A2013b8 search options

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

A2013b8 search options

Post by real name » Sun Feb 17, 2013 2:13 pm

it seems to me that comparing to A2012 some items in options dialog disappeared, anyway (because I upgraded from A2012) they are functional
to be concrete I have d&d of selected-text united with start of http://translate.google.sk/#en|sk|%s
(default was google search I think, btw. from context menu of selected text it starts google search)

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: A2013b8 search options

Post by xiaobing » Mon Feb 18, 2013 3:23 am

Select some words and right click it, click the "search " option in content menu?
3.jpg
3.jpg (15.67 KiB) Viewed 1743 times
The search result should be opened with your default search engine. Is your default search engine google translate?

real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

Re: A2013b8 search options

Post by real name » Mon Feb 18, 2013 6:22 am

aha, this search opens for me google translate too
google search few items down opens google search, I was writing about this item (it is available also in edit box)
ok, so question is where is avant's default search engine option now? (it is not chrome's or system/IE's one,) newly in avant option/search engine I do not see my 'translate' settings

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: A2013b8 search options

Post by xiaobing » Tue Feb 19, 2013 1:47 am

The search engine you use on search bar is your default search engine.
You can set it here: Tools>Avant browser options>Search engine>Web search. You can use the preset search engines or use the search engine added by yourself.

real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

Re: A2013b8 search options

Post by real name » Tue Feb 19, 2013 7:26 am

problem is i do not see any 'user define' one there
at home i see in 'web search' baidu (i have cn system locale), in office google and yandex (i have ru system locale)
just 'user defined' is empty - anyway it works (translates)
(i do not want to edit 'user defined' thinking it can help you find a bug why it is empty)

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: A2013b8 search options

Post by xiaobing » Wed Feb 20, 2013 5:28 am

So called 'user define' ,that means that you can add/edit remove the search engines by yourself.

real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

Re: A2013b8 search options

Post by real name » Wed Feb 20, 2013 5:48 am

right, just i see that field empty and anyway it makes my own search
did you change something here comparing to A2012?

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: A2013b8 search options

Post by xiaobing » Wed Feb 20, 2013 6:38 am

The search engines added by users can be kept in 2013.
The settings interface is different with 2012.

real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

Re: A2013b8 search options

Post by real name » Wed Feb 20, 2013 8:08 am

so simply is it ok that after upgrade from 2012 to 2013 it is not visible/it is empty?

Post Reply