some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by AEN007 » Tue Nov 15, 2011 10:59 pm

15November2011

Greetings.

AvB has already fixed numerous bugs in AvB2012.
It seems to me the focus bug should be a top priority for AvB ...

1) I have AvB set to open a certain home page when AvB starts.
I have AvB set to exit directly but not to clear Recent(ly) Closed Tabs.
I have AvB set to prompt when reopening tabs.
AvB should not prompt me to reopen any/every time I start AvB,
but AvB does prompt me to reopen - usually only the 1st time each day that I open AvB.
This seems like a bug to me.

2) The ALT key combos work erractically - unless the cursor is in the search box or address box.
If I hit ALT-Space for the Restore/Move/Minimize/Maximize/Close dialog, AvB often does not respond
- unless the cursor is in the search box or address box.
If I hit ALT-B for bookmarks, AvB often does not respond
- unless the cursor is in the search box or address box.
For some reason AvB always responds to ALT-S to go to the search box.
I often hit ALT-S and the ALT-whatever to avoid this focus problem.

3) On 1 of my XP laptops, I set AvB to not display Bookmarks in the menu,
but AvB always puts Bookmarks back in the menu.

4) The Gecko Flashblock 1.5.15.1 add-on does not seem to work properly.

5) The Gecko LastTab 3.0t3.1 Ctrl-Tab add-on does not work at all.

Maybe the AvB GUI conflicts with these/some Gecko add-ons?

6) When AvB is rendering IE(6), I cannot use TAB / SHIFT-TAB
to go between the main browsing section and the Search/Address boxes;
however, when AvB is rendering Gecko, I can go from the Search/Address boxes
to the main browsing section with the TAB key.
In MFF I can always use TAB / SHIFT-TAB to go between sections.

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by AEN007 » Tue Nov 15, 2011 11:18 pm

Is there no way to edit a post?
I also have not been able to make any mouse gestures work...

Julien90
Fan
Fan
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:33 am
Windows Version: win7 32 bit/IE9 xp pro
Avant Version: 2012 beta 8
IE Version: ie9

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by Julien90 » Wed Nov 16, 2011 1:55 pm

So many problems...
1) I have AvB set to open a certain home page when AvB starts.
I have AvB set to exit directly but not to clear Recent(ly) Closed Tabs.
I have AvB set to prompt when reopening tabs.
AvB should not prompt me to reopen any/every time I start AvB,
but AvB does prompt me to reopen - usually only the 1st time each day that I open AvB.
This seems like a bug to me.
Notice:
I have AvB set to prompt when reopening tabs.
that's why
AvB does prompt me to reopen
You have set it like that or you just typed wrong?

I don't have the alt key problem, I suggest you have your browser reinstalled since there are so many weird problem.

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by AEN007 » Wed Nov 16, 2011 6:39 pm

16November2011
Julien90 wrote:Notice:
I have AvB set to prompt when reopening tabs.
that's why
I suggest you have your browser reinstalled since there are so many weird problem.
It seems to me the situation is a bit more complicated that these replies acknowledge.

1) The problem is not that AvB prompts, the problem is that AvB reopens.
AvB does not reopen (& then prompt me) every time I start AvB -
usually only the first time each day that I start AvB.
Sometimes I close/restart AvB half a dozen times in a day.
AvB only ever reopens (& prompts) the first time each day I start AvB.
So, having "prompt on reopen" selected does not tell AvB to reopen.

From what I could tell, setting AvB to save all open tabs and then exit
would tell AvB to reopen every restart. I have AvB set to exit directly.
I'm guessing because AvB is set to NOT clear recenty closed tabs,
AvB sometimes (once a day ...) reopens (& prompts).
I have AvB set to open a certain home page when AvB starts,
so AvB should open my selected home page & not reopen (& therefore not prompt ...).

It would be nice if AvB could/would save all open tabs & NOT therefore automatically reopen
(with or without a prompt) each subsequent restart.
I have AvB set to NOT clear recently closed tabs on exit, so I could access them next restart.

2) I use the AvB USB version (as mentioned in posts elsewhere), so there is no reinstall to do.

Any helpful replies/insights on these or any of the other issues appreciated.

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by AXEMAN » Wed Nov 16, 2011 10:21 pm

AEN007 wrote:Is there no way to edit a post?
I also have not been able to make any mouse gestures work...

Hello AEN007 to edit a post you can edit but the option only works for 15 minutes starting right after the post. :)

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by bigC » Wed Nov 16, 2011 10:32 pm

AEN007 wrote:16November2011
Julien90 wrote:Notice:
I have AvB set to prompt when reopening tabs.
that's why
I suggest you have your browser reinstalled since there are so many weird problem.
It seems to me the situation is a bit more complicated that these replies acknowledge.

1) The problem is not that AvB prompts, the problem is that AvB reopens.
AvB does not reopen (& then prompt me) every time I start AvB -
usually only the first time each day that I start AvB.
Sometimes I close/restart AvB half a dozen times in a day.
AvB only ever reopens (& prompts) the first time each day I start AvB.
So, having "prompt on reopen" selected does not tell AvB to reopen.

From what I could tell, setting AvB to save all open tabs and then exit
would tell AvB to reopen every restart. I have AvB set to exit directly.
I'm guessing because AvB is set to NOT clear recenty closed tabs,
AvB sometimes (once a day ...) reopens (& prompts).
I have AvB set to open a certain home page when AvB starts,
so AvB should open my selected home page & not reopen (& therefore not prompt ...).

It would be nice if AvB could/would save all open tabs & NOT therefore automatically reopen
(with or without a prompt) each subsequent restart.
I have AvB set to NOT clear recently closed tabs on exit, so I could access them next restart.

2) I use the AvB USB version (as mentioned in posts elsewhere), so there is no reinstall to do.

Any helpful replies/insights on these or any of the other issues appreciated.
You might not be closing Avant each time, but rather minimizing it to the system tray. Go to Tools -> Avant Browser Options -> Tray Icon and make sure Minimize to system tray, when click [Close] button is not selected.

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by AEN007 » Wed Nov 16, 2011 11:20 pm

No offense, but I find the preceding post totally ridiculous -
the format and the content ...
I have never seen any point in quoting the entire preceding post like an email was being sent ...
Besides the fact that I would have to be clueless to not know if I was minimizing to the systrayicon,
AvB would not reopen tabs when being unminimized from the systrayicon

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by Jasmine » Thu Nov 17, 2011 4:17 am

AEN007 wrote: 1) I have AvB set to open a certain home page when AvB starts.
I have AvB set to exit directly but not to clear Recent(ly) Closed Tabs.-----Reopen box has nothing to do with the option "clear Recent(ly) Closed Tabs".
I have AvB set to prompt when reopening tabs.
AvB should not prompt me to reopen any/every time I start AvB,
but AvB does prompt me to reopen - usually only the 1st time each day that I open AvB.
This seems like a bug to me.
-----How did you exit avant browser?Make sure that you didn't close avant browser via File->Save all opened pages and exit.
By closing avant browser via file->exit, will the reopen box list the pages the last time you open?

2) The ALT key combos work erractically - unless the cursor is in the search box or address box.
If I hit ALT-Space for the Restore/Move/Minimize/Maximize/Close dialog, AvB often does not respond
- unless the cursor is in the search box or address box.
If I hit ALT-B for bookmarks, AvB often does not respond
- unless the cursor is in the search box or address box.
-----What system do above problems happen on? The same in latest avant bowser 2012 build 8? What's the default rendering engine(check by going to tools->default rendering engine)?
For some reason AvB always responds to ALT-S to go to the search box.-----If you want to save current page you have to use the combination ctrl-s
I often hit ALT-S and the ALT-whatever to avoid this focus problem.

3) On 1 of my XP laptops, I set AvB to not display Bookmarks in the menu,
but AvB always puts Bookmarks back in the menu.
-----What did you do to hide the bookmarks menu? By unticking View->Customize Buttons...->Menu Bar->Bookmarks?
4) The Gecko Flashblock 1.5.15.1 add-on does not seem to work properly.
-----Could you explain in detail where doesn't work properly.
5) The Gecko LastTab 3.0t3.1 Ctrl-Tab add-on does not work at all.
-----If the add-on is applied for the tab bar it's not supposed to work in avant as avant's tab bar is different from firefox's.
Maybe the AvB GUI conflicts with these/some Gecko add-ons?

6) When AvB is rendering IE(6), I cannot use TAB / SHIFT-TAB
to go between the main browsing section and the Search/Address boxes;
however, when AvB is rendering Gecko, I can go from the Search/Address boxes
to the main browsing section with the TAB key.
In MFF I can always use TAB / SHIFT-TAB to go between sections.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by AEN007 » Sun Nov 20, 2011 4:26 pm

20November2011
Greetings.
So far I'm not impressed with the results of registering/posting here @ Avant.
I've only been responding to off-the-mark (or off-the-wall) responses.
Whether Avant does anything constructive in response to my posting(s) is up to Avant.
Jasmine wrote:-----Reopen box has nothing to do with the option "clear Recent(ly) Closed Tabs".
I was giving complete info & my "Clear Recent(ly) Closed Tabs" setting is relevant to various issues.
Jasmine wrote:-----How did you exit avant browser?Make sure that you didn't close avant browser via File->Save all opened pages and exit.
If you read/understood my previous posting, this question would not have been asked.
Jasmine wrote:By closing avant browser via file->exit, will the reopen box list the pages the last time you open?
So far I have not seen any relationship between how I exit (and as I already posted I do not save all open pages)
and AvB reopening (& prompting). The only pattern I have seen is that, if it happens,
it happens only the first time each day that I open AvB (as I have stated now several times).
Jasmine wrote:-----What system do above problems happen on? The same in latest avant bowser 2012 build 8? What's the default rendering engine(check by going to tools->default rendering engine)?
My profile lists the OS & AvB version. I have Gecko set as the default,
but AvB has had this ALT key problem even when AvB only did IE.
Jasmine wrote:-----If you want to save current page you have to use the combination ctrl-s
I have no idea why you are writing about Ctrl-S.
I was simply stating that even the ALT key functions erratically, the ALT-S combo to go to the search box ALWAYS works ...
Jasmine wrote:-----What did you do to hide the bookmarks menu? By unticking View->Customize Buttons...->Menu Bar->Bookmarks?
Yes.
Jasmine wrote:-----Could you explain in detail where doesn't work properly.
I think AvB should try out this FlashBlock add-on with a normal MFF browser & compare it with AvB2012.
Jasmine wrote:-----If the add-on is applied for the tab bar it's not supposed to work in avant as avant's tab bar is different from firefox's.
The Gecko LastTab 3.0t3.1 Ctrl-Tab add-on has nothing to do with the tab bar.
The Gecko LastTab 3.0t3.1 Ctrl-Tab add-on gives Gecko an MRU Ctrl-Tab popup for switching tabs.
As I posted elsewhere, I think AvB should dump the "Translate" page menu item(s) and
should develop an MRU Ctrl-Tab popup for switching tabs of its own.

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by AEN007 » Sat Nov 26, 2011 3:45 pm

26November2011

See»eng.lng
regarding what seems to be a bug with the eng.lng file in the AvB USB package.
It seems that - MAYBE - this eng.lng file bug has ALSO been causing the ALT key combo problems I've described here ...

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by AEN007 » Wed Nov 30, 2011 7:31 pm

30November2011

Greetings.
This week I added the DefaultFullZoomLevel extension to my local/portable MFF 8.01 install -
mainly because DFZL has a Fit to Width option.
I then tried DFZL on my local/portable AvB 2012ß8,
but DFZL does not work on my local/portable AvB 2012ß8.

Running Firefox under AvB is of limited value if extensions don't/won't work.

I then tried the AvB built-in zoom funciton on some Gecko rendered webpages,
but AvB built-in zoom only seems to work on IE/Trident rendered webpages.

Running Firefox under AvB is of even less value if AvB GUI options don't/won't work.

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by AEN007 » Mon Jan 02, 2012 5:20 pm

[/quote]
AEN007 wrote:4) The Gecko Flashblock 1.5.15.1 add-on does not seem to work properly.
Maybe the AvB GUI conflicts with these/some Gecko add-ons?
Jasmine wrote:-----Could you explain in detail where doesn't work properly.
I think AvB should try out this FlashBlock add-on with a normal MFF browser & compare it with AvB2012.
I have always had the Avant GUI option "Disable Flash animations" selected.
When I deselect that GUI option, the MFF FlashBlock plugin seems to work properly.
It would be nice if Avant could treat IE rendered flash objects the same way
the MFF FlashBlock plugin does; i.e., disable all flash objects by default but
allow selectively viewing any flash object ... instead of only an all-or-nothing en/dis/able setting ...

I would still REALLY like to find out why zooming does not work at all for me on Gecko rendered tabs.

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by AEN007 » Tue Jan 03, 2012 8:58 am

AEN007 wrote:I would still REALLY like to find out why zooming does not work at all
for me on Gecko rendered tabs.
This morning I seem to have solved this problem as well ...

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by AEN007 » Sat Jan 21, 2012 10:46 am

Starting with AvB2012.18 there is a new bug.
Sometimes for some unknown reason, ALL open tabs will turn GREY and say,
An error occured loading this page. To continue, click the [Refresh] button or close this page.

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by AEN007 » Thu Jan 26, 2012 9:27 am

2012January26
My previous post remains an issue.
In addition I have been experiencing the following»
After I click on a link, AvB usually -
only opens a new about:blank tab that is grey and has the same error message; &
turns all other open tabs grey with the same error message;
THEN, when I go back to the tab where I clicked the link
and hit F5 for refresh, AvB CLOSES that tab!
Great fun this is (NOT) ...

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by Jasmine » Sun Jan 29, 2012 9:18 am

Could you tell how often it appears per day?
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by Jasmine » Tue Jan 31, 2012 5:34 am

AEN007 wrote:2012January26
My previous post remains an issue.
In addition I have been experiencing the following»
After I click on a link, AvB usually -
only opens a new about:blank tab that is grey and has the same error message; &
turns all other open tabs grey with the same error message;
THEN, when I go back to the tab where I clicked the link
and hit F5 for refresh, AvB CLOSES that tab!
Great fun this is (NOT) ...
So the moment you open a link into a new tab, all page trun grey, right? Is it the same when setting ie or firefox as the default rendering engine?

Is there other situation that caused the grey page in latest build? BTW, please try this version(Avant Browser 2012 Ultimate pre-alpha 113 ):
http://dl.filekicker.com/send/file/1422 ... abbeta.exe
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by AEN007 » Sun Feb 19, 2012 4:31 pm

19February2012

Greetings.
AEN007 wrote:1) I have AvB set to open a certain home page when AvB starts.
I have AvB set to exit directly but not to clear Recent(ly) Closed Tabs.
I have AvB set to prompt when reopening tabs.
AvB should not prompt me to reopen any/every time I start AvB,
but AvB does prompt me to reopen - usually only the 1st time each day that I open AvB.
This seems like a bug to me.
I have AvB set to open a certain home page each time I open AvB.
AvB still (once a day - the first time each day) launches the REOPEN popup.
I don't know if that is by design or a bug but
DO NOT WANT to continue to constantly/regularly see this undesired popup.

What has to be done to have AvB open my specified home page EVERY TIME
without constantly/regularly seeing this undesired popup?
AEN007 wrote:6) When AvB is rendering IE(6), I cannot use TAB / SHIFT-TAB
to go between the main browsing section and the Search/Address boxes;
however, when AvB is rendering Gecko, I can go from the Search/Address boxes
to the main browsing section with the TAB key.
In MFF I can always use TAB / SHIFT-TAB to go between sections.
This issue remains as well ...

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by hornakapopolis » Sun Feb 19, 2012 5:41 pm

First, it's a shame there aren't rules here regarding placing single issues under single topics. This thread is a bit of a mess.

I've been running into what might be a similar regarding a dialog I've been seeing on occasionally restart, but haven't been sure if it's an Avant dialog or a Chrome or Firefox dialog I've turned off ages ago in their individual browsers. Is the dialog you're getting stating it wants to restore a session or is it giving you the option to reopen individual (or all) tabs?

User avatar
AEN007
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 4:47 pm
Windows Version: XP
Avant Version: latest/current USB v
IE Version: 6 (won't up to 8)

Re: some AvB2012 Bugs I've found

Post by AEN007 » Sun Feb 19, 2012 7:09 pm

19February2012

In my opinion it is shame that forum "somebodies" are often
obsessed with keeping the forum to be what they consider "tidy"
instead of finding answers / resolving issues.

If AvB finds this thread a mess, then I don't give AvB much of a chance
of successfully developing a tri-core browser/GUI.
If I don't follow the RULES (which I have/will never read),
then maybe AvB should BAN ME FOR LIFE.
Maybe that would greatly improve the fortunes of those in the AvB universe.

I have already posted considerable detail about this "Re-Open" popup.
It is a popup of the AvB GUI»
WinTitle: "Re-Open"
WinClass: "TfrmReOpen.UnicodeClass"
WinText: "Open extra home pages
Open all items under [AutoFill Startup]
Open home page
OK
Invert Selection
Cancel
Select All"

This popup ALWAYS appears if the following 2 AvB options are enabled»
"Automatically save all opened tabs"
&
"Display confirmation when opening saved pages"

I have previously posted regarding my various/relevant settings.
I have AvB set to Exit directly but also have "Display confirmation ..." enabled;
otherwise AvB would (once a day @ the first launch of each day)
automatically reopen all tabs that were open at the previous AvB shutdown
instead of prompting for confirmation to Re-Open ...

It seems to me that maybe AvB thought it would be clever to have AvB
do something special on the first launch of each new day ...
instead of just doing what the user configured AvB to do ...

Post Reply