Avant insists on using IE Compatible rendering engine

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
trickster
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 10:51 am
Avant Version:

Avant insists on using IE Compatible rendering engine

Post by trickster » Sun Jun 05, 2016 9:17 pm

Like the title says. I am using 2016 ultimate build 5 and whenever I reopen the browser, the saved tabs open using the IE Compatible engine, even though I want to use the IE11 engine. I've set the rendering engine to IE11 via the Tools menu several times, but whenever I restart the browser it reverts to IE Compatible. This also happens on an older version of Avant, except then it's even worse, god knows what engine it thinks it's using then...

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Avant insists on using IE Compatible rendering engine

Post by xiaobing » Mon Jun 06, 2016 3:21 am

Is your IE11 browser works normally?
It works if you use a brand new Avant profiles?

trickster
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 10:51 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant insists on using IE Compatible rendering engine

Post by trickster » Mon Jun 06, 2016 10:16 am

Well, depends on what you mean by normally. Yes, I think so. Except it seems to crash on certain websites. I can't view IMDB at all, for instance. It just keeps crashing over and over. I need to use another browser to view it. But I think it's just Windows 8 being the piece of crap that it is. And as for profiles, yes, I have tried deleting the profile and it does the same, IIRC. I am using the portable Avant version which I have been upgrading since some time ago.

trickster
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 10:51 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant insists on using IE Compatible rendering engine

Post by trickster » Wed Jun 08, 2016 8:26 pm

So that's it? No answer?

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2018 build 7 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: Avant insists on using IE Compatible rendering engine

Post by Nederpietos » Wed Jun 08, 2016 11:35 pm

try resetting IE 11 http://internethelp.centurylink.com/int ... aults.html

If that doesn't help it's probably Windows 8 as you already said.

trickster
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 10:51 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant insists on using IE Compatible rendering engine

Post by trickster » Sat Jun 11, 2016 6:00 pm

Why isn't the developer answering further? This is clearly an Avant problem. I've just had Windows 8 installed. It can't be a Windows problem. Why is it so hard to just honor a user setting? Avant has constant purple screen crashes, it's far from being perfect.

User avatar
Nederpietos
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 506
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:25 pm
Windows Version: 10 pro
Avant Version: 2018 build 7 ult
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: stickers on blue

Re: Avant insists on using IE Compatible rendering engine

Post by Nederpietos » Sat Jun 11, 2016 6:32 pm

If you want the IE11 engine to work well in Avant you have to make it work well in IE11 itself first. You said yourself it crashes on some sites and can't watch IMDB at all. IMDB works fine here in IE11, so there must be something wrong with your IE11. That explains why it switches to IE compatible also in Avant (my humble opinion).

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Avant insists on using IE Compatible rendering engine

Post by xiaobing » Sun Jun 12, 2016 5:49 am

Have you tried to reinstall your IE browser? Avant browser doesn't have its own IE engine, it use the one in your system directly.Since your IE11 engine doesn't work at all, it's probably that IE11 itself has problem.

Post Reply