All sorts of problems after upgrading to Windows 8

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
mikepaterson
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 10:21 am
Avant Version:

All sorts of problems after upgrading to Windows 8

Post by mikepaterson » Fri Nov 16, 2012 8:40 am

I recently upgraded to Windows 8 and now find that Avant Browser is virtually unusable.

I have upgraded to the latest version of Ultimate build 189.

The problems seem to only occur when using the IE9 or IE compatible rendering engines

The problems are:

1) Multiple occurrences of the "something went wrong with this webpage. To continue, please click the [Refresh] button. Or, you can just close this page." message

2) Sites hang or crash - Facebook does this every time - often causing 1) or causing the browser to hang up.

3) The browser hangs and eventually has to be killed

4)sites will not load properly - no idea what is causing this but guess it could be javascript or other code in webpage


None of this happened before upgrade to Windows 8

If I change to FF or Chrome rendering then the problems disappear (Unfortunately Chrome does not properly support Roboform, and FF seems to have some issues with it too so I cannot use either of them)

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks
Mike

EuropeanTechGirL
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 9:16 am
Windows Version: Win 7
Avant Version: 189 Ultimate
IE Version: IE 9

Re: All sorts of problems after upgrading to Windows 8

Post by EuropeanTechGirL » Fri Nov 16, 2012 9:38 am

:wave:
a.)
The Avant Browser crashes could be the result of having too many browser windows open

b.)
“Roboform” for “Google Chrome” FAQ

RoboForm Toolbar does not appear in Chrome. What to do?

1) Uninstall all RoboForm-related items from Chrome: Tools -> Extensions.

2) Reinstall latest version of RoboForm and be sure
to check Chrome checkbox in Browser Integration window of RF installer.

3) Make sure RoboForm is enabled in Chrome Extensions:
- In Chrome select Tools -> Extensions.
- Make sure RoboForm Extension is Enabled.

4) Show Roboform toolbar in Chrome:
- Click RoboForm icon next to Address bar,
- RoboForm Toolbar will appear in 1-2 seconds.

Why does the RoboForm toolbar appear at the bottom of Chrome browser window?

Chrome officially does NOT have toolbars, they are strictly prohibited.
It used to have them long ago but then they were banished by Google.
So the only place where Roboform can show its toolbar is below the browser window.
We also plan to have a Popup Upper toolbar that will appear when you click main RoboForm button.

mikepaterson
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 10:21 am
Avant Version:

Re: All sorts of problems after upgrading to Windows 8

Post by mikepaterson » Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:07 am

Thanks for your reply.

with regard to

a) this happens with just 1 window open
b) thanks

Cheers
Mike

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: All sorts of problems after upgrading to Windows 8

Post by AXEMAN » Sun Nov 18, 2012 9:47 am

I am not sure but i think i read that avant is not ready for windows 8 perhapps the 2013 versions will be but don't feel bad. If you can find stuff to read about there are problems with all kinds of things. :)

User avatar
Tinman57
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 834
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:26 am
Windows Version: Linux Ubuntu 13.10
Avant Version: Linux Firefox
Default engine: Linux Firefox
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: TEXAS

Re: All sorts of problems after upgrading to Windows 8

Post by Tinman57 » Mon Nov 19, 2012 1:52 am

AXEMAN wrote:I am not sure but i think i read that avant is not ready for windows 8 perhapps the 2013 versions will be but don't feel bad. If you can find stuff to read about there are problems with all kinds of things. :)
Seems to me this was brought up in the past. I'm sure a forum search of Windows 8 will give an answer.
((((TINMAN))))
----------------------------------------------------------
(Duck! It's another MicroSoft Patch!)

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: All sorts of problems after upgrading to Windows 8

Post by xiaobing » Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:55 am

Yes, 2013 version will fully support win8.
and FF seems to have some issues with it too
What's the problem when using robforom under firefox engine?

mikepaterson
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 10:21 am
Avant Version:

Re: All sorts of problems after upgrading to Windows 8

Post by mikepaterson » Wed Nov 21, 2012 11:01 am

I have to refresh every page in order to get the roboform popup to appear.

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: All sorts of problems after upgrading to Windows 8

Post by xiaobing » Fri Nov 23, 2012 1:17 am

mikepaterson wrote:I have to refresh every page in order to get the roboform popup to appear.
The roboform toolbar didn't attach itself to new tabs? Which version of roboform do you use?
Please see here: http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 20#p187629

mikepaterson
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 10:21 am
Avant Version:

Re: All sorts of problems after upgrading to Windows 8

Post by mikepaterson » Fri Nov 23, 2012 7:41 am

I'd better update then. Actually this was an issue in native firefox as well so deffo not an Avant problem

Cheers
Mike

User avatar
notestracker
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:02 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
Avant Version: 2012 Ult. build 197
Default engine: Mozilla Firefox
IE Version: 10.0
Skin: AthenX
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: All sorts of problems after upgrading to Windows 8

Post by notestracker » Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:04 pm

Mike, I admire your bravery [upgrading to Windows 8] and after reading this thread will wait well into 2013 before doing so!
Tony Austin
CEO, Asia/Pacific Computer Services
http://notestracker.com/ and http://notestracker.net/

mikepaterson
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 10:21 am
Avant Version:

Re: All sorts of problems after upgrading to Windows 8

Post by mikepaterson » Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:57 pm

notestracker wrote:Mike, I admire your bravery [upgrading to Windows 8] and after reading this thread will wait well into 2013 before doing so!

Aside from Avant it is actually OK, though I still do not really use the "Metro" interface

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: All sorts of problems after upgrading to Windows 8

Post by Jasmine » Thu Dec 13, 2012 4:15 am

mikepaterson wrote:
1) Multiple occurrences of the "something went wrong with this webpage. To continue, please click the [Refresh] button. Or, you can just close this page." message

2) Sites hang or crash - Facebook does this every time - often causing 1) or causing the browser to hang up.

3) The browser hangs and eventually has to be killed

4)sites will not load properly - no idea what is causing this but guess it could be javascript or other code in webpage
I use avant browser on windows8 and don't have those problems you mentioned. Could you disable all ie plugins(tools>avant browser options>add-ons>ie plugins) to check whether that makes a difference? Maybe some plugins running on windows 8 cause them.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

Post Reply