some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by xiaobing » Mon Feb 20, 2012 5:01 am

After restarting computer, the first time you open Avant browser, it will pop up the re-open window although you have set
1 Always exiting Avant browser directly
2 Enable display confirmation when opening saved pages
Right?

There was no page saved the last time you closed Avant, so there shouldn't pop up the reopen window.

But that means the setting [Display confirmation when opening saved pages] make no sense.
If you disable the [display confirmation when opening saved pages] , will the problem continue?

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by hornakapopolis » Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:55 pm

I believe that this specific issue is that he's only getting the confirmation when he starts up first thing in the morning... not at any other time.

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by Jasmine » Tue Feb 21, 2012 3:26 am

AEN007 wrote:6) When AvB is rendering IE(6), I cannot use TAB / SHIFT-TAB
to go between the main browsing section and the Search/Address boxes;
however, when AvB is rendering Gecko, I can go from the Search/Address boxes
to the main browsing section with the TAB key.
In MFF I can always use TAB / SHIFT-TAB to go between sections.
I don't have this problem in ab2012 build 23 after switching to ie6 rendering mode. The version number of your current AvB?
Do you have the same problem in ie6?
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by AEN007 » Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:07 am

21February2012
xiaobing wrote:After restarting computer, the first time you open Avant browser,
it will pop up the re-open window although you have set
1 Always exiting Avant browser directly
2 Enable display confirmation when opening saved pages
Right?
I never said anything in any of my previous posts on this topic about restarting the computer.
xiaobing wrote:There was no page saved the last time you closed Avant, so there shouldn't pop up the reopen window.
That SHOULD BE the case; but as I've written before in detail in plain English, it is NOT the case.
xiaobing wrote:But that means the setting [Display confirmation when opening saved pages] make no sense.
If you disable the [display confirmation when opening saved pages] , will the problem continue?
I've alredy explained in detail in plain English the relevant issues regarding the AvB settings ...
and already addressed this assertion & answered this question

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by bigC » Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:45 pm

AEN007 wrote:21February2012
xiaobing wrote:After restarting computer, the first time you open Avant browser,
it will pop up the re-open window although you have set
1 Always exiting Avant browser directly
2 Enable display confirmation when opening saved pages
Right?
I never said anything in any of my previous posts on this topic about restarting the computer.
But you say it happens only the first time you start AB each day. Don't you shut your computer the night before, or you leave it on over night?

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by AEN007 » Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:47 pm

22February2012

It seems that yesterday I identified the source(s) of this daily Re-Open problem and the/a solution as well.

If I hit F6 or Alt-S, the cursor moves to the address bar or search box.
In Gecko rendered tabs I can TAB back to the main GUI window (after I switch to a new tab & then switch back);
however, in IE6 rendered tabs I can never TAB back. I have to mouse click in the main GUI window
to be able TAB around the main GUI window again.
AEN007 wrote:
AEN007 wrote:4) The Gecko Flashblock 1.5.15.1 add-on does not seem to work properly.
Maybe the AvB GUI conflicts with these/some Gecko add-ons?
Jasmine wrote:-----Could you explain in detail where doesn't work properly.
I think AvB should try out this FlashBlock add-on with a normal MFF browser & compare it with AvB2012.
I have always had the Avant GUI option "Disable Flash animations" selected.
When I deselect that GUI option, the MFF FlashBlock plugin seems to work properly.
It would be nice if Avant could treat IE rendered flash objects the same way
the MFF FlashBlock plugin does; i.e., disable all flash objects by default but
allow selectively viewing any flash object ... instead of only an all-or-nothing en/dis/able setting ...
Today I also noticed that the MFF FlashBlock plugin SOMETIMES works properly
(if I deselect "Disable Flash animations") but sometimes does NOT.
If I deselect "Disable Flash animations", then AvB always displays flash with IE6 rendering
and sometimes displays flash with Gecko rendering.
If I enable "Disable Flash animations", then AvB never displays flash with IE6 rendering
and always displays flash with Gecko rendering.
It seems to me that AvB should come up with some way(s) to have AvB ALWAYS disable flash ...

creep
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:15 am
Windows Version: 7/64 - AMD A8 4.2GHz 8GB RAM
Avant Version: 2017 Build 07 Ultimate
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Dream
Location: England

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by creep » Thu Sep 06, 2012 8:36 pm

I see that the Bookmarks menu item re-appearing act is still running ....


RMC > Customize Buttons > Menu bar ... untick Bookmarks .... and it disappears

Close and re-open Avant and the menu item is back again

Not only that, but it puts the tick back in the box !

Not a big deal ... but it should work properly :)

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by Jasmine » Fri Sep 07, 2012 2:07 am

creep wrote:I see that the Bookmarks menu item re-appearing act is still running ....


RMC > Customize Buttons > Menu bar ... untick Bookmarks .... and it disappears

Close and re-open Avant and the menu item is back again

Not only that, but it puts the tick back in the box !

Not a big deal ... but it should work properly :)
I can't replay the problem.
Could you rename your old avant profiles folder(find the location in tools>avant browser options>profile>please choose the profile folder ) and restart avant browser to make it recreate a new avant profiles with default settings? And then see whether or not the bookmarks menu can remember the changed status.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

creep
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:15 am
Windows Version: 7/64 - AMD A8 4.2GHz 8GB RAM
Avant Version: 2017 Build 07 Ultimate
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Dream
Location: England

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by creep » Fri Sep 07, 2012 9:04 am

@Jasmine
I have just done as you said, starting with a default profile, then been through all the options setting up from scratch.
It looked as if it worked ...... but then the Bookmarks reappeared after a couple of closes / opens.


So the situation was
a) Bookmarks was visible on the Menu bar
b) Other Buttons had Selective text visible
I then turned off Selective text ...... Bookmarks disappeared !
I turned on Selective text ........ Bookmarks reappeared !!

Over to you :)
(One note to anyone else setting up from scratch is that they can copy the favicons.dat file from
C:\Users\Colin & Teija\AppData\Roaming\Avant Profiles\.default into the new profile ... )

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by AXEMAN » Fri Sep 07, 2012 9:41 am

Oh man upgrade your internet explorer on your profile it says you only have IE 6 you should now this. :wtf:

creep
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:15 am
Windows Version: 7/64 - AMD A8 4.2GHz 8GB RAM
Avant Version: 2017 Build 07 Ultimate
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Dream
Location: England

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by creep » Fri Sep 07, 2012 10:19 am

@Axeman
That is not addressed to me, I believe ...

mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by mbrazil » Fri Sep 07, 2012 4:48 pm

@ AEN007: The following is from your profile information. Is it accurate?

Avant Browser Version: 2012ß171 USB
IE Version: 6

User avatar
Tinman57
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 834
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:26 am
Windows Version: Linux Ubuntu 13.10
Avant Version: Linux Firefox
Default engine: Linux Firefox
IE Version: N/A
Skin: N/A
Location: TEXAS

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by Tinman57 » Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:19 pm

creep wrote: Over to you :)
(One note to anyone else setting up from scratch is that they can copy the favicons.dat file from
C:\Users\Colin & Teija\AppData\Roaming\Avant Profiles\.default into the new profile ... )
Methinks that should be "C:\Users\User Name\AppData\Roaming\Avant Profiles\.default" :P
((((TINMAN))))
----------------------------------------------------------
(Duck! It's another MicroSoft Patch!)

creep
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:15 am
Windows Version: 7/64 - AMD A8 4.2GHz 8GB RAM
Avant Version: 2017 Build 07 Ultimate
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Dream
Location: England

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by creep » Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:23 pm

oh ......
Thank you .... I obviously just pasted that in :oops:

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by Jasmine » Mon Sep 10, 2012 3:04 am

creep wrote: So the situation was
a) Bookmarks was visible on the Menu bar
b) Other Buttons had Selective text visible
I then turned off Selective text ...... Bookmarks disappeared !
I turned on Selective text ........ Bookmarks reappeared !!
I've tested this way:
view>customize buttons...>menu bar: unticked 'Bookmarks'(as a result, Bookmarks menu disappeared)
view>customize buttons...>standard buttons>text options: choose 'selective text on right'

Frequently closing and restarting avant browser via File>exit couldn't reproduce this problem.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

creep
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:15 am
Windows Version: 7/64 - AMD A8 4.2GHz 8GB RAM
Avant Version: 2017 Build 07 Ultimate
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Dream
Location: England

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by creep » Mon Sep 10, 2012 9:32 am

Very odd !

I have just tested (quickly) 3 other PCs in this house and they do not have the problem either (2 are 64 bit, 1 is 32 - this one is 32)

I just tried uninstalling from Control Panel (only removing Avant itself - note that I re-built the profile from scratch last week), restarting, reinstalling 181 .... same issue.
It is very odd - and presumably I am not the only one with it as I did not start this thread.


I mentioned that the Selective Text option can make Bookmarks go away - however, I did not mention that, re-starting Avant makes Bookmarks come back again. So, in summary, I just cannot make Bookmarks go away.

All the things I reported last week are still true. However, as I said before, it is not a big deal ... and perhaps one day it will just start operating "normally" again.

creep
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:15 am
Windows Version: 7/64 - AMD A8 4.2GHz 8GB RAM
Avant Version: 2017 Build 07 Ultimate
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Dream
Location: England

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by creep » Wed Dec 12, 2012 5:15 pm

I've just put 2012 193 onto all 4 PCs and noticed that right now
both 64 bit machines correctly hide the Bookmarks menu option
both 32 bit machines just keep bringing it back - they put it back on the menu bar - and it ticks the box again !

This 32 bit I am sitting at has always been like this: the other one I don't usually use so I don't know how long (how many Avant versions) it as been doing the same.

Maybe, in the not too distant future, I will not have any 32 bit machines so it won't matter to me ...
But as I said previously, it is only a minor issue ...

Happy New Year ! :thumbup:

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by Jasmine » Thu Dec 13, 2012 4:08 am

I believe it has nothing to do with whether it's a 32 bit system since I mostly work on 32bit system. Maybe it's caused by other factors, just we haven't found them.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

Post Reply