Bld 108 Will not work with Firefox or Chrome rendering engi

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
bldrdrms
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 10:20 pm
Windows Version: win 7
Avant Version: bld 108
Default engine: firefox
IE Version: 9
Skin: aluminum

Bld 108 Will not work with Firefox or Chrome rendering engi

Post by bldrdrms » Sat Jun 22, 2013 6:49 pm

Bld 108 Will not work with Firefox or Chrome rendering engine. Reverting to bld 107 they work fine
108 will work with IE engine

mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: Bld 108 Will not work with Firefox or Chrome rendering

Post by mbrazil » Sat Jun 22, 2013 7:29 pm

Maybe you downloaded the Lite version by mistake instead of the Ultimate version. Try downloading and installing build 108 Ultimate again.

http://www.avantbrowser.com/release/asetup.exe

bldrdrms
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 10:20 pm
Windows Version: win 7
Avant Version: bld 108
Default engine: firefox
IE Version: 9
Skin: aluminum

Re: Bld 108 Will not work with Firefox or Chrome rendering

Post by bldrdrms » Sun Jun 23, 2013 2:09 am

Mike, I have the ultimate version installed- the options to choose Chrome and Firefox would not be there in the lite. It simply fails to work when I select Firefox or Chrome. Did a clean install..same result. It is bld 108 that's wonky. 107 is fine.

Is it working for you? You show your bld as 23.

mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: Bld 108 Will not work with Firefox or Chrome rendering

Post by mbrazil » Sun Jun 23, 2013 3:11 am

Both the Firefox and Chrome engines work for me in the USB (portable) version of build 108.

I do still use build 23 primarily, since I can't put up with the all the bugs and all the missing features in the 100+ builds, and I have a strong dislike for the new UI. Build 23 has some serious bugs, too, but it's nowhere near as bad as the newer builds.

Crazy_John
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 398
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:13 pm
Windows Version: W10 x64 / W7 x64
Avant Version: Avant Browser 2019 build 2
Default engine: 1ºFirefox \ 2ºChrome
IE Version: 7 and 10 but i never use it
Skin: Xito - old skins

Re: Bld 108 Will not work with Firefox or Chrome rendering

Post by Crazy_John » Sun Jun 23, 2013 1:58 pm

bldrdrms wrote:Mike, I have the ultimate version installed- the options to choose Chrome and Firefox would not be there in the lite. It simply fails to work when I select Firefox or Chrome. Did a clean install..same result. It is bld 108 that's wonky. 107 is fine.

Is it working for you? You show your bld as 23.
Here the build 108 works as good as the build 107 .

As a test , you can try rename your avant profile and launch avant again , to see if works with a new profile .

If that doesnt work , Other thing you can try is , do a copy of the gecko and webkit folders of avant 107 , then put them in avant 108 (first delete or rename this folders of avant 108) , this may not be the solution but may exclude any installation error or any conflict with your pc files... at least on this 2 folders .

Also , delete your avant installer file and download it again , already happened to me that 1 download was corrupted and after download it again worked fine (but in my case the installer was not running , was stuck at the start)

bldrdrms
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 10:20 pm
Windows Version: win 7
Avant Version: bld 108
Default engine: firefox
IE Version: 9
Skin: aluminum

Re: Bld 108 Will not work with Firefox or Chrome rendering

Post by bldrdrms » Sun Jun 23, 2013 7:27 pm

I stopped the Gecko engine process that would not shut down on its own in bld 107. Reinstalled Bld 108 and this time it was successful.

Post Reply