Page 2 of 3

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 4:19 pm
by creep
... oh ... always been ticked ...
Unticking fixes it ??? But I want it to do what the text ways it should do ... ".. switch to it immediately"

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 4:23 pm
by creep
UNticking definitely doesn't fix it for me ..

Not only does it NOT do what the tick is supposed to do (switch to it immediately)
but it also still doesn't open a new tab, or allow the Back to work

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 4:43 pm
by hornakapopolis
creep wrote:... oh ... always been ticked ...
Unticking fixes it ??? But I want it to do what the text ways it should do ... ".. switch to it immediately"
I'm getting a bit confused by your posts.

My post suggested unchecking an option. Your reply mentioned it's always been checked... the opposite of what I said. And your next two posts seem to be talking about the item below the option I'm talking about.

The window/tab options in the Firefox Options should not typically work in Avant because they're affecting the interface. I think, in this case, it's interfering with Avant's behavior because the option is changing how the code on the page works, which is done through the engine, but its effect is displayed through the interface.

I recommend unchecking all three of those setting there in Firefox Options.

I just tried it on another machine and it fixed it there, too. I was hoping it would work for others

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 10:49 pm
by creep
Yes - it's always been ticked
Then I tried unticking it ... it's quite straight forward ... it doesn't work !

That's it .. it needs fixing ...

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 11:17 pm
by Mr_Bass-Singer
I just did as you suggested hornakapopolis [unticked the box and then I closed and re-opened the browser as well]. It seems to work as it used to now. Is this a temporary workaround or will we have to make sure the box is unticked [even though like creep stated "ticking it should open a new tab"] in future releases? Thanks!

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 11:57 pm
by hornakapopolis
Well, thanks for the confirmation Mr.Bass-Singer. I don't think a restart is even necessary. I tabbed back and forth between tabs checking it and un-checking it when I first tried it. I still don't think creep is unchecking the right box, because in four posts, he hasn't managed to confirm which box he's unchecking.

But, I'd guess any type of extension affect Firefox's UI could cause the same problem.

As for having to do this with each install, I'm not sure. I haven't been paying much attention to what gets installed with each update in regards to the engines. I'd imagine Anderson would be able to make changes to the engines' options and keep this unchecked, but possibly not.

(I tried it on a third machine and it worked, too.)

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 12:15 am
by Mr_Bass-Singer
You're welcome hornakapopolis! Feels good to click on a link again and have it open it a new tab as before! Got tired of having to either right-clink to "open in new tab" or drag to the tab bar [which also was a good work-around]. Have a good evening!

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 7:39 am
by fochtmanv
Thanks Hornakapopolis I tried your fix and build 8 is working just fine now.

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 9:44 am
by creep
@Hornakapopolis
"Not only does it NOT do what the tick is supposed to do (switch to it immediately)" ... that is the box I've tried unticking ...

Now I've reinstalled an older version of Avant to avoid the issue

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 6:18 pm
by fochtmanv
deleted

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 9:44 pm
by paulscary
Same problem here.
About half of the links I click don't open a new tab.It just replaces the old tab and greys out the back button.
The re-open last closed does not have the original page listed.
Using Ultimate with Firefox rendering.

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 10:17 pm
by Mr_Bass-Singer
paulscary wrote:Same problem here. About half of the links I click don't open a new tab. It just replaces the old tab and greys out the back button.
The re-open last closed does not have the original page listed. Using Ultimate with Firefox rendering.
Did you try the solution posted by hornakapopolis » Sat Jul 23, 2016 10:33 am
"Try clicking Menu -> Rendering Engines -> Firefox -> Options (Taking you to Firefox's actual Options screen) and un-checking "Open new windows in a new tab instead" in the General section."

It made it work like it used to for me. Good Luck! :thumbup:

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 10:38 pm
by paulscary
Did you try the solution posted by hornakapopolis » Sat Jul 23, 2016 10:33 am
"Try clicking Menu -> Rendering Engines -> Firefox -> Options (Taking you to Firefox's actual Options screen) and un-checking "Open new windows in a new tab instead" in the General section."

It made it work like it used to for me. Good Luck! :thumbup:[/quote]

Yes! It works.
Seems counter to what it's supposed to do but I'll go with it. =D> =D> =D>
Many thanks!

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 11:06 pm
by Mr_Bass-Singer
You're welcome, but the "Thanks" should really go to hornakapopolis! :clap:

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2016 11:11 pm
by Nederpietos
Those options in Firefox (tabs) have never worked (enabled or not enabled). So it's best to have them always unchecked. For some reason they conflict with the Avant options in build 8.

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 3:18 am
by agenthack
unchecking this option > Open new windows in a new tab instead >>> fixed it... thanks :clap: :clap: :clap:

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 3:31 am
by mathman
Further comment - I tried the unticking and things just stopped working. I needed a Windows restart just to get things going and I restored it to the ticked.

Separate note. Using Firefox itself (not in Avant) there is no problem.

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 5:40 am
by Nederpietos
And if you untick it again? You restored it to the ticked, but maybe it was working normally after the reboot. Just curious.

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Posted: Fri Jul 29, 2016 12:33 am
by mathman
Nederpietos wrote:And if you untick it again? You restored it to the ticked, but maybe it was working normally after the reboot. Just curious.
The response after the reboot was extremely slow, before I restored the tick. The only web site where the original problem was a concern was my home page (gmail.com). My solution - leave Firefox as default rendering, with IE11 for the home page.

Re: Embedded Links Error in Build 8!!

Posted: Fri Jul 29, 2016 6:39 am
by rememberme
hornakapopolis wrote:Try clicking Menu -> Rendering Engines -> Firefox -> Options (Taking you to Firefox's actual Options screen) and un-checking Open new windows in a new tab instead in the General section.

It fixes it for me.

Hey, This has worked!!! Un-checking / un-ticking option "Open new windows in a new tab instead"
Thanks a ton fella!
MAY GOD BLESS UR SOUL [-o< [-o< , I am feelin short of words here!
HEARTIEST THANKS!!!!