fairly often Avant will install the latest version without asking. This will always happen on a windows restart. I know what you are suggesting doesn't work.

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 479
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2017 build 3 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: windows 10 and avant

Post by Nederpietos » Tue May 30, 2017 9:12 pm

The difference is installing it manually but if you don't want to try it, no problem.

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: windows 10 and avant

Post by mathman » Wed May 31, 2017 2:51 am

I did a manual update for build 7, as you suggested. When it was over, same problems as before. In addition it sill insists that I have build 5.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11317
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: windows 10 and avant

Post by hornakapopolis » Wed May 31, 2017 4:53 pm

I would try another download of the installer. I'm not sure if MysteryFCM still keeps track of them, but you might even try it from his archive.

I think some clarification of where Avant stores the build version might help, too, because I've seen this "Avant thinks I have..." comment quite a bit. It's been my understanding that most software keeps this info in the executable (or the registry, but I didn't find anything there). So, it's not like it's not a file not being overwritten or the program is a sentient being actually trying to trick you. From what I can tell, if it says you have Build 5, your executable is Build 5.

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 910
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: windows 10 and avant

Post by mathman » Wed May 31, 2017 11:54 pm

Summary of what I know. At least two others have experienced the same or similar problem under Windows 10. I have another computer still on Windows 7 and build 7 was installed with no difficulty.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users