middle mouse: background of foreground?

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

middle mouse: background of foreground?

Post by real name » Sat Feb 09, 2013 9:35 am

in avant options I set middle mouse button to open new tab in background

when I open (newspaper) webpage and start opening interesting links using middle button
after 2-3 cases actual page switches to newly opened (or better: opening) page

it is not new behaviour but now I decided to report it

(I'm using avant with windows traditional skin and chrome engine, if it makes difference)

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: middle mouse: background of foreground?

Post by xiaobing » Sat Feb 16, 2013 3:58 am

It only happens when you open newspaper webpage?
Can you give me the link of the newspaper?

real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

Re: middle mouse: background of foreground?

Post by real name » Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:45 am

just do many faster middle clicks at links for example at http://www.sme.sk/ or http://www.webnoviny.sk/ or ... (sometimes one is enough)
originally I thought it makes any web page, now I see it is not reproducible at http://www.zive.sk/text.aspx?textver=1 and happens at http://www.zive.sk/
(my experiment with switching off "block unwanted popup" and "enabled ad blocker" shows it does not depend on this)

real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

Re: middle mouse: background of foreground?

Post by real name » Sun Feb 17, 2013 9:02 am

after moving to A2013b8 is http://www.zive.sk/ ok
at sme or webnoviny it is still reproducible

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: middle mouse: background of foreground?

Post by xiaobing » Mon Feb 18, 2013 2:24 am

Are you sure that you didn't press the left mouse key accidentally?

real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

Re: middle mouse: background or foreground?

Post by real name » Mon Feb 18, 2013 8:57 am

[quote="xiaobing"]Are you sure that you didn't press the left mouse key accidentally?[/quote]
absolutely sure (even experiment with pressing left mouse before middle does not work, left after middle does has click to actual page)
what is interesting now I found that I can't reproduce it in office (one evening I will try to compare Avant parameters, but at both places I'm logged to the same account)

real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

Re: middle mouse: background of foreground?

Post by real name » Mon Feb 18, 2013 7:26 pm

I compared all home and office avant and chome parameters, (except items like "files and protocols") they are the same
at home it is enough to quickly hit one link at sme.sk by middle mouse button many times (without mouse move, left button or scroll) and one of the newly opened tabs will become actual one
my theory was that one of middle mouse down or up is received by the new instance of view/browser just before you hide it, but I have no visual proof there is any such instance visible for a moment - and especially: sometimes is one click (mouse up)enough
I have avant gestures off
with IE compatible I did not reproduce it, with chome it is easy
tomorrow will try to reproduce it in the office once again

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: middle mouse: background of foreground?

Post by xiaobing » Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:44 am

Thank you for your test. Is the computer that has problem win 7 64 bit ?
I followed your instructions but still no success.

real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

Re: middle mouse: background of foreground?

Post by real name » Tue Feb 19, 2013 7:38 am

already reproduced also in office
home w7 32 aero (slow netbook), office w7 x64 classic (fast desktop)

real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

Re: middle mouse: background of foreground?

Post by real name » Sun Feb 24, 2013 7:08 pm

A2013B12 changes nothing according to this bug report

what is worse sometimes happens also freezing after middle click, unfortunately it's very random
i uninstalled and installed avant, clear avant and chrome records - no change
i can understand you can't reproduce it but i must report and ask what i can search if it will happen again

it happened not just at only web page, but already more time at (right side) link at news.google.sk (usually i'm quick enough to click before page is loaded completely and i'm clicking right side links = maybe all others are similar)
freezing means disk and cpu has nearly idle time, avant and chrome engines do nearly nothing (btw. that number of running chome.exe is pretty strange, once i have 4 only with 4 opened tabs, but more usual is something about 9)
new tab does not start (also no change of number of chrome tasks)
also avant tabs are frozen - when i click to another (old, loaded) tab it just blinks (i mean that tab 'button', not view/page contents) and returns back to news tab (view makes nothing at all = does not blink)
avant over it (= menu & windows classic program toolbar) is often alive, just when i minimize avant than view (page contents) stay at the screen
closing avant often leaves avantvw and chrome-s alive so i must shoot them down individually

what is strange that after starting avant again (it offers last opened pages containing news but not page i wanted to open from it) and news page is loaded again and (middle) click to that problematic link again situation repeats
if i (middle) click to any other link at that news page it works without problems - and after this also problem with that previous link disappears

in opposite also happened situations when middle click means new tab and disk heavy activity, but i can close that problematic tab
unfortunately than is avant ready for restart because every new activity will cause troubles

also happened situation when i opened new tabs (in my case from reader.google.sk) new tab was after loading empty
during reloads of it i found it displays that left-bottom messages (waiting for cache etc.) at left-top (for me just under toolbar with tabs) = probably has 0 page height (at least for that messages and page contents, but the whole view has common background colour)
closing this tab and opening it again makes the same
opening that link to new avant is already ok - and than opening it to new tab (into 1st avant) is ok too
(this case could be united with full screen on/off and change of display size when i'm taking netbook (without attached display) to bed)

do you have any idea what to search next time to help you find a bug(s)? all here is not reproducible when i want
(i still can't even confirm if it is somehow united with former computer's wake up (normally i do not close avant) or that disk-active case with full screen mode, just statistically it should be possible)
(btw. now i have two opened tabs and 4 chome-s runnings, closing one tab (= keeping just this forum) there are still 3 chromes)

(i 'm used for avant traditional, sometimes full screen, and chrome)

real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

Re: middle mouse: background of foreground?

Post by real name » Sun Mar 03, 2013 8:32 pm

generally no change in 2013/17
just (especially at home) I feel Avant is less stable so I more often need kill it and all chromes by task-manager
I do not understand why simply having this forum editor open it needs 3 running chomes with individually spendning 5-27% of (my slow) processor time even I do not type anything
p.s. after avant restart they're already 4 (just 1st one is not cpu active)

real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

Re: middle mouse: background of foreground?

Post by real name » Tue Mar 05, 2013 6:04 am

now i had reproducible freezing when i was opening link in new window (from gmail = always in new tab, does not matter if by middle or left button), after clicking was avant frozen, i had to kill it and all its child exes, after restart the same, what helped was Clear temporary internet files
knowing where to find any problematic one maybe i can send you it next time
i have this avant very unstable - at home

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: middle mouse: background of foreground?

Post by xiaobing » Wed Mar 06, 2013 3:33 am

real name wrote:generally no change in 2013/17
just (especially at home) I feel Avant is less stable so I more often need kill it and all chromes by task-manager
I do not understand why simply having this forum editor open it needs 3 running chomes with individually spendning 5-27% of (my slow) processor time even I do not type anything
p.s. after avant restart they're already 4 (just 1st one is not cpu active)
About chrome.exe ,if you use chrome browser, you will find the same situation.

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: middle mouse: background of foreground?

Post by xiaobing » Wed Mar 06, 2013 4:00 am

real name wrote:now i had reproducible freezing when i was opening link in new window (from gmail = always in new tab, does not matter if by middle or left button), after clicking was avant frozen, i had to kill it and all its child exes, after restart the same, what helped was Clear temporary internet files
knowing where to find any problematic one maybe i can send you it next time
i have this avant very unstable - at home
Disabling all your extensions make any difference?

real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

Re: middle mouse: background of foreground?

Post by real name » Wed Mar 06, 2013 6:08 am

all permanently disabled, also no avant addons

real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

Re: middle mouse: background of foreground?

Post by real name » Sat Mar 30, 2013 9:31 pm

i feel no change in 2013b22, often freezing at home (i unistalled, removed and reinstalled it completely again), but works fine in office
isn't possible to implement killing of previous (not-responding?) instances of avant, avantvw and chrome processes during next start? (in fact chromes in taskman usually look alive (avantvw hard to say), just there is no avant.exe controlling them)

real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

Re: middle mouse: background of foreground?

Post by real name » Fri Apr 05, 2013 5:09 pm

maybe there is one difference home:common user; in office:admin (computer local), not sure if it is interesting for freezing

why i recalled it now is because of installing update to 2013/23: after starting avant i got question new update...? i said yes, it quickly installed it (using new process, asking for admin password) and started 2013/23 as admin = not actual user!

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: middle mouse: background of foreground?

Post by xiaobing » Sun Apr 07, 2013 3:56 am

Is the problem fixed itself or not? (Sorry about my understanding :oops: )

real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

Re: middle mouse: background of foreground?

Post by real name » Sun Apr 07, 2013 5:37 am

unfortunately for me problems are still present

real name
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:43 am
Windows Version: win7 64bit(office),32bit(home)
Avant Version: 2013 beta 12
IE Version: N/A

Re: middle mouse: background of foreground?

Post by real name » Sun May 12, 2013 7:47 pm

in 2013 b107 freezing related to new tab continues
what is maybe interesting that there is no problem with context menu/open link in new tab
just with left/middle mouse button actions (the same was also in previous versions)

Post Reply