Empty page when opening link in background

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1441
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Empty page when opening link in background

Post by Dreamer » Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:29 am

This is a bug #3 from another topic, but it's a different - new bug, not related with the flash issue, so I have started this topic.

To reproduce this bug:

- open AB forum site (or another site, probably it's not important)
- open link / topic using drag and drop feature or middle click (it must be opened in background)
- activate the other opened tab using F8 or clicking the tab
= result is the empty /white page!

I can reproduce this bug in about 9 of 10 attempts.

Using AB Ultimate 2012 build 7 USB portable version, FF engine, Windows Vista HP SP2.
Dreamer

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Empty page when opening link in background

Post by xiaobing » Mon Nov 14, 2011 1:40 pm

That is if you open a link in new tab & backgroud, this link will show blank?

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1441
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Empty page when opening link in background

Post by Dreamer » Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:07 am

Yes, and if opened some page with the flash content ( e.g. http://www.fony.sk/ - sometimes also youtube video), then the page is not empty, also the flash banners are displayed, more here:

http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic ... 79#p179738

I can always reproduce this but and very often with the other pages with the flash content.

I'm using the option: "enable mouse super drag and drop..." in the background.

If you can't reproduce this bug, please let me know, I'll provide more info. I can reproduce it with IE and FF, but I'm using FF by default - more often.
Dreamer

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: Empty page when opening link in background

Post by Jasmine » Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:12 am

Is anything downloading in the background when Avant opens blank page?
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1441
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Empty page when opening link in background

Post by Dreamer » Tue Nov 15, 2011 10:44 am

No, but I can reproduce it now always the second time, so I need to drag the link, activate new opened tab, close it, go back, open the same link the same way (super drag), activate opened tab - empty page (with flash content) is opened.
Dreamer

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1441
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Empty page when opening link in background

Post by Dreamer » Wed Nov 16, 2011 1:14 pm

In build 8 it's NOT fixed, but instead of empty white page there is another grey page with the text:

"Something went wrong with this webpage..."
Dreamer

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1441
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Empty page when opening link in background

Post by Dreamer » Sat Nov 19, 2011 10:58 pm

I think I got it, I can't reproduce this bug if AERO is disabled, so try to enable AERO on Windows Vista (32 bit, SP2).

When I have enabled AERO, I had few empty pages with the flash content immediately, this time the pages were transparent - I could see the desktop!
Dreamer

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Empty page when opening link in background

Post by MysteryFCM » Mon Nov 21, 2011 12:58 am

Similar thing here.

4 rows of tabs, Avant has only been open a few hours (less than 6). Tabs have been created and closed numerous times since.

Existing tabs are still usable, but new tabs stay blank, they don't even try loading anything, regardless of whether it's from trying to load a link in a new tab, or entering a URL straight into the address bar.

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1441
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Empty page when opening link in background

Post by Dreamer » Mon Nov 21, 2011 11:08 am

If you click the bad tab(s), are they OK then?

Here if I click the tab first time, there is just empty page (white, grey, or transparent - with or without flash), but if I click the tab again, it's OK...

...If all tabs are broken, then there are grey pages with the error message and it's unable to refresh them separately.

Anyway - I'm testing Avant with Aero disabled and I couldn't reproduce any of the similar bugs reported by me, except "white pixels" bug.
Dreamer

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Empty page when opening link in background

Post by MysteryFCM » Mon Nov 21, 2011 5:29 pm

Clicking tabs makes no difference - but curiously, I'm only seeing this when it's using the Trident engine so far. Not sure if that's related, am doing more testing.

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1441
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Empty page when opening link in background

Post by Dreamer » Mon Nov 21, 2011 6:33 pm

Hm.. what about Aero? I'm testing with Aero disabled more than 24 hours now and it's OK, with Aero enabled I could reproduce this bug and few others several times in just few hours, so I think it's the main reason of those bugs - could anyone else test it with Aero disabled/enabled?
Dreamer

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Empty page when opening link in background

Post by MysteryFCM » Mon Nov 21, 2011 6:40 pm

I'm not using Aero ;)

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1441
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Empty page when opening link in background

Post by Dreamer » Tue Nov 22, 2011 11:23 pm

Now I really think I got it! I think it has something to do with the graphic card hardware acceleration, it's the reason why only some users have this problem, my results of several days testing on 3 different computers:

COMP1: CPU Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3GHz, RAM 4GB, GPU GeForce 8800GT 512MB, Windows Vista HP SP2 32 bit
COMP2: CPU AMD 1.8GHz, 1GB RAM, FF engine, Windows XP 32 bit
COMP3: Notebook DELL Studio 1535, Intel Dual CPU 1.86GHz, RAM 2GB, GPU Mobile Intel 965 (internal), Windows Vista HP SP2 32 bit

AB version: AB Ultimate 2012 build 8 USB portable version, FF engine

Now the results, YES - means I can reproduce the bug, NO - means I can't reproduce the bug, in this ordder (COMP1, COMP2, COMP3):

- If Aero is disabled: NO, NO, NO
- If Aero is enabled and FF HW acceleration is enabled: YES, NO, NO
- If Aero is enabled and FF HW acceleration is disabled: NO, NO, NO

So I can reproduce this bug only if Aero is enabled and FF HW acceleration is enabled and only on computer #1 with GeForce gr. card.

So if anyone has this bug, here's the tip how to disable FF HW acceleration:

Menu > Tools > Mozilla FIrefox > Options > Advanced > General > [ ] Use hardware acceleration when available.

Please report your graphic card and if this tip helped to solve your problem. Thanks.

BTW I can reproduce this bug also with IE engine, I'll try to find out how to disable HW acceleration there.
Dreamer

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1441
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Empty page when opening link in background

Post by Dreamer » Tue Nov 22, 2011 11:35 pm

I couldn't update my post, so...

...If you're using IE, here's the workaround (for IE9, might be different for older versions):

Menu > Tools > Internet Explorer > Internet Options > Advanced > [x] Use software rendering instead of GPU rendering* (need to restart AB!)
Dreamer

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Empty page when opening link in background

Post by xiaobing » Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:43 am

:thumbup:

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1441
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Empty page when opening link in background

Post by Dreamer » Mon Jan 30, 2012 6:50 pm

I can still reproduce this bug in build 21.

Perhaps it's related with the grey pages issue - more here:

http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=30703
Dreamer

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Empty page when opening link in background

Post by MysteryFCM » Mon Jan 30, 2012 8:43 pm

No improvement in Pre-Alpha 113 either (if anything, with 7 rows of tabs, it's happening more often - need 'em all for work and investigations though)

Dreamer
Avantic Deluxe
Avantic Deluxe
Posts: 1441
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:17 pm
Windows Version: 10 64-bit
Avant Version: 2019 Build 2 USB
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11.51.14393.0
Skin: Dream

Re: Empty page when opening link in background

Post by Dreamer » Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:23 pm

Do you mean white page, or grey pages bug? Are you using FF or IE/IE9 engine?

I can always reproduce this white page bug. Grey pages is random bug, it's happening more often when playing flash games and probably also if more tabs are opened.
Dreamer

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Empty page when opening link in background

Post by MysteryFCM » Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:30 pm

I'm referring to the grey pages.

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: Empty page when opening link in background

Post by Jasmine » Tue Jan 31, 2012 3:42 am

Dreamer wrote:This is a bug #3 from another topic, but it's a different - new bug, not related with the flash issue, so I have started this topic.

To reproduce this bug:

- open AB forum site (or another site, probably it's not important)
- open link / topic using drag and drop feature or middle click (it must be opened in background)
- activate the other opened tab using F8 or clicking the tab
= result is the empty /white page!

I can reproduce this bug in about 9 of 10 attempts.

Using AB Ultimate 2012 build 7 USB portable version, FF engine, Windows Vista HP SP2.
The address bar shows about:blank or the url? If it shows url, refreshing can reload the page?

Disable aero theme and FF HW acceleration, the problem doesn't happen?
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

Post Reply