Old Firefox engine?

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
lefreak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:52 pm
Windows Version: 7 Pro SP1 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2017 Build 2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 9
Skin: Windows Traditional

Old Firefox engine?

Post by lefreak » Sat May 03, 2014 8:06 am

"Avant Browser Ultimate 2014 Build 5 released. This version has integrated latest Chrome/Firefox rendering engine."

The actual version of FF when you released Build 5 (29th april) was FF 29.0, but when I click on "about" in Avant Browser, I see: Firefox 27.0.1

Is this info in the "about" menu wrong?

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 942
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: Old Firefox engine?

Post by mathman » Sat May 03, 2014 5:45 pm

It is correct. Look for firefox.exe in gecko folder. Put the cursor on it - the version of firefox shows up.

lefreak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:52 pm
Windows Version: 7 Pro SP1 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2017 Build 2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 9
Skin: Windows Traditional

Re: Old Firefox engine?

Post by lefreak » Sat May 03, 2014 9:09 pm

So, would it be possible to update the engine for myself? For example, if I copy the files from the "original" Firefox on my PC?

Then I wouldn't need to update so often Avant Browser, but only the engine, and I would prevent myself from installing a new Build of Avant with often newly introduced bugs... :wink:

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Old Firefox engine?

Post by xiaobing » Sun May 04, 2014 1:47 am

I'm afraid that users cannot upgrade the engines by themselves.

mathman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 942
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:03 am
Windows Version: 10 (64 bit)
Avant Version: 2016 utimate latest
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Crystal (may vary)

Re: Old Firefox engine?

Post by mathman » Sun May 11, 2014 1:45 am

xiaobing wrote:I'm afraid that users cannot upgrade the engines by themselves.
Replacing "firefox.exe" in Avant with a copy from Firefox won't work?

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Old Firefox engine?

Post by xiaobing » Mon May 12, 2014 3:41 am

mathman wrote:
xiaobing wrote:I'm afraid that users cannot upgrade the engines by themselves.
Replacing "firefox.exe" in Avant with a copy from Firefox won't work?
Yes, that may cause some problems. I just tried to copy the firefox.exe from firefox 29 to Avant, firefox engine reported errors.

Post Reply