Page 1 of 2

runtime error in 2015b17

Posted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 7:23 pm
by Kali
Windows Ultimate 64bits, Avant Ultimate, Firefox engine.
Start Avant, default blank page, open favorite from Favorites bar:

Code: Select all

Error
Runtime error 216 at 029E2728
OK
After clicking OK this next error message came:

Code: Select all

Unexpected Memory Leak
An unexpected memory leak has occurred. The unexpected small block leaks are:
1 - 12 bytes: String x 20, Unknown x 1
13 - 20 bytes: String x 22
21 - 28 bytes: String x 14
29 - 36 bytes: String x 9
37 - 44 bytes: String x 5
45 - 52 bytes: String x 2
OK
Very often this new version waits a long time before reacting after clicking on a favorite.
As if it's checking something in the background before starting to load the page.
That happened this time also before these errors occurred.

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Posted: Wed Jul 29, 2015 1:36 am
by xiaobing
The developer is working on this problem.We'll give you a test file later and see whether the problem is fixed.
Please see this topic: http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=34785

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Posted: Wed Jul 29, 2015 7:06 am
by xiaobing
http://dl1.avantbrowser.com/abbeta.exe
Please try this one and see whether the runtime error has ben fixed.

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Posted: Wed Jul 29, 2015 12:06 pm
by DUNSEL
I just installed the latest beta, early reports are it has fixed this issue. If anything changes of course I will report back.

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Posted: Wed Jul 29, 2015 3:16 pm
by jazwik
same error after installing this abbeta (version 21)

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Posted: Wed Jul 29, 2015 6:14 pm
by jazwik
and this error msg keeps showing even during installation

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:48 am
by Kali
xiaobing wrote:http://dl1.avantbrowser.com/abbeta.exe
Please try this one and see whether the runtime error has ben fixed.
Looks good so far.
Did some testing with lots of sites opening the same time and closing them randomly.
('Open all links' in Group or Favorites folder.)
Usually this causes a freeze somewhere but now it didn't.

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 1:01 pm
by DUNSEL
Yeah, built 21 has performed flawlessly so far. It's more stable than I am. For those for whom it didn't work, perhaps an uninstall and reinstall?

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 6:40 am
by Kali
Alas, after zooming out and in on a page with a long list everything froze up again :(
(2015b22, No error message.)

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 1:14 pm
by xiaobing
The latest test file is build 24,please try it and see if there is any problem: http://dl1.avantbrowser.com/abbeta.exe

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 3:20 pm
by Kali
So far so good with 2015b24.
But no worries, I will try to break something :)

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2015 9:02 am
by Kali
Two freezes with 2015b24:
- from a link in text page tot page with movie clips
- after closing the last tab
This last one has often been the moment to freeze up in all versions, when no page (not even a new blank page) was left the UI stopped responding.
(No error messages.)

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2015 2:41 pm
by DUNSEL
I can verify the above, it's happened to me twice so far with build 24.

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2015 11:38 am
by mathman
I was about to report a bug - it turns out that it is the one being discussed here. Since it is a minor nuisance (version 17 - no freeze, just message), what is the safest course of action - ignore it or try the suggestions here?

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 1:37 am
by xiaobing
Please update to 2015 build 27

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Posted: Wed Aug 05, 2015 9:57 am
by Kali
Installed 2015b27. Again so far so good, even after opening large groups of links and closing them randomly.

Also installed this version on Windows 10 (64b, upgraded from Win7 Ult.): FF/GC perform okay but the IE engines seem to be slower.

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Posted: Wed Aug 05, 2015 4:14 pm
by Kali
Freezes in 2015b27 sometimes occurred after closing the last tab while keeping Avant open.

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:17 pm
by Kali
2015b27 freezes only (sometimes) after the last tab has been closed. It did not freeze when I opened a new blank tab before closing the rest, leaving that new tan open.

Suggestion for testversion:
Can you open a blank page when starting Avant, keeping that tab hidden, and impossible to close (e.g. with option Close All), not iving a warning when closing Avant ('there's a page open, are you sure blahblah').

If I'm right this version should not freeze up.

Forget it. It just froze while I was watching a streaming video, opened another program and returned to Avant.

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2015 2:17 am
by xiaobing
Kali wrote:2015b27 freezes only (sometimes) after the last tab has been closed. It did not freeze when I opened a new blank tab before closing the rest, leaving that new tan open.
After it freezes, will it return normal if you wait a few seconds?

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2015 11:25 am
by DUNSEL
I've seen the crash a handful of times since installing the latest stable version. It hasn't been enough times to spot any sort of pattern, and therefore not enough times to bother complaining about. It's livable.