Possible Memory Leak?

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
AmericanJedi001
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 11:09 pm
Windows Version: Win 7 Pro x64, fully patched
Avant Version: 2012 build 3
IE Version: IE 9, fully patched

Possible Memory Leak?

Post by AmericanJedi001 » Mon Oct 31, 2011 12:18 am

On two occasions AVG Anti-Virus has warned me about AB consuming relatively large amounts of RAM. I don't remember exactly what the first amount was, but I believe it was over 400 MB, while this second warning was 265 MB. I'm pretty sure it specifically mentioned "Mozilla Firefox," which is the rendering mode I'm using. I checked with Process Explorer as I type this, and I'm currently showing firefox.exe is using 231 MB with three tabs open.

I've never had memory usage warnings until I switched to AB 2012 build 3 (the only 2012 build I've used) and started using the Firefox render mode. I've used probably 15 different previous versions of AB, up to 2011 build 33, and never had this issue.

Running AB 2012 build 3 on Win 7 Pro x64, 6 GB RAM, i7-920 processor. If you need any logs or dumps or anything, let me know.

AmericanJedi001
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 11:09 pm
Windows Version: Win 7 Pro x64, fully patched
Avant Version: 2012 build 3
IE Version: IE 9, fully patched

Re: Possible Memory Leak?

Post by AmericanJedi001 » Mon Oct 31, 2011 12:25 am

On further investigation, it appears the site battlelog.battlefield.com/bf3/ is consuming a large amount of RAM. It's a very complex site, with stat tracking and a built-in chat client and game launcher for the EA / DICE game Battlefield 3.

Be aware that I did not have any warnings when rendering the page with AB 2011 build 33 (therefore rendering in IE 7 or 9).

AbelAbel
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:11 am
Windows Version: win7
Avant Version: 2012 beta 8
IE Version: ie9

Re: Possible Memory Leak?

Post by AbelAbel » Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:35 am

Have you tested whether firefox 8.0 beta 4 got the same warning? Some sites do cause serious memory leak, yahoo mail for instance.

AmericanJedi001
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 11:09 pm
Windows Version: Win 7 Pro x64, fully patched
Avant Version: 2012 build 3
IE Version: IE 9, fully patched

Re: Possible Memory Leak?

Post by AmericanJedi001 » Tue Nov 01, 2011 7:44 am

No, I have never gotten into using Firefox--the only reason I happened to switch when AB 2012 build 3 was released was because a site I recently joined would not render correctly with IE 7 /9 rendering. I may experiment with FF 8.0 beta 4 later, but not this morning: it's bedtime!

mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: Possible Memory Leak?

Post by mbrazil » Tue Nov 01, 2011 8:04 am

AbelAbel wrote:Have you tested whether firefox 8.0 beta 4 got the same warning? Some sites do cause serious memory leak, yahoo mail for instance.
FWIW, I was using Orca for quite a while before I started running the AB 2012 betas. Orca hasn't been updated in a long time, so it's still using a much older version of the Firefox Gecko engine. While Avant 2012 B3 still uses a considerable amount of memory with the Firefox 8 engine, it's also using considerably less than Orca was. I haven't run Avant 2012 very much with the either of the IE engines, but from what I can remember when I was using them during the beta before the Firefox engine was merged in, there wasn't a very significant difference in memory usage between the Trident (IE) engines and the Gecko (Firefox) engine.

Julien90
Fan
Fan
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:33 am
Windows Version: win7 32 bit/IE9 xp pro
Avant Version: 2012 beta 8
IE Version: ie9

Re: Possible Memory Leak?

Post by Julien90 » Wed Nov 02, 2011 2:15 am

Yep, if you use other browser , you will find they also take much Memory too. Compared with them Avant is much better. :lol:

mbrazil
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 10:04 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2015 Ultimate Build 28
Default engine: Gecko (Firefox)
IE Version: 10
Skin: Monai XP
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Re: Possible Memory Leak?

Post by mbrazil » Wed Nov 02, 2011 6:05 am

Julien90 wrote:Yep, if you use other browser , you will find they also take much Memory too. Compared with them Avant is much better. :lol:
Another FWIW: I run CleanMem and have it set to reclaim memory every 15 minutes. It does make a difference, and it doesn't cause any problems. I've watched the memory consumption of firefox.exe (the one that's part of Avant) when CleanMem reclaims memory, and I've seen it drop as much as around 300 MB (with no detriment to Avant). It does start to climb back up right away, but it usually doesn't climb back to the previous usage level for quite a while, depending on how much I use Avant in the interim, what sites I visit, etc.

Post Reply