Avant Browser

Avant Browser community forum
It is currently Sun Sep 21, 2014 6:04 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: https problems
Poston: Tue Aug 10, 2010 8:58 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 7:36 pm
Posts: 8
Windows Version: XP Home
Avant Version: 11.7.31
IE Version: 8
If I install 2010 / 106 or 107 I cannot access my bank log-in, keeps looping on the log-in screen, clearing the password as it goes.
I have returned to 11.31 as this is the only version I can use that works the way I want, untill 106, when there was an option added to the 'mouse' section of the config files.
Eric


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: https problems
Post Reply #1 on: Wed Aug 11, 2010 3:16 am 
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3118
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
What's the bank site?

_________________
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: https problems
Post Reply #2 on: Wed Aug 11, 2010 6:18 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 7:36 pm
Posts: 8
Windows Version: XP Home
Avant Version: 11.7.31
IE Version: 8
LloydsTSB.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Another bug - site login
Post Reply #3 on: Wed Aug 11, 2010 5:00 pm 
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:29 pm
Posts: 86
Avant Version:
My daughter is a student at the University of Colorado. When she logs in to the student CU website, she is presented with a default screen and several tabs - "Courses," "Financial," etc. In prior versions of Avant Browser, all worked fine. Since build 8 of AB 2010, clicking on any of the tabs throws her back to the login page. The site works fine in IE8, Chrome, and Firefox.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #4 on: Wed Aug 11, 2010 5:38 pm 
Offline
Avantic
Avantic

Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Posts: 965
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8
I'm not sure if this is connected but I thought I'd mention it anyway.
I use Avant and Maxthon Classic browsers and recently after using Avant I've had to re-login to several forums. I always set the "keep me logged in" option.
To clear this I have had to delete the relevant cookies and relogin to the forums. So it looks to me as if Avant is doing something with the cookies.
Sorry, if this is a separate problem, feel free to split it if necessary.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #5 on: Wed Aug 11, 2010 5:45 pm 
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:29 pm
Posts: 86
Avant Version:
Thanks, but I don't think that will help her. For security reasons (because grades are posted on the website and campus e-mail is accessible through it), the site does not allow auto-login or "keep me logged in." So there is no cookie that would be related to that.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #6 on: Wed Aug 11, 2010 6:02 pm 
Offline
Avantic
Avantic

Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Posts: 965
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8
OK, I wasn't suggesting a getaround.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #7 on: Thu Aug 12, 2010 3:42 am 
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3118
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
ABman wrote:
I'm not sure if this is connected but I thought I'd mention it anyway.
I use Avant and Maxthon Classic browsers and recently after using Avant I've had to re-login to several forums. I always set the "keep me logged in" option.
To clear this I have had to delete the relevant cookies and relogin to the forums. So it looks to me as if Avant is doing something with the cookies.
Sorry, if this is a separate problem, feel free to split it if necessary.



That could be the same problem. Could you please make a specific example including the site and the detailed steps to produce the problem?

_________________
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #8 on: Thu Aug 12, 2010 9:46 am 
Offline
Avantic
Avantic

Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Posts: 965
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8
Jasmine wrote:
That could be the same problem. Could you please make a specific example including the site and the detailed steps to produce the problem?
It's happened on several forums, including this one. It hasn't kept the fact that I was logged in previously. After deleting the cookie and logging in again, it's OK from then on. Until it happens next time!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: https problems
Post Reply #9 on: Thu Aug 12, 2010 12:11 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 7:36 pm
Posts: 8
Windows Version: XP Home
Avant Version: 11.7.31
IE Version: 8
To be honest, I have not tested versions since Avant 2010 was released.
I did install the first version and use it for a couple of days, it did definately work OK with my bank (LloydsTSB), then.
I went back to 11.7.31 because of the way it opened shortcuts.
I did try a few versions, later on, to see if it had been fixed, but did not have Avant on long enough to test bank site.
Only when I made a bug report and had it fixed, did I then install 2010.106, only to discover this bug.
Eric


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #10 on: Fri Aug 13, 2010 9:18 am 
Offline
Avantic
Avantic

Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Posts: 965
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8
Jasmine wrote:
That could be the same problem. Could you please make a specific example including the site and the detailed steps to produce the problem?
As a test, I used several forums with Maxthon Classic for several days without having to relog in.
I then used Avant to access the forums and was logged in OK.
I then used Maxthon and I immediately had to relogin to http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/forum. Using Maxthon alone caused no relogins but immediately after using Avant I had to relogin. Very odd!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: https problems
Post Reply #11 on: Sun Aug 15, 2010 11:04 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2010 10:48 am
Posts: 4
Windows Version: XP SP3 fully up to dte
Avant Version: 2010 Build 109
IE Version: 8
I have had the same issue with LloydsTSB. Works absolutely fine on both my wifes laptop and work PC using earlier versions of Avant. Other banking websites I have tried are fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: https problems
Post Reply #12 on: Sun Aug 15, 2010 11:21 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2010 10:48 am
Posts: 4
Windows Version: XP SP3 fully up to dte
Avant Version: 2010 Build 109
IE Version: 8
11.7 Build 46 is fine with LloydsTSB.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: https problems
Post Reply #13 on: Sun Aug 15, 2010 6:13 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 7:36 pm
Posts: 8
Windows Version: XP Home
Avant Version: 11.7.31
IE Version: 8
Just tried 2010.109. Still not working, with LloydsTSB.

Reply #12 11.7 Build 46 is fine with LloydsTSB.

As I said, there was another problem which was created in versions past 11.7.31 that I cannot cope with. They were fixed in 2010.106 but this fault then came up.
Have returned to 11.7.31


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: https problems
Post Reply #14 on: Thu Aug 19, 2010 12:03 pm 
Offline
Avantic
Avantic

Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Posts: 965
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8
So far, it seems that the cookie problem has been solved in Build 110 for me.
One minor niggle with 110 is that it unset all the Roboform Add-ons > IE Plugins values. I thought, oh no, Roboform's not working again, but when I reset these values Roboform's OK now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: https problems
Post Reply #15 on: Thu Aug 19, 2010 6:14 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 7:36 pm
Posts: 8
Windows Version: XP Home
Avant Version: 11.7.31
IE Version: 8
I have just tried 110, now back at 11.7.31

Yes, my Lloyds account does work.
The main problem I had was the response time. Avant was like a snail, trying to open windows, change settings etc was horendous, also kept getting the desktop showing through, especially where the roboform toolbar was.
Did try resetting to defaults, it was a lot faster but still not good enough and when I then re-enabled the roboform toolbar, it went back to being very slow.

PS On the Avant toolbar / Help / Avant Browser Forum
Just goes to "page not found"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: https problems
Post Reply #16 on: Mon Aug 23, 2010 5:51 am 
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3118
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
egros wrote:
I have just tried 110, now back at 11.7.31

Yes, my Lloyds account does work.
The main problem I had was the response time. Avant was like a snail, trying to open windows, change settings etc was horendous, also kept getting the desktop showing through, especially where the roboform toolbar was.
Did try resetting to defaults, it was a lot faster but still not good enough and when I then re-enabled the roboform toolbar, it went back to being very slow.

PS On the Avant toolbar / Help / Avant Browser Forum
Just goes to "page not found"



Hi does it respond slowly only if you enabled IE toolbars like roboform or in any case?

In which version you found Help->Avant Browser Forum failed?

_________________
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: https problems
Post Reply #17 on: Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:11 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 7:36 pm
Posts: 8
Windows Version: XP Home
Avant Version: 11.7.31
IE Version: 8
Jasmine wrote:
egros wrote:
I have just tried 110, now back at 11.7.31

Did try resetting to defaults, it was a lot faster but still not good enough and when I then re-enabled the roboform toolbar, it went back to being very slow.

PS On the Avant toolbar / Help / Avant Browser Forum
Just goes to "page not found"



Hi does it respond slowly only if you enabled IE toolbars like roboform or in any case?

In which version you found Help->Avant Browser Forum failed?



As I said, if I disable roboform then it is a lot better, but not as good as 11.7

Help does not work in 2010.110, thats all I have tried, it does work in 11.7.31


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group