Why does ABrowser insist on changing my home page?

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
Jorge Junior
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 11:14 pm
Windows Version: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bits
Avant Version: See my signature
Default engine: See my signature
IE Version: 10.0.9200.16580
Skin: Xito
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil

Why does ABrowser insist on changing my home page?

Post by Jorge Junior » Sun Aug 15, 2010 1:49 am

Why does ABrowser insist on changing my home page to www .bing .com/?pc=AVBR during the installation? Who TOLD YOU I wanna change it? ABrowser is not allowed to change my or anyone's settings. It should be asked first.
I use the latest Ultimate version with Mozilla rendering engine by default.
RoboForm2Go 7.9.16.7
WIN 10 Pro 64-bit Build 10532, Asus P8Z68 Deluxe, Intel Core i7 2600, 3.40GHz, Cooler Master V10, PSU Zalman ZM600-HP, 16GB DDR3-1600, AMD Radeon HD 6870 1GB, SyncMaster P2270HN.

User avatar
Jorge Junior
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 11:14 pm
Windows Version: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bits
Avant Version: See my signature
Default engine: See my signature
IE Version: 10.0.9200.16580
Skin: Xito
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil

Re: Why does ABrowser insist on changing my home page?

Post by Jorge Junior » Tue Jan 25, 2011 2:14 pm

It persists in build 129.
I still think the user should be asked if he wants to change internet settings.

By the way, how do we call this kind of "unauthorized change"? Can I say it's a bug?
I use the latest Ultimate version with Mozilla rendering engine by default.
RoboForm2Go 7.9.16.7
WIN 10 Pro 64-bit Build 10532, Asus P8Z68 Deluxe, Intel Core i7 2600, 3.40GHz, Cooler Master V10, PSU Zalman ZM600-HP, 16GB DDR3-1600, AMD Radeon HD 6870 1GB, SyncMaster P2270HN.

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: Why does ABrowser insist on changing my home page?

Post by bigC » Tue Jan 25, 2011 8:03 pm

I can't confirm, home page didn't change here.

Did you install on top of 128?

User avatar
Jorge Junior
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 11:14 pm
Windows Version: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bits
Avant Version: See my signature
Default engine: See my signature
IE Version: 10.0.9200.16580
Skin: Xito
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil

Re: Why does ABrowser insist on changing my home page?

Post by Jorge Junior » Tue Jan 25, 2011 8:28 pm

I removed build 128 with Revo Uninstaller.
I use the latest Ultimate version with Mozilla rendering engine by default.
RoboForm2Go 7.9.16.7
WIN 10 Pro 64-bit Build 10532, Asus P8Z68 Deluxe, Intel Core i7 2600, 3.40GHz, Cooler Master V10, PSU Zalman ZM600-HP, 16GB DDR3-1600, AMD Radeon HD 6870 1GB, SyncMaster P2270HN.

User avatar
Jorge Junior
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 11:14 pm
Windows Version: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bits
Avant Version: See my signature
Default engine: See my signature
IE Version: 10.0.9200.16580
Skin: Xito
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil

Re: Why does ABrowser insist on changing my home page?

Post by Jorge Junior » Wed Jan 26, 2011 1:09 pm

bigC, I'm not talking about the settings in Tools\Avant Browser Options, but in Control Panel\Internet Options\General.

See these screens.
I use the latest Ultimate version with Mozilla rendering engine by default.
RoboForm2Go 7.9.16.7
WIN 10 Pro 64-bit Build 10532, Asus P8Z68 Deluxe, Intel Core i7 2600, 3.40GHz, Cooler Master V10, PSU Zalman ZM600-HP, 16GB DDR3-1600, AMD Radeon HD 6870 1GB, SyncMaster P2270HN.

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: Why does ABrowser insist on changing my home page?

Post by bigC » Wed Jan 26, 2011 9:05 pm

Jorge Junior wrote:bigC, I'm not talking about the settings in Tools\Avant Browser Options, but in Control Panel\Internet Options\General.

See these screens.
I know...

I guess it only happens with a fresh install, not over the old.

User avatar
Jorge Junior
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 11:14 pm
Windows Version: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bits
Avant Version: See my signature
Default engine: See my signature
IE Version: 10.0.9200.16580
Skin: Xito
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil

Re: Why does ABrowser insist on changing my home page?

Post by Jorge Junior » Wed Jan 26, 2011 9:26 pm

bigC wrote:I guess it only happens with a fresh install, not over the old.
I'll try that with build 131.
I use the latest Ultimate version with Mozilla rendering engine by default.
RoboForm2Go 7.9.16.7
WIN 10 Pro 64-bit Build 10532, Asus P8Z68 Deluxe, Intel Core i7 2600, 3.40GHz, Cooler Master V10, PSU Zalman ZM600-HP, 16GB DDR3-1600, AMD Radeon HD 6870 1GB, SyncMaster P2270HN.

User avatar
Jorge Junior
Avant Fanatic
Avant Fanatic
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 11:14 pm
Windows Version: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bits
Avant Version: See my signature
Default engine: See my signature
IE Version: 10.0.9200.16580
Skin: Xito
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil

Re: Why does ABrowser insist on changing my home page?

Post by Jorge Junior » Thu Mar 17, 2011 1:53 am

bigC wrote: I guess it only happens with a fresh install, not over the old.
That's true, bigC. I've just noticed that.
Yet I think AB should ask me before changing it!
I use the latest Ultimate version with Mozilla rendering engine by default.
RoboForm2Go 7.9.16.7
WIN 10 Pro 64-bit Build 10532, Asus P8Z68 Deluxe, Intel Core i7 2600, 3.40GHz, Cooler Master V10, PSU Zalman ZM600-HP, 16GB DDR3-1600, AMD Radeon HD 6870 1GB, SyncMaster P2270HN.

bksening
Fan
Fan
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:14 pm
Windows Version: XP SP3
Avant Version: 2010 build1
IE Version: 8.0

Re: Why does ABrowser insist on changing my home page?

Post by bksening » Thu Mar 17, 2011 6:44 am

Jorge Junior wrote:
bigC wrote: I guess it only happens with a fresh install, not over the old.
That's true, bigC. I've just noticed that.
Yet I think AB should ask me before changing it!
So, bigC, do you or anyone else have an answer if the question is appropriately modified?

"Why does ABrowser insist on changing my home page on a fresh install?"

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: Why does ABrowser insist on changing my home page?

Post by AXEMAN » Thu Mar 17, 2011 8:40 pm

what is your home page i made mine to my providers page witch has the news and all that jaz. And i use bing as search engine :)

Chief Plasma
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 4:32 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:

Re: Why does ABrowser insist on changing my home page?

Post by Chief Plasma » Fri Apr 15, 2011 8:25 pm

Maybe it is chaning the default search engine and if you use that as your home page it would show that then.

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Why does ABrowser insist on changing my home page?

Post by MysteryFCM » Tue Apr 26, 2011 2:53 am

Please let me know if you guys are still seeing this.

Post Reply