Page 1 of 2

Avant freeze

Posted: Sat Jun 29, 2013 10:54 pm
by mathman
Since downloading build 108, Avant freezes up fairly often. I need to use the task manager to close Avant so that I can continue. Is this an Internet overload problem or an Avant problem?

Re: Avant freeze

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 1:39 am
by mbrazil
Sounds like an Avant problem. I haven't had any crashes with build 108, but I'm running the USB version, since I still have build 23 installed. There are quite a few variables that could also have an effect on stability in addition to the USB version vs. the installed version. Why don't you try the USB version to see if it works for you without crashing. If it does, either continue to use the USB version for the time being, or uninstall Avant, reboot, and reinstall it. If you decide to do the uninstall, use Revo Uninstaller, and choose the Advanced mode.

Also, the USB version won't run at all if Avant is already running unless you add -runextra to the command that starts it. Just edit the shortcut that starts Avant USB to:  [path to the USB version]\avant.exe -runextra

Re: Avant freeze

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 3:24 pm
by mathman
mbrazil wrote:Sounds like an Avant problem. I haven't had any crashes with build 108, but I'm running the USB version, since I still have build 23 installed. There are quite a few variables that could also have an effect on stability in addition to the USB version vs. the installed version. Why don't you try the USB version to see if it works for you without crashing. If it does, either continue to use the USB version for the time being, or uninstall Avant, reboot, and reinstall it. If you decide to do the uninstall, use Revo Uninstaller, and choose the Advanced mode.

Also, the USB version won't run at all if Avant is already running unless you add -runextra to the command that starts it. Just edit the shortcut that starts Avant USB to:  [path to the USB version]\avant.exe -runextra
What is the difference between USB version and ultimate? I am on a Windows 7 PC.

Re: Avant freeze

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 11:22 pm
by Tinman57
mathman wrote:Since downloading build 108, Avant freezes up fairly often. I need to use the task manager to close Avant so that I can continue. Is this an Internet overload problem or an Avant problem?
I've found that build 108 crashes more than the last version too. And it don't crash with a purple screen or any warnings, it just totally freezes and like you I have to use my task manager to kill it.... :thumbdown:

Re: Avant freeze

Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 2:46 am
by xiaobing
We'll try to improve this problem in next build.

Re: Avant freeze

Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:26 pm
by Biloulou
What a pity, same problem, AB Ultimate 2013 build 107 and 108 became unusable due to frozen.
Two times uninstalled, two times reinstalled.
Windows Seven Prof 64 bits


Regards, good luck !
Phase1a.jpg
Task manager, phase 1
Phase2ajpg.jpg
Task manager, phase 2

Re: Avant freeze

Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 11:45 pm
by mathman
Just to add to the confusion. Yesterday I had several freezes, today none.

Re: Avant freeze

Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 11:46 pm
by Tinman57
mathman wrote:Just to add to the confusion. Yesterday I had several freezes, today none.
Give it time, the day ain't over with yet.....

Re: Avant freeze

Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 1:30 am
by mathman
Tinman57 wrote:
mathman wrote:Just to add to the confusion. Yesterday I had several freezes, today none.
Give it time, the day ain't over with yet.....
No freezes since last Saturday.

Re: Avant freeze

Posted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 1:35 am
by Tinman57
mathman wrote:
Tinman57 wrote:
mathman wrote:Just to add to the confusion. Yesterday I had several freezes, today none.
Give it time, the day ain't over with yet.....
No freezes since last Saturday.
You must be enchanted or something. The night I posted that comment I had 4 or 5 of those freezes, and ybrowsers that kept getting stuck and eating up CPU cycles/RAM even after Avant was closed....

Re: Avant freeze

Posted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 2:49 am
by mathman
Tinman57 wrote: You must be enchanted or something. The night I posted that comment I had 4 or 5 of those freezes, and ybrowsers that kept getting stuck and eating up CPU cycles/RAM even after Avant was closed....
Since my last post I have had one (at least) more. Usually a restart cleans things up for a while.

Re: Avant freeze

Posted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 11:18 pm
by Tinman57
mathman wrote:
Tinman57 wrote: You must be enchanted or something. The night I posted that comment I had 4 or 5 of those freezes, and ybrowsers that kept getting stuck and eating up CPU cycles/RAM even after Avant was closed....
Since my last post I have had one (at least) more. Usually a restart cleans things up for a while.
On a normal day, if I surf the web for 3 hours, I have to restart Avant anywhere from 3 to 5 or more times....

Re: Avant freeze

Posted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 11:35 pm
by mathman
Tinman57 wrote:
mathman wrote:
Tinman57 wrote: You must be enchanted or something. The night I posted that comment I had 4 or 5 of those freezes, and ybrowsers that kept getting stuck and eating up CPU cycles/RAM even after Avant was closed....
Since my last post I have had one (at least) more. Usually a restart cleans things up for a while.
On a normal day, if I surf the web for 3 hours, I have to restart Avant anywhere from 3 to 5 or more times....
I meant restart the computer.

Re: Avant freeze

Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 12:07 am
by mbrazil
mathman wrote:On a normal day, if I surf the web for 3 hours, I have to restart Avant anywhere from 3 to 5 or more times....

I meant restart the computer.
Maybe you should consider dropping back to build 23 until there's a (hopefully) more reliable 100+ build available. I'm using build 23 for almost all my browsing, and I haven't rebooted my computer in over eight days. I occasionally have to restart the Firefox engine, or sometimes even build 23 itself, but I haven't had to restart the computer for anything that happens in Avant for a long time.

I occasionally use the USB version of build 108 when I want to test it, and I occasionally use IE, Firefox, and some other browsers that I'm testing as possible alternatives, but this amounts to a very small portion of the time I use a browser. I haven't experienced any freezes in USB build 108, but I don't run it for anywhere near the amount of time that you run build 108, so it's likely I just haven't had it running long enough to experience a freeze.

I normally don't recommend using older versions because of unfixed security vulnerabilities in the rendering engines, but with good, effective security software protecting my computer, and the lack of any significant security vulnerabilities being reported in any of the engines since build 23 was released, I think the risk is negligible, at least for the time being.

Re: Avant freeze

Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 8:42 pm
by Tinman57
mathman wrote:
Tinman57 wrote: You must be enchanted or something. The night I posted that comment I had 4 or 5 of those freezes, and ybrowsers that kept getting stuck and eating up CPU cycles/RAM even after Avant was closed....
mathman wrote: Since my last post I have had one (at least) more. Usually a restart cleans things up for a while.
On a normal day, if I surf the web for 3 hours, I have to restart Avant anywhere from 3 to 5 or more times....

I meant restart the computer.
Oh man! If I had to totally restart my computer just to get Avant to behave itself I would have blown it off my hard drive long ago.... :shock:

Re: Avant freeze

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 1:21 am
by mathman
When Avant occasionally misbehaves I need to restart Avant. However I have found once in while, when problems are frequent, restarting the computer clears it up.

Re: Avant freeze

Posted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 3:08 pm
by wazib
Freezing of the Avant Browser 2013 b110, engine Firefox, nine tabs opened

Suspension was very strange. I can not switch tabs or select any option in menu. In actual (active) tab links are active and it is possible to scroll through content. It is not possible to normally close the program. The only option is to close Avant - in Task Manager close process avant.exe,

I think developer must concentrate to eliminate bugs:
a. make Avant more stable,
b. eliminate lilac screen (purple screen of death),
c. eliminate error: Access Violation Error in module "avantbrige.dll".

Re: Avant freeze

Posted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 8:58 pm
by mathman
This could be a problem in my computer.

After a restart, the physical memory usage (task manager) ~ 30%.

After a day or so (probably due to AVG scan) ~ 50%.

When it gets closer to 60% I tend to have problems (such as frequent Avant freezes), so I will restart to clear up the memory.

Re: Avant freeze

Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2013 1:12 am
by mbrazil
mathman, you might want to consider a memory-management utility like CleanMem (http://www.pcwintech.com/about-cleanmem). I've used it for several years now, and it does a good job of releasing memory that programs are no longer using, etc., which helps to maintain stability and prevent the kinds of problems that occur when there's not a lot of memory left available. There's a full explanation of what it does and how it works on their website, but this is the short version, "CleanMem keeps memory use in check on the system without the memory being pushed to the page file. This in turn keeps the system running smoother."

There's a free version and a pro version so you can try it out at no cost. If the free version does the job for you, you don't need to purchase the pro version, since it just adds some extra features that you may not want or need. Before I settled on CleanMem, I tried and discarded several other "similar" programs for various reasons. I recommend CleanMem only because it works well for me.

Re: Avant freeze

Posted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 4:29 am
by mathman
mbrazil wrote:mathman, you might want to consider a memory-management utility like CleanMem (http://www.pcwintech.com/about-cleanmem). I've used it for several years now, and it does a good job of releasing memory that programs are no longer using, etc., which helps to maintain stability and prevent the kinds of problems that occur when there's not a lot of memory left available. There's a full explanation of what it does and how it works on their website, but this is the short version, "CleanMem keeps memory use in check on the system without the memory being pushed to the page file. This in turn keeps the system running smoother."

There's a free version and a pro version so you can try it out at no cost. If the free version does the job for you, you don't need to purchase the pro version, since it just adds some extra features that you may not want or need. Before I settled on CleanMem, I tried and discarded several other "similar" programs for various reasons. I recommend CleanMem only because it works well for me.
I just installed it (it was on SnapFiles list and well recommended by users). I am confused about how it supposed to work. I seem to have started it and it seems to be going. It would be useful if there was some description of how it is supposed to be used.