Avant Browser

Avant Browser community forum
It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 6:46 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
Poston: Fri Jun 10, 2011 3:35 pm 
Offline
Fan
Fan

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 pm
Posts: 153
Windows Version: windows 7 sp1 32 bit
Avant Version: 2011 b23
IE Version: 9
AB18: hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others. I cannot figure out why they show sometimes and not others. By hot keys, i mean the underlined letter one types to get the menu option. Like g or Page Setup in File menu.

Also, AB says this is Build 16 but I downloaded and installed build 18.


Last edited by Jasmine on Mon Jun 27, 2011 6:45 am, edited 2 times in total.
v2011 build 22;fixed v2011 build 23


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #1 on: Mon Jun 13, 2011 2:07 am 
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Posts: 3752
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas
Do you mean the hotkeys for main menu(File View Bookmarks AutoFill ...)?
The hotkey are Alt+F(File) ,alt+V(view), alt+B(Bookmarks) ,alt+A(AutoFill),alt+T(Tools),alt+H(Help)


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #2 on: Mon Jun 13, 2011 2:33 am 
Offline
Fan
Fan

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 pm
Posts: 153
Windows Version: windows 7 sp1 32 bit
Avant Version: 2011 b23
IE Version: 9
No, hot keys for the submenus. They come and go. The main menu Alt+hot key always work. So, for instance, Page Setup under the file menu. SOmetimes the g is underlined and works. Other times it is not underlined and does not work. I cannot find a pattern.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #3 on: Mon Jun 13, 2011 2:52 am 
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Posts: 3752
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas
There isn't hotkey for the option:Page setup....
We have marked all the hotkeys if the option has one,for example, ctrl+P for Print
Attachment:
111.JPG
111.JPG [ 9.11 KiB | Viewed 2346 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #4 on: Mon Jun 13, 2011 3:36 am 
Offline
Fan
Fan

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 pm
Posts: 153
Windows Version: windows 7 sp1 32 bit
Avant Version: 2011 b23
IE Version: 9
Sorry we are misunderstanding each other.I mean the underlined letter that one types to execute the function. Page setup sometimes has the g underlined so I can type g after I type alt-f and page setup opens.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #5 on: Tue Jun 14, 2011 9:26 am 
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3118
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
brucebinder wrote:
Sorry we are misunderstanding each other.I mean the underlined letter that one types to execute the function. Page setup sometimes has the g underlined so I can type g after I type alt-f and page setup opens.

Do you rembember in which version g underlinded for page setup?

_________________
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #6 on: Tue Jun 14, 2011 12:25 pm 
Offline
Fan
Fan

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 pm
Posts: 153
Windows Version: windows 7 sp1 32 bit
Avant Version: 2011 b23
IE Version: 9
The current version. The underlines come and go and I cannot figure out what causes the change.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #7 on: Wed Jun 15, 2011 6:00 am 
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:52 am
Posts: 3752
Windows Version: xp/win7 64/win8
Avant Version: latest version
Default engine: firefox/chrome/IE
IE Version: 8/9/10
Skin: aero glass/opal glas
what interface language do you use?


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #8 on: Wed Jun 15, 2011 9:08 am 
Offline
Fan
Fan

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 pm
Posts: 153
Windows Version: windows 7 sp1 32 bit
Avant Version: 2011 b23
IE Version: 9
English (United States)


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #9 on: Wed Jun 15, 2011 11:04 am 
Offline
Fan
Fan

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 pm
Posts: 153
Windows Version: windows 7 sp1 32 bit
Avant Version: 2011 b23
IE Version: 9
If i make another browser the default and then make AB the default, the underlined letters come back in the sub-menus (Page Setupt) for instance.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #10 on: Thu Jun 16, 2011 3:15 am 
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3118
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
It's really weird. Make a screeshot?

And please search inside eng.lng(C:\Program Files\Avant Browser\Lang) whether there exists the following script?

actPageSetup_C=Page Setup...

_________________
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #11 on: Thu Jun 16, 2011 2:23 pm 
Offline
Fan
Fan

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 pm
Posts: 153
Windows Version: windows 7 sp1 32 bit
Avant Version: 2011 b23
IE Version: 9
The script is there.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #12 on: Fri Jun 17, 2011 2:35 am 
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3118
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Interesting, I can't totally confirm the problem but I find another problem. Anyway they could be the same one.

If you hope to use the short, please try modify this line:
actPageSetup_C=Page Setup...
to
actPageSetup_C=Pa&ge Setup...

You'll see many other shortcuts appear too.

It's weird but they all can work.

_________________
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #13 on: Fri Jun 17, 2011 3:03 am 
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3118
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Hello,

Again the possible reason I can think of is you have to press alt before clicking the File menu for making those underlines in the submenu appear. Pleases try.

_________________
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #14 on: Fri Jun 17, 2011 3:12 am 
Offline
Fan
Fan

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 pm
Posts: 153
Windows Version: windows 7 sp1 32 bit
Avant Version: 2011 b23
IE Version: 9
I added the & before the g as you suggested. That did not work.

I changed the file to a .txt and then edited it in notepad and then back to .lng to do this. Is there a better way?


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #15 on: Fri Jun 17, 2011 6:47 am 
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3118
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Jasmine wrote:
Hello,

Again the possible reason I can think of is you have to press alt before clicking the File menu for making those underlines in the submenu appear. Pleases try.

Have you tried this? Without editing the eng.lng, I find the underlines in the submenu appear by pressing alt once before opening File menu.

If you edit eng.lng
brucebinder wrote:
I added the & before the g as you suggested. That did not work.

I changed the file to a .txt and then edited it in notepad and then back to .lng to do this. Is there a better way?


You have to switch to another interface(like arabic) and switch back for reloading the change. Interface won't refresh itself at once.

_________________
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #16 on: Fri Jun 17, 2011 2:21 pm 
Offline
Fan
Fan

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 pm
Posts: 153
Windows Version: windows 7 sp1 32 bit
Avant Version: 2011 b23
IE Version: 9
Since I have no way to directly edit the eng.lng file, can you just send me a new one? bruce@bbinders.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #17 on: Fri Jun 17, 2011 2:29 pm 
Offline
Fan
Fan

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:08 pm
Posts: 153
Windows Version: windows 7 sp1 32 bit
Avant Version: 2011 b23
IE Version: 9
Pressing Alt once make the underlines appear on the main menu items but no the sub-menu items.

I tried the switching languages to no avail.

Maybe best if you send me a corrected eng.lng file and instructions of how best to replace the existing one.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #18 on: Mon Jun 20, 2011 4:28 am 
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3118
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
I can make them appear in win7 and xp but seems it's not easy to do the same in Vista. This problem will be fixed in next version.

_________________
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #19 on: Mon Jun 27, 2011 6:45 am 
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3118
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
brucebinder wrote:
AB18: hot keys for menu are there sometimes not others. I cannot figure out why they show sometimes and not others. By hot keys, i mean the underlined letter one types to get the menu option. Like g or Page Setup in File menu.

Also, AB says this is Build 16 but I downloaded and installed build 18.


Please try build 23 it's fixed.

_________________
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group