Rendering mode changing itself

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
brawnymike
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:17 pm
Windows Version: 7 (32 bit)
Avant Version: Ult 2013 bld 23
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 10
Skin: Aero Glass
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Rendering mode changing itself

Post by brawnymike » Thu Oct 27, 2011 6:52 pm

(This is a follow-up to what I discovered while investigating my problem at http://forum.avantbrowser.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=30572)

After discovering I was (inadvertently) in Mozilla standards mode, I assumed it had been that way since the moment I installed AB Ult. 2012 build 3. So, I changed my rendering mode (under Tools --> Avant Browser Options) to IE 9 Standards mode, closed the session of Avant Browser, and re-launched Avant Browser.

After doing so, I was in IE 9 Standards mode according to all indications (under Tools --> Avant Browser Options, and when clicking on the arrowhead on the right side of the "Go" button). Unfortunately, when I happened to check Tools --> Default Rendering Engine, it indicated I was in Mozilla mode. So, now I've changed that to IE 9 Standards mode, too. Thus far, I never intentionally work in Mozilla mode, so please explain to me why/how I should have differing results (on the same webpage) between what displays at Tools --> Avant Browser Options --> Rendering Engine and what displays at Tools --> Default Rendering Engine.

User avatar
brawnymike
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:17 pm
Windows Version: 7 (32 bit)
Avant Version: Ult 2013 bld 23
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 10
Skin: Aero Glass
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Rendering mode changing itself

Post by brawnymike » Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:18 pm

Just a few minutes after my last post, and I've just noticed AB has--AGAIN!--reset itself to Mozilla rendering mode.

Also, after my last post, I specifically added *.avantbrowser.com to my list as specific-and-always IE 9 mode. Nonetheless, that has also changed itself to "IE compatible", so I've just changed it AGAIN.

This is very annoying.

User avatar
brawnymike
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:17 pm
Windows Version: 7 (32 bit)
Avant Version: Ult 2013 bld 23
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 10
Skin: Aero Glass
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Rendering mode changing itself

Post by brawnymike » Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:19 pm

AND, now, when I click "Submit" after composing a reply in this forum, it submits the Reply AND drops me into a new "compose a reply" window in the same thread.

What's up with that?

User avatar
brawnymike
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:17 pm
Windows Version: 7 (32 bit)
Avant Version: Ult 2013 bld 23
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 10
Skin: Aero Glass
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Rendering mode changing itself

Post by brawnymike » Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:41 pm

And ... again ... AB switched its default rendering mode.

So, I've just installed the non-Ultimate version (AB 2012 build 3) until you get this bug worked out.

Nikata
Fan
Fan
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 2:16 am
Windows Version: XP SP3
Avant Version: 2010 build 16
IE Version: 8

Re: Rendering mode changing itself

Post by Nikata » Fri Oct 28, 2011 2:33 am

brawnymike wrote:AND, now, when I click "Submit" after composing a reply in this forum, it submits the Reply AND drops me into a new "compose a reply" window in the same thread.

What's up with that?
You may click Preview instead of Submit

Nikata
Fan
Fan
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 2:16 am
Windows Version: XP SP3
Avant Version: 2010 build 16
IE Version: 8

Re: Rendering mode changing itself

Post by Nikata » Fri Oct 28, 2011 2:34 am

brawnymike wrote:AND, now, when I click "Submit" after composing a reply in this forum, it submits the Reply AND drops me into a new "compose a reply" window in the same thread.

What's up with that?
You may clicked Preview instead of Submit

User avatar
brawnymike
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:17 pm
Windows Version: 7 (32 bit)
Avant Version: Ult 2013 bld 23
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 10
Skin: Aero Glass
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Rendering mode changing itself

Post by brawnymike » Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:32 pm

Even with plain AB (for IE) installed, my default rendering mode refuses to stick. The only choices are IE compatible and IE 9 Standards, and the latter is my preference. Yet, today, I noted AB had switched Default Rendering Mode to IE compatible.

Since I see no one else complaining about this, and have received no substantive response about what to do, I'm going to uninstall AB entirely (after saving all my settings, etc., to backup, of course) and do a clean intall of AB 2012 build 3.

carfal
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 12:06 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 RTM SP1
Avant Version: Ultimate v2014 Build 2
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Stickers on Glass

Re: Rendering mode changing itself

Post by carfal » Sun Oct 30, 2011 3:07 am

I also have noticed that the default rendering mode changes back to mozilla at random. I prefer to use IE9 Standards.

My system is W7 x64 and i'm using AB ultimate Build 3

AbelAbel
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:11 am
Windows Version: win7
Avant Version: 2012 beta 8
IE Version: ie9

Re: Rendering mode changing itself

Post by AbelAbel » Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:48 am

carfal wrote:I also have noticed that the default rendering mode changes back to mozilla at random. I prefer to use IE9 Standards.

My system is W7 x64 and i'm using AB ultimate Build 3
Have you noticed that there are already some default values set in Tools->Avant Browser Options->Rendering Engine. Maybe that's the reason. :D

carfal
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 12:06 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 RTM SP1
Avant Version: Ultimate v2014 Build 2
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Stickers on Glass

Re: Rendering mode changing itself

Post by carfal » Mon Oct 31, 2011 2:59 pm

Yes i have. This has no effect on the issue.

They are interchangeable. Changing it from one changes/syncs the other.

User avatar
brawnymike
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:17 pm
Windows Version: 7 (32 bit)
Avant Version: Ult 2013 bld 23
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 10
Skin: Aero Glass
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Rendering mode changing itself

Post by brawnymike » Mon Oct 31, 2011 7:10 pm

Avant Browser 2012 build 3 (IE only) seems to be retaining my preferred default rendering mode (IE 9) since I did the complete uninstall & clean re-install of AB. I would *like* to re-install AB Ultimate, but I suspect the original rendering mode problem was introduced when I last installed Ultimate (because it worked fine when I was using the dual-mode betas).

User avatar
brawnymike
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:17 pm
Windows Version: 7 (32 bit)
Avant Version: Ult 2013 bld 23
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 10
Skin: Aero Glass
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Rendering mode changing itself

Post by brawnymike » Mon Oct 31, 2011 10:32 pm

Well, I spoke too soon. I'm still in the same session (of AB) as I was when I posted the comment just above, and just found the two settings changed from IE 9 Standards. Tools --> Default Rendering Engine went from having IE 9 selected to having NEITHER option (IE compatible, IE 9 Standards) selected. Tools --> Avant Browser Options --> Rendering Engine went from having IE 9 selected to having IE compatible selected.

Bottom line: This is still a problem which even uninstalling and a clean re-install haven't corrected.

Nikata
Fan
Fan
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 2:16 am
Windows Version: XP SP3
Avant Version: 2010 build 16
IE Version: 8

Re: Rendering mode changing itself

Post by Nikata » Tue Nov 01, 2011 1:32 am

That's strange, I don't have this problem in my Win7 :wtf:

carfal
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 12:06 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 RTM SP1
Avant Version: Ultimate v2014 Build 2
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Stickers on Glass

Re: Rendering mode changing itself

Post by carfal » Tue Nov 01, 2011 2:16 am

My W7 is x64.

Is your W7 also x64? Maybe its only x64 systems affected?

Nikata
Fan
Fan
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 2:16 am
Windows Version: XP SP3
Avant Version: 2010 build 16
IE Version: 8

Re: Rendering mode changing itself

Post by Nikata » Tue Nov 01, 2011 4:41 am

Maybe,mine is 32 bit.

Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China

Re: Rendering mode changing itself

Post by Jasmine » Tue Nov 01, 2011 6:47 am

brawnymike wrote:Tools --> Default Rendering Engine went from having IE 9 selected to having NEITHER option (IE compatible, IE 9 Standards) selected. Tools --> Avant Browser Options --> Rendering Engine went from having IE 9 selected to having IE compatible selected.

Bottom line: This is still a problem which even uninstalling and a clean re-install haven't corrected.
Do you mean in above case with IE9 set as the defaut rendering engine in your browser, it firstly changed to no option selected, and then IE compatible selected?
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

User avatar
brawnymike
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:17 pm
Windows Version: 7 (32 bit)
Avant Version: Ult 2013 bld 23
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 10
Skin: Aero Glass
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Rendering mode changing itself

Post by brawnymike » Wed Nov 02, 2011 12:08 am

I'm running Windows 7, 32-bit, so it doesn't appear to be specific to 64-bit. The problem did not start until after I installed AB Ultimate 2012 build 3. Admittedly, I install Ultimate directly on top of my prior version (AB 2012 beta 8) rather than doing an uninstall of the prior version and a clean install of Ultimate. That's why I did a complete uninstall of Ultimate (& reboot) & clean install of AB 2012 [IE only] build 3.

Jasmine,

I didn't mean that the setting changed twice. Rather, the Default Rendering Engine can be set in two different locations (either at Tools/Avant Browser Options/Rendering Engine, or at Tools/Default Rendering Engine), and setting it in one of those locations should change it in both ... at least that's my understanding. Nonetheless, what had been "IE 9 Standards" in both locations became (simultaneously) neither selected in one location and "IE Compatible" selected in the other.

carfal
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 12:06 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 RTM SP1
Avant Version: Ultimate v2014 Build 2
Default engine: IE11 Standards
IE Version: IE11
Skin: Stickers on Glass

Re: Rendering mode changing itself

Post by carfal » Wed Nov 02, 2011 2:19 pm

Jasmine, i've just installed AB Ultimate Build 6 and the issue random switching back to Mozilla Rendering mode still exists. Good news is that it may not be random.

I've just discovered the cause for this (hopefully the only cause). Do the following to replicate the bug

1. Open AB
2. Makesure that IE9 standards is selected from the TOOLS>DEFAULT RENDERING ENGINE option.
3. Restart AB and confirm the option is still selected using the method above
4. Open up AB options window.
5. Do nothing except click on CANCEL.
6. close AB
7. Open AB and it is now "randomly" switched to Mozilla Firefox Rendering.

Doing the same steps except in step 5 select "OK". The IE9 Standard Rendering stays selected.

EDIT: Doing the same steps above except step 5 Click on "APPLY" then "CANCEL" also maintains the IE9 Standard Rendering engine

User avatar
xiaobing
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 4380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas

Re: Rendering mode changing itself

Post by xiaobing » Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:18 am

Yes, I can confirm this bug now. After step 5, if you go back to Tools>Default rendering mode, you will find the default engine has changed to firefox.

Post Reply