mising taskbar

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

mising taskbar

Post by real name » Wed Feb 20, 2013 7:15 pm

windows taskbar is not restored/shown when you minimize full-screen avant (except full screens i have taskbar always visible)
(i did not find courage to try minimize full-screen avant to taskbar tray icon)

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: mising taskbar

Post by xiaobing » Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:41 am

Confirmed

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: mising taskbar

Post by xiaobing » Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:39 am

Fixed in 2013 build 17

real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

Re: mising taskbar

Post by real name » Wed Feb 27, 2013 5:33 pm

it seems to me that your solution was remove minimize button in full screen
so i tested alt-f4 = allplan was closed, taskbar is missing

btw. from the 1st look there is no build 17 http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 36&t=32222

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: mising taskbar

Post by xiaobing » Thu Feb 28, 2013 3:20 am

it seems to me that your solution was remove minimize button in full screen
We fixed another problem related with the three button, that may be the cause of the new bug.
i tested alt-f4 = allplan was closed, taskbar is missing
I cannot reproduce this one. Which skin do you use? Press F11 and then press Alt+F4?
Is your taskbar auto-hide?

Belph73
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 4:33 am
Windows Version: Seven
Avant Version: 2013 build 108
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: N/A
Skin: Tristan
Location: France (Savoie)

Re: mising taskbar

Post by Belph73 » Thu Feb 28, 2013 4:45 am

Good afternoon.
I confirm that the taskbar (automatic) disappear after a few moments, despite the application of the update. Reducing the window, I can recover, but the problem comes back very quickly.

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: mising taskbar

Post by xiaobing » Fri Mar 01, 2013 1:58 am

Belph73 wrote:Good afternoon.
I confirm that the taskbar (automatic) disappear after a few moments, despite the application of the update. Reducing the window, I can recover, but the problem comes back very quickly.
When will the taskbar disappear?When Avant is maximized or in full desktop mode? Do you have the detailed steps to reproduce the problem?

User avatar
knockoutrock
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2004 6:04 pm
Avant Version:

Re: mising taskbar

Post by knockoutrock » Fri Mar 01, 2013 1:42 pm

Belph73 wrote:Good afternoon.
I confirm that the taskbar (automatic) disappear after a few moments, despite the application of the update. Reducing the window, I can recover, but the problem comes back very quickly.
Yes me too have the same behaviour w/build 17 as the previous release despite that it should have been fixed :wave:

Just noticed that the taskbar is "working" BUT behind AB, this can easily be seen if change AB size (leave a small gap in
the bottom, U can see that taskbar do come up but behind AB :lol:

Belph73
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 4:33 am
Windows Version: Seven
Avant Version: 2013 build 108
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: N/A
Skin: Tristan
Location: France (Savoie)

Re: mising taskbar

Post by Belph73 » Fri Mar 01, 2013 2:08 pm

The taskbar (autohide) disappears periodically when AB is maximized. . To retrieve the task bar I use the windows key or minimized/maximized windows

real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

Re: mising taskbar

Post by real name » Fri Mar 01, 2013 4:32 pm

[quote="xiaobing"]I cannot reproduce this one. Which skin do you use? Press F11 and then press Alt+F4?
Is your taskbar auto-hide?[/quote]
avant windows traditional skin, not in compact mode, win7 aero, yes: f11+altf4, taskbar isn't auto hide

lefreak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:52 pm
Windows Version: 7 Pro SP1 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2017 Build 2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 9
Skin: Windows Traditional

Re: mising taskbar

Post by lefreak » Sun Mar 03, 2013 10:11 pm

:thumbdown: I can confirm that I can't show up the (autohide, always in foreground) task bar very often by going to the bottom of the display. I need to use the Windows-Key to show the taskbar. Never had that problem in Avant 2012.

Apart from that, AB 2013 B 17 is using a lot of CPU for my Athlon XP 2600+

User avatar
Tinman57
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 834
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:26 am
Windows Version: Linux Ubuntu 13.10
Avant Version: Linux Firefox
Default engine: Linux Firefox
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: TEXAS

Re: mising taskbar

Post by Tinman57 » Mon Mar 04, 2013 1:50 am

I didn't see this post and posted the same problem. I'm on an XP SP3 machine with build 17, IE8 Standard rendering and using the old Windows Traditional skin. When I open a new tab, my auto-hiding task-bar won't pop up when I mouse-over, nor will my Utilities side-bar. I have to hit the Windows button to bring it back to life. Once I do this it is fine until I open another tab.
((((TINMAN))))
----------------------------------------------------------
(Duck! It's another MicroSoft Patch!)

mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: mising taskbar

Post by mbrazil » Mon Mar 04, 2013 3:16 am

This should work as a temporary workaround. Run Avant in a sizable window instead of full-screen, and size and position the window such that it is one pixel smaller than the full size of the display on the edges that have the auto-hidden taskbar and other toolbars. When you move the mouse cursor all the way to the edge of the screen so it is over the one-pixel-wide area, the taskbar or toolbar should then unhide. If it still remains behind Avant, click the mouse while the mouse cursor is all the way to the edge to bring it to the foreground. This is less of a hassle than having to press the Windows key every time you need the taskbar or a toolbar.

Post Reply