Page 1 of 1

New Window / -runextra command line switch on Windows 8

Posted: Fri Apr 26, 2013 3:56 am
by fatoms
Hello,

Since installing Windows 8 (clean install) on my PC I have been unable to use either of these methods to spawn a new window and open website. Every time do this and start opening new tabs in the second window I get a message box "Avant Browser" "Avant Browser has stopped working. A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Please close the program." with options to Close the Program or Debug the program. I can dismiss the with the close or the X button and all instances of avant close. If i choose debug and use visual studio as my debugger I get a message like "Unhandled exception at 0x751675de in avant.exe: 0xC000041D: An unhandled exception was encountered during a user callback."

Steps to reproduce:
1 start avant with or without -runextra
2 start second windows with either File>New Window or shortcut with Runextra
3 open new tabs in second instance and crash.

I ahve notced this does not seem to happen if I start a second instance from File>New Session

Dominic

Re: New Window / -runextra command line switch on Windows 8

Posted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 1:58 am
by xiaobing
We improved this problem in 2013 beta 103, please try this version: http://dl.filekicker.com/send/file/1422 ... abbeta.exe

Re: New Window / -runextra command line switch on Windows 8

Posted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 8:42 am
by fatoms
xiaobing,

Some quick testing indicates that seems to fix the issue reported. At least my step to reproduce don't work on that version.

There are however problems with the Beta unrelated to this. It keeps returning to compact style, right clicking the title bar brings up the Avant toolbar menu instead of the window menu. Window menu can be brought up if cursor is place above title bar and changes to resize cursor (this does not work if window is maxamised) but that menu is no longer allowing adding of ultramon items. As previous versions of avant broke Ultramon adding buttons to the titlebar I can no longer use Ultramon's move to other monitor feature at all with Avant. Can Avant not just have a standard title bar that works like all other applications?

Dominic

Re: New Window / -runextra command line switch on Windows 8

Posted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 2:08 am
by xiaobing
fatoms wrote:xiaobing,

Some quick testing indicates that seems to fix the issue reported. At least my step to reproduce don't work on that version.

There are however problems with the Beta unrelated to this. It keeps returning to compact style,right clicking the title bar brings up the Avant toolbar menu instead of the window menu. Window menu can be brought up if cursor is place above title bar and changes to resize cursor (this does not work if window is maxamised) but that menu is no longer allowing adding of ultramon items. As previous versions of avant broke Ultramon adding buttons to the titlebar I can no longer use Ultramon's move to other monitor feature at all with Avant. Can Avant not just have a standard title bar that works like all other applications?

Dominic
Recorded

Re: New Window / -runextra command line switch on Windows 8

Posted: Fri May 03, 2013 2:18 pm
by fatoms
xiaobing,

I have just loaded the new build 107 and am not seeing the crashing issue anymore.

However I am still unable to get a title bar and access to the standard windows menu. Can you advise if there a way to get this back and if not would you consider adding the standard title bar back?

Dominic

Re: New Window / -runextra command line switch on Windows 8

Posted: Sat May 04, 2013 2:42 am
by xiaobing
I'm afraid it's unlikely to bring the windows title bar back. :(

Re: New Window / -runextra command line switch on Windows 8

Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:51 am
by fatoms
xiaobing wrote:I'm afraid it's unlikely to bring the windows title bar back. :(
In that case is it possible for you to look at you comparability issues with Ultramon?
This is a very popular utility and yours is one of the few pieces of software that will not play nice with it.