runtime error in 2015b17

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Kali
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 3:44 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016 build 5
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11.0.9600.17914
Skin: AthenX

runtime error in 2015b17

Post by Kali » Tue Jul 28, 2015 7:23 pm

Windows Ultimate 64bits, Avant Ultimate, Firefox engine.
Start Avant, default blank page, open favorite from Favorites bar:

Code: Select all

Error
Runtime error 216 at 029E2728
OK
After clicking OK this next error message came:

Code: Select all

Unexpected Memory Leak
An unexpected memory leak has occurred. The unexpected small block leaks are:
1 - 12 bytes: String x 20, Unknown x 1
13 - 20 bytes: String x 22
21 - 28 bytes: String x 14
29 - 36 bytes: String x 9
37 - 44 bytes: String x 5
45 - 52 bytes: String x 2
OK
Very often this new version waits a long time before reacting after clicking on a favorite.
As if it's checking something in the background before starting to load the page.
That happened this time also before these errors occurred.

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Post by xiaobing » Wed Jul 29, 2015 1:36 am

The developer is working on this problem.We'll give you a test file later and see whether the problem is fixed.
Please see this topic: http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=34785

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Post by xiaobing » Wed Jul 29, 2015 7:06 am

http://dl1.avantbrowser.com/abbeta.exe
Please try this one and see whether the runtime error has ben fixed.

DUNSEL
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 11:44 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 ultimate 64 bit.
Avant Version: Always the latest.
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers on blacksglass
Location: Manhattan , NY
Contact:

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Post by DUNSEL » Wed Jul 29, 2015 12:06 pm

I just installed the latest beta, early reports are it has fixed this issue. If anything changes of course I will report back.
I don't do drugs. I get the same effect just standing up fast

jazwik
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 6:35 pm
Windows Version: xp
Avant Version: 2010 build 123
IE Version: 8

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Post by jazwik » Wed Jul 29, 2015 3:16 pm

same error after installing this abbeta (version 21)

jazwik
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 6:35 pm
Windows Version: xp
Avant Version: 2010 build 123
IE Version: 8

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Post by jazwik » Wed Jul 29, 2015 6:14 pm

and this error msg keeps showing even during installation

Kali
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 3:44 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016 build 5
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11.0.9600.17914
Skin: AthenX

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Post by Kali » Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:48 am

xiaobing wrote:http://dl1.avantbrowser.com/abbeta.exe
Please try this one and see whether the runtime error has ben fixed.
Looks good so far.
Did some testing with lots of sites opening the same time and closing them randomly.
('Open all links' in Group or Favorites folder.)
Usually this causes a freeze somewhere but now it didn't.

DUNSEL
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 11:44 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 ultimate 64 bit.
Avant Version: Always the latest.
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers on blacksglass
Location: Manhattan , NY
Contact:

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Post by DUNSEL » Thu Jul 30, 2015 1:01 pm

Yeah, built 21 has performed flawlessly so far. It's more stable than I am. For those for whom it didn't work, perhaps an uninstall and reinstall?
I don't do drugs. I get the same effect just standing up fast

Kali
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 3:44 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016 build 5
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11.0.9600.17914
Skin: AthenX

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Post by Kali » Fri Jul 31, 2015 6:40 am

Alas, after zooming out and in on a page with a long list everything froze up again :(
(2015b22, No error message.)

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Post by xiaobing » Fri Jul 31, 2015 1:14 pm

The latest test file is build 24,please try it and see if there is any problem: http://dl1.avantbrowser.com/abbeta.exe

Kali
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 3:44 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016 build 5
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11.0.9600.17914
Skin: AthenX

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Post by Kali » Fri Jul 31, 2015 3:20 pm

So far so good with 2015b24.
But no worries, I will try to break something :)

Kali
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 3:44 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016 build 5
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11.0.9600.17914
Skin: AthenX

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Post by Kali » Sat Aug 01, 2015 9:02 am

Two freezes with 2015b24:
- from a link in text page tot page with movie clips
- after closing the last tab
This last one has often been the moment to freeze up in all versions, when no page (not even a new blank page) was left the UI stopped responding.
(No error messages.)

DUNSEL
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 11:44 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 ultimate 64 bit.
Avant Version: Always the latest.
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers on blacksglass
Location: Manhattan , NY
Contact:

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Post by DUNSEL » Sat Aug 01, 2015 2:41 pm

I can verify the above, it's happened to me twice so far with build 24.
I don't do drugs. I get the same effect just standing up fast

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 931
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Post by mathman » Mon Aug 03, 2015 11:38 am

I was about to report a bug - it turns out that it is the one being discussed here. Since it is a minor nuisance (version 17 - no freeze, just message), what is the safest course of action - ignore it or try the suggestions here?

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Post by xiaobing » Tue Aug 04, 2015 1:37 am

Please update to 2015 build 27

Kali
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 3:44 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016 build 5
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11.0.9600.17914
Skin: AthenX

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Post by Kali » Wed Aug 05, 2015 9:57 am

Installed 2015b27. Again so far so good, even after opening large groups of links and closing them randomly.

Also installed this version on Windows 10 (64b, upgraded from Win7 Ult.): FF/GC perform okay but the IE engines seem to be slower.

Kali
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 3:44 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016 build 5
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11.0.9600.17914
Skin: AthenX

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Post by Kali » Wed Aug 05, 2015 4:14 pm

Freezes in 2015b27 sometimes occurred after closing the last tab while keeping Avant open.

Kali
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 3:44 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2016 build 5
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE 11.0.9600.17914
Skin: AthenX

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Post by Kali » Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:17 pm

2015b27 freezes only (sometimes) after the last tab has been closed. It did not freeze when I opened a new blank tab before closing the rest, leaving that new tan open.

Suggestion for testversion:
Can you open a blank page when starting Avant, keeping that tab hidden, and impossible to close (e.g. with option Close All), not iving a warning when closing Avant ('there's a page open, are you sure blahblah').

If I'm right this version should not freeze up.

Forget it. It just froze while I was watching a streaming video, opened another program and returned to Avant.

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Post by xiaobing » Mon Aug 10, 2015 2:17 am

Kali wrote:2015b27 freezes only (sometimes) after the last tab has been closed. It did not freeze when I opened a new blank tab before closing the rest, leaving that new tan open.
After it freezes, will it return normal if you wait a few seconds?

DUNSEL
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 11:44 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7 ultimate 64 bit.
Avant Version: Always the latest.
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers on blacksglass
Location: Manhattan , NY
Contact:

Re: runtime error in 2015b17

Post by DUNSEL » Mon Aug 10, 2015 11:25 am

I've seen the crash a handful of times since installing the latest stable version. It hasn't been enough times to spot any sort of pattern, and therefore not enough times to bother complaining about. It's livable.
I don't do drugs. I get the same effect just standing up fast

Post Reply