Page 1 of 1

Autocomplete is malforming unicode URLs.

Posted: Mon Apr 08, 2013 9:36 am
by sulpherdragon
A few months ago I posted a request to add unicode domain name support to Avant.
It was working for me but there were some issues.
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=31929

Here is how to reproduce the problem I've been having:
Paste this into the url bar:
http://www.xn--ixadahbbkgke5djpgxb1al0bfgtp0b.gr

You should be redirected here (This is acceptable behavior, Chrome does this too):
http://www.ίδρυματεχνολογίασέρευνασ.gr/

Now add a # to the end of the url, you need to add this in the url bar manually, don't copy and paste it from here.
Press enter to submit it and it turns into this:
http://www./?d??%B5ate???????as??e??as.gr/#

This should not happen of course, and I think it's because the autocomplete code has not been updated to support unicode yet.
To clarify, the # at the end on it's own is emulating what would happen if you manually modified the url to something like /videos/ or /about/. The expected result is the exact same page as before the # symbol. Infact, there is a Home button on that page that links to the exact same url in our test.

In a thread today I saw a suggestion to turn off Autocomplete for a different issue:
http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=31661

I've turned off "Enable Auto-Complete for web pages."
http://i.imgur.com/GE9zsMG.png
Since then, it's been working perfectly. (Good thing I don't rely on autocomplete).

Thanks.

Re: Autocomplete is malforming unicode URLs.

Posted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 2:10 am
by xiaobing
Thank you for your detailed steps. I followed your instruction but the link opened without any problem. The url is correct(enabled the auto-complete for web pages).
You can reproduce it every time? The version you use is 2013 build 23?

Re: Autocomplete is malforming unicode URLs.

Posted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 8:42 am
by sulpherdragon
Hmm, for some strange reason I cant reproduce it now (build 23). It was reproducible yesterday for the whole day! However since then I've found two other methods that have a similar outcome.

1. Set renderer to Firefox
2. Go here:
http://www.xn--ixadahbbkgke5djpgxb1al0bfgtp0b.gr
the url will change to
http://www.ίδρυματεχνολογίασέρευνασ.gr/
3. Change renderer to chrome
the page will reload and change to
http://www./?d??%B5ate???????as??e??as.gr/

1. Set renderer to Firefox
2. Go here:
http://www.xn--ixadahbbkgke5djpgxb1al0bfgtp0b.gr
the url will change to
http://www.ίδρυματεχνολογίασέρευνασ.gr/
3. Click the + button on the Tabs Bar to open a new tab.
the URL will malform to
http://www./?d??%B5ate???????as??e??as.gr/

Perhaps I did something like this previously and the autocomplete was just directing me to this malformed address since then.

Re: Autocomplete is malforming unicode URLs.

Posted: Wed Apr 10, 2013 3:41 am
by xiaobing
Confirmed.

Re: Autocomplete is malforming unicode URLs.

Posted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:26 pm
by sulpherdragon
I have also just found out that clicking a link to http://www.xn--ixadahbbkgke5djpgxb1al0bfgtp0b.gr in an email in Outlook 2010 will not work correctly.
If the default browser is set to Firefox or Chrome, it opens fine, but if it's set to Avant then the data gets garbled.

It's redirecting me here when it cant find the website:
https://encrypted.google.com/#q=www%2E% ... _qf.&cad=b

It seems as if the browser is coming up with this address:
www.?d??µate???????as??e??as.gr
instead of this:
www.ίδρυματεχνολογίασέρευνασ.gr

This same bug also occurs when I open the url from any program that is not Avant, For example, any IRC chat client and Steam chat.

Thanks!

Re: Autocomplete is malforming unicode URLs.

Posted: Tue Apr 16, 2013 4:14 am
by xiaobing
Yes,thanks for your information.

Re: Autocomplete is malforming unicode URLs.

Posted: Thu May 02, 2013 9:54 am
by xiaobing
Fixed in 2013 build 107

Re: Autocomplete is malforming unicode URLs.

Posted: Fri May 10, 2013 10:31 am
by sulpherdragon
Thanks xiaobing, opening the page in a new tab now works as intended.
But there are still issues.

If you load the page on firefox, change renderer to IE and then back to FF, you still get the error.
Opening links to http://www.xn--ixadahbbkgke5djpgxb1al0bfgtp0b.gr from external applications (email/chat programs) still break.

Re: Autocomplete is malforming unicode URLs.

Posted: Mon May 13, 2013 2:13 am
by xiaobing
Recorded

Re: Autocomplete is malforming unicode URLs.

Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 5:28 am
by xiaobing
Fixed in 2013 build 108

Re: Autocomplete is malforming unicode URLs.

Posted: Tue Jun 25, 2013 1:35 pm
by sulpherdragon
The issues above are fixed, but there is still at least one more related problem.
I tested build 108 out but I still got a broken URL when I clicked a link in Steam, (you can download it from here but you need to register to test it: http://store.steampowered.com/)
Other applications I tried worked fine now like Outlook and IRC, the issues with them are now fixed.

I did some investigation and built a tool to intercept the calls.
Steam sends the links in a slightly different format, using a multibyte char instead of unicode.
http://i.imgur.com/EmFLQNH.png
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Variable-width_encoding

This means that a URL like:
http://www.ίδρυματεχνολογίασέρευνασ.gr/
Is converted to:

Code: Select all

http://www.%ce%af%ce%b4%cf%81%cf%85%ce%bc%ce%b1%cf%84%ce%b5%cf%87%ce%bd%ce%bf%ce%bb%ce%bf%ce%b3%ce%af%ce%b1%cf%83%ce%ad%cf%81%ce%b5%cf%85%ce%bd%ce%b1%cf%83.gr/
BEFORE it is sent to the browser.

These links work whenever the default renderer is set to chrome, but not FF. So really and truly - it's not an issue with Avant, it's an issue with Firefox. That doesn't mean that Avant couldn't easily solve the problem though. I dont know who's problem this really is, but you may decide it as a feature.

I have a temporary fix right now and the source code for the solution is in this post: http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 87#p192787