AB unstable since versions build 171

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
hansare
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 12:00 pm
Windows Version: vista
Avant Version: 2010b3
IE Version: 8
Location: Netherlands

AB unstable since versions build 171

Post by hansare » Fri Jul 13, 2012 11:16 am

Since installing build 171u (and 173u and 175) I was confronted with unstable PC's (XP and Vista).
Yesterday I decided to uninstall b175 on the XP-PC.
Now the machine is running stable again.
What is/was going wrong?

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: AB unstable since versions build 171

Post by xiaobing » Mon Jul 16, 2012 1:36 am

What's the unstable problem you said? Avant crash and you get the purple page?

lefreak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:52 pm
Windows Version: 7 Pro SP1 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2017 Build 2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 9
Skin: Windows Traditional

Re: AB unstable since versions build 171

Post by lefreak » Sat Jul 28, 2012 6:33 am

I can confirm this, my CPU (Athlon XP) is 100 % and I can only get out of this when I use the process explorer and quit avant.exe (which takes up to 8 minutes with 100 % CPU utilization...

Windows XP SP3
Athlon XP 2600 +
Nvidia Geforce 6200 AGP

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: AB unstable since versions build 171

Post by AXEMAN » Sat Jul 28, 2012 8:21 am

Have you looked at you task manager how many EXE.S are running example y browser i am currious some people have manny at the same time. Ok you removed it from XP pc what are u useing now. Have you considered updateing IE 6 :) # Eample avant.exe-s processes in memory

lefreak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:52 pm
Windows Version: 7 Pro SP1 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2017 Build 2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 9
Skin: Windows Traditional

Re: AB unstable since versions build 171

Post by lefreak » Sat Jul 28, 2012 1:16 pm

It happens only when a new tab is opened or new page is loaded, never if I only "read" a web site and do nothing.

Most times it happens with Facebook for me, although I have Flash turned off always.

Here is a screenshot from Process Explorer, the consumption is always caused by the newly created avant.exe, not by the "higher level" avant.exe or firefox.exe
Avant.jpg
After killing the second avant.exe I get the usual error that there is an error on that page...
Avant 02.jpg

User avatar
Tinman57
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 834
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:26 am
Windows Version: Linux Ubuntu 13.10
Avant Version: Linux Firefox
Default engine: Linux Firefox
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: TEXAS

Re: AB unstable since versions build 171

Post by Tinman57 » Sat Jul 28, 2012 10:30 pm

lefreak wrote:I can confirm this, my CPU (Athlon XP) is 100 % and I can only get out of this when I use the process explorer and quit avant.exe (which takes up to 8 minutes with 100 % CPU utilization...

Windows XP SP3
Athlon XP 2600 +
Nvidia Geforce 6200 AGP
If your using IE6, that's probably the majority of the problem. No one should be using IE6, it's too unstable and has way too many security problems. At a minimum you should be using IE8.

If you have problems with IE8, then you need to stop all of your add-ons and see if the problem still exist. If it don't, then start using your add-ons one at a time until you find which one is causing the problem(s)

Also, manually updating Avant is better than the auto-update. Just don't forget to backup your bookmarks before doing any upgrades or (re)installs
((((TINMAN))))
----------------------------------------------------------
(Duck! It's another MicroSoft Patch!)

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: AB unstable since versions build 171

Post by xiaobing » Mon Jul 30, 2012 2:21 am

The CPU didn't go down after the page finished loading?

lefreak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:52 pm
Windows Version: 7 Pro SP1 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2017 Build 2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 9
Skin: Windows Traditional

Re: AB unstable since versions build 171

Post by lefreak » Mon Jul 30, 2012 12:45 pm

The page just doesn't finish loading because the whole system "hangs". Normally, when I open a new tab/page, a new avant.exe process is created, this opens a new firefox.exe, the 2nd avant.exe closes, etc. But when this happens, after the 2nd avant.exe starts, all is instable and I have to kill avant.exe

And it surely isn't a problem of IE because I never used that engine and also I never had problems with Avant Browser Ultimate in the last 12 months up to build 16x

Crazy_John
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 398
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:13 pm
Windows Version: W10 x64 / W7 x64
Avant Version: Avant Browser 2019 build 2
Default engine: 1ºFirefox \ 2ºChrome
IE Version: 7 and 10 but i never use it
Skin: Xito - old skins

Re: AB unstable since versions build 171

Post by Crazy_John » Mon Jul 30, 2012 2:06 pm

In the past i had a similar problem to your (and i still have if i go back to IE6)
The problem is a conflict between avant , IE6 and the antivirus.
The problem is that the cpu goes to 100% and stay there for long time , the whole system "hangs" until avant crashs or i close the avant.exe .

The best solution for me was installing IE7 , no system "hangs" anymore and the pc runs fast +/- as with IE6 , i tried IE8 but makes my pc very slow.

Try IE7 just to see is the problem disappears. It takes just 5 minutes to install. :o
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... .aspx?id=2

If it works , then you can try IE8 (or do the inverse) , but i doubt that your pc will not loose speed with IE8.
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... aspx?id=43

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: AB unstable since versions build 171

Post by Jasmine » Tue Jul 31, 2012 3:55 am

lefreak wrote:I can confirm this, my CPU (Athlon XP) is 100 % and I can only get out of this when I use the process explorer and quit avant.exe (which takes up to 8 minutes with 100 % CPU utilization...

Windows XP SP3
Athlon XP 2600 +
Nvidia Geforce 6200 AGP
What's the memory size of your computer?
The second avant.exe is created for saving some data, it should exit automatically after having finished its tasks. Is it due to the memory has almost been used up?
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

lefreak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:52 pm
Windows Version: 7 Pro SP1 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2017 Build 2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 9
Skin: Windows Traditional

Re: AB unstable since versions build 171

Post by lefreak » Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:12 pm

Jasmine wrote:
lefreak wrote:I can confirm this, my CPU (Athlon XP) is 100 % and I can only get out of this when I use the process explorer and quit avant.exe (which takes up to 8 minutes with 100 % CPU utilization...

Windows XP SP3
Athlon XP 2600 +
Nvidia Geforce 6200 AGP
What's the memory size of your computer?
The second avant.exe is created for saving some data, it should exit automatically after having finished its tasks. Is it due to the memory has almost been used up?
1 GB RAM, but usually 280 MB are still free, apart from that I have used Avant Ultimate over 1 year and never had problems... maybe your avant.exe consumes too much RAM beginning from Build 170?

AbelAbel
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:11 am
Windows Version: win7
Avant Version: 2012 beta 8
IE Version: ie9

Re: AB unstable since versions build 171

Post by AbelAbel » Wed Aug 01, 2012 2:25 am

Have you tried 179? It improved the Memory usage problem.

Diggit
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 2:40 pm
Windows Version: Win 7 32
Avant Version: 2012 179
IE Version: 9

Re: AB unstable since versions build 171

Post by Diggit » Sun Aug 05, 2012 2:45 pm

Fwiw, I found a marked improvement in cpu usage when I turned off Clear Text in win7.

lefreak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:52 pm
Windows Version: 7 Pro SP1 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2017 Build 2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 9
Skin: Windows Traditional

Re: AB unstable since versions build 171

Post by lefreak » Fri Aug 10, 2012 3:18 am

I've gone back to Build 175 and have been using this version without the 100 % CPU for 8 days now, so it definitely is a problem of the newer Builds, although I haven't tested Build 180 yet

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: AB unstable since versions build 171

Post by AXEMAN » Sat Aug 11, 2012 9:07 am

Please test Build 180 and let us know if the problem is still there. :)

lefreak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:52 pm
Windows Version: 7 Pro SP1 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2017 Build 2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 9
Skin: Windows Traditional

Build 180 stable

Post by lefreak » Sat Aug 18, 2012 7:52 pm

The problem has disappeared in the new version, I use it since 3 days and I don't have "100 % CPU" hangings anymore.

Thank you.

Post Reply