Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage...

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1442
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by Dreamer » Sat Dec 03, 2011 4:13 pm

It happened when loading video and it's freezing, I click the video or buttons below the video few times, I try to change tabs, after few seconds of freezing, whole Avant window is not responding, then grey pages appear.

BTW my config again:

Hardware: CPU Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3GHz, RAM 4GB, GPU GeForce 8800GT 512MB, Audio X-Fi Titanium, HDD1 WD 640GB, HDD2 WD 640GB, DVB-S2 card Skystar HD2, DVB-S card SkyStar 2 r2.3, Monitor Samsung 215TW 21"...
Software: OS Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit SP2, DirectX 10, ForceWare 266.58, IE9, AIMP, Ashampoo Burning Studio, Avant Browser Ultimate USB, avast! Antivirus, AviDemux, Comodo Firewall, CyberLink PowerDirector, DVB Dream, FFDShow, Foxit Reader, FreeCommander, HotkeyP, IZArc, Media Player Classic, OpenOffice.org, Orca Browser, Photofiltre, PSPad Editor, PTBSync, Skype, Spybot, TeamViewer, Trillian, TrueCrypt, VirtualDub, VLC, Xnview, ZipGenius...
Dreamer

User avatar
notestracker
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:02 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
Avant Version: 2012 Ult. build 197
Default engine: Mozilla Firefox
IE Version: 10.0
Skin: AthenX
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by notestracker » Sun Dec 04, 2011 7:18 am

Dreamer wrote:It happened when loading video and it's freezing, I click the video or buttons below the video few times, I try to change tabs, after few seconds of freezing, whole Avant window is not responding, then grey pages appear
Similar happens for me, the whole Avant window freezes then all tabs show the grey pages with that error message. However, I cannot pin it down to occurring when I try to do anything specific (such as loading a video in a tab).

In fact, it sometimes happens all when I don't even have the main Avant window in focus, which is ehat leads me to suspect some unhandled interaction between the Avant renderer [Firefox in my case] and something outside Avant which might be what's happening at that moment in the Firefox window, but could be anything else at all and I just can't yet see any pattern to it. Like you, I have tons and tons of applications installed and quite a few tasks running in Windows at any point in time. ... Puzzling.
Tony Austin
CEO, Asia/Pacific Computer Services
http://notestracker.com/ and http://notestracker.net/

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1442
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by Dreamer » Mon Dec 05, 2011 3:10 pm

Right now - just few seconds freeing, no grey pages when loading this page, while about 15 tabs are opened already:

Code: Select all

http://www.orangedarceky.sk/
Dreamer

Julien90
Fan
Fan
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:33 am
Windows Version: win7 32 bit/IE9 xp pro
Avant Version: 2012 beta 8
IE Version: ie9

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by Julien90 » Tue Dec 06, 2011 2:53 am

Is it related with the version of Adobe flash player you installed?

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1442
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by Dreamer » Tue Dec 06, 2011 4:54 pm

Hm.. it should be the latest all the time, I'm using auto-update.
Dreamer

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1442
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by Dreamer » Fri Dec 09, 2011 10:47 am

Grey pages again when playing this flash game:

http://www.mitsubishimotors.sk/zabava/index.xhtml

Press the blue play button "Hrat" - it's official Mitsubishi Slovak site.
Dreamer

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by MysteryFCM » Fri Dec 09, 2011 7:48 pm

Happened again whilst I was away, I was asleep at the time, and when I woke up, all tabs had the lovely grey page proclaiming something went wrong - didn't say what, but all 5 rows of tabs had the same thing (machine wasn't doing anything, wasn't in hibernation, and wasn't in sleep mode - was just sitting there minding its own business).

User avatar
notestracker
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:02 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
Avant Version: 2012 Ult. build 197
Default engine: Mozilla Firefox
IE Version: 10.0
Skin: AthenX
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by notestracker » Fri Dec 09, 2011 10:12 pm

Dreamer wrote:Grey pages again when playing this flash game:
http://www.mitsubishimotors.sk/zabava/index.xhtml
Press the blue play button "Hrat" - it's official Mitsubishi Slovak site.
Dreamer, I tried this game for a short while (could not work out how to play it) and did not get they grey windows error in that time.

Perhaps you're running into graphics problems system-wide, it is worth checking. Under Windows Task Manager add the two columns for "GDI Objects" and "User Objects" and click the column header to show largest value art top. On occasions I have suffered badly from GDI Objects exceeding the default limit of (I think) 10,000 objects. (The user objects limit causes few problems, it seems.) Is your total of GDI Objects anywhere near this limit? I have a program for supporting 5.1 channel sound called VIA HD Audio Deck that runs a task VDeck.exe that uses up well over 9,000 GDI Objects all by itself, so these days I stop it from loading automatically.

There are articles that show you how to edit the Registry to increase this to (I think, for Vista) around 16,000 graphics objects which I found helped make the problem go away. I'm running Windows 7 which supposedly suffers less from this issue, and anyway I'm not saying that running out of GDI Object space is causing this "grey pages" problem with Avant, just that it MIGHT be and therefore should be examined so that it can be crossed off the list.
Tony Austin
CEO, Asia/Pacific Computer Services
http://notestracker.com/ and http://notestracker.net/

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1442
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by Dreamer » Sat Dec 10, 2011 12:11 am

notestracker wrote:Perhaps you're running into graphics problems system-wide, it is worth checking. Under Windows Task Manager add the two columns for "GDI Objects" and "User Objects" and click the column header to show largest value art top.
Thanks for the hint, but I couldn't find it, could you tell me how to add those 2 columns please?

BTW regarding the grey pages problem - perhaps it might be the spell checker - sometimes I'm using the Slovak language which has much more words than English, but I'm not the only one with this bug so I don't know...
Dreamer

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by MysteryFCM » Sat Dec 10, 2011 12:14 am

Not likely to be the spell checker - I don't use one and have that problem.

As it happens when Avant isn't being used as well, it's likely something Avant is doing to perhaps keep track of open pages and their content? Caching maybe? (don't deal with the internals of Avant so can only speculate).

User avatar
notestracker
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:02 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
Avant Version: 2012 Ult. build 197
Default engine: Mozilla Firefox
IE Version: 10.0
Skin: AthenX
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by notestracker » Sat Dec 10, 2011 12:32 am

Dreamer wrote:Thanks for the hint, but I couldn't find it, could you tell me how to add those 2 columns please?
In Windows Task Manager go to View | Select Columns... and then select "GDI Objects" (and perhaps also "USER Objects" although this may not be having much effect on your Vista system resources). You can get some idea of what this means by browsing the articles found by a search like this: https://www.google.com/search?q=GDI+Obj ... rce+limits
Dreamer wrote:BTW regarding the grey pages problem - perhaps it might be the spell checker - sometimes I'm using the Slovak language which has much more words than English, but I'm not the only one with this bug so I don't know...
Like MysteryFCM, I doubt if the spell checker is causing this problem (but then again, anything is possible).
Tony Austin
CEO, Asia/Pacific Computer Services
http://notestracker.com/ and http://notestracker.net/

User avatar
notestracker
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:02 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
Avant Version: 2012 Ult. build 197
Default engine: Mozilla Firefox
IE Version: 10.0
Skin: AthenX
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by notestracker » Sat Dec 10, 2011 12:44 am

MysteryFCM wrote:As it happens when Avant isn't being used as well, it's likely something Avant is doing to perhaps keep track of open pages and their content? Caching maybe? (don't deal with the internals of Avant so can only speculate).
I have a "gut feel" -- just a suspicion, a wild guess, or like you mere speculation -- that it might be something more general and have something to do at a fundamental level with the way that Avant paints and maintains the content of the central frame. This would include how it keeps constant track of the contents of each tab in that frame (including background refreshes when things like Flash are running, but not only Flash).

I've found other issues, apart from the "grey page" error that's the subject of this forum thread, with the way that the central frame seems to misbehave at times. I can elaborate on these, but won't for the moment unless asked.
Tony Austin
CEO, Asia/Pacific Computer Services
http://notestracker.com/ and http://notestracker.net/

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1442
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by Dreamer » Sat Dec 10, 2011 1:31 pm

[quote="notestracker"]In Windows Task Manager go to View | Select Columns... and then select "GDI Objects" (and perhaps also "USER Objects" although this may not be having much effect on your Vista system resources).[/url]
Thanks, I'm blind. So firefox.exe (actually Avant) is using(?) 4649 GDI objects, avant.exe 870, together with the other programs it might be 10 000 - is it a problem?
Dreamer

User avatar
notestracker
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:02 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
Avant Version: 2012 Ult. build 197
Default engine: Mozilla Firefox
IE Version: 10.0
Skin: AthenX
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by notestracker » Sat Dec 10, 2011 2:11 pm

It might or might not be a problem, Dreamer. It's rather hard to say, just one of a number of things that might be contributing.
Tony Austin
CEO, Asia/Pacific Computer Services
http://notestracker.com/ and http://notestracker.net/

lefreak
Fan
Fan
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:52 pm
Windows Version: 7 Pro SP1 64-bit
Avant Version: Ultimate 2017 Build 2
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 9
Skin: Windows Traditional

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by lefreak » Sun Dec 11, 2011 6:14 pm

Julien90 wrote:
I tend to leave Avant open all the time, sometimes for days on end (putting Windows into Sleep mode rather than shutting down, which may or may not be relevant).
That may be the cause. Is there enough Memory available when the web pages crash?

The same happens to me sometimes only 30 - 60 minutes after starting Avant Browser. Bug confirmed.
No other software running in background, apart from Avira Free and ClipCache.

Avant Ultimate 2012 Build 8. Latest Flash version with Flash disabled in Avant

User avatar
notestracker
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:02 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
Avant Version: 2012 Ult. build 197
Default engine: Mozilla Firefox
IE Version: 10.0
Skin: AthenX
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by notestracker » Sun Dec 11, 2011 9:05 pm

Like Julien90, I also prefer to keep Windows running for days at a time and going into sleep mode at times.

I have 8 GB of physical RAM installed, and there's always 2 to 3 GB of free RAM (when Windows 7 came out, I moved from 32-bit Windows XP to 64-bit Windows 7 to achieve support beyond 4 GB). So in my case physical RAM isn't the problem, but other Windows limits can cause problems to arise -- such as the limits on the number of GDI objects -- depending on the version (Vista or 7) the limits change as they gradually.

I have suffered from GDI object limits being reached, which can cause a program (like Avant) to crash or show strange behavior and can also can cause strange effects on other programs. But I'm still only surmising about GDI Objects being one possible cause of the "grey tabs" error being discussed in this thread.
Tony Austin
CEO, Asia/Pacific Computer Services
http://notestracker.com/ and http://notestracker.net/

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1442
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by Dreamer » Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:01 pm

Now I can always reproduce this issue - "Something went wrong with this webpage" grey pages for all tabs on this page:

http://bonusweb.idnes.cz/akcni-zavody-f ... ecenze_das

To reproduce scroll down to rating (%), move the yellow slider to 0% and click the OK button.

AB Ultimate 2012 build 18 USB, FF engine, Windows Vista HP SP2 32 bit.
Dreamer

AbelAbel
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:11 am
Windows Version: win7
Avant Version: 2012 beta 8
IE Version: ie9

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by AbelAbel » Fri Jan 20, 2012 1:17 am

Move the yellow slider to 0% and click the OK button, it just pops up a small window and nothing happens.

User avatar
notestracker
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:02 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
Avant Version: 2012 Ult. build 197
Default engine: Mozilla Firefox
IE Version: 10.0
Skin: AthenX
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by notestracker » Fri Jan 20, 2012 10:04 am

AbelAbel wrote:Move the yellow slider to 0% and click the OK button, it just pops up a small window and nothing happens.
I get the same small window pop-up.
Tony Austin
CEO, Asia/Pacific Computer Services
http://notestracker.com/ and http://notestracker.net/

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1442
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Occasional error: Something went wrong with this webpage

Post by Dreamer » Fri Jan 20, 2012 12:24 pm

OK, now it works here too, but yesterday I could always reproduce it that way, with the same settings, add-ons...

Probably it has something to do with the GDI objects (more above). :think:
Dreamer

Post Reply