Avant Browser

Avant Browser community forum
It is currently Wed Oct 01, 2014 8:10 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
Poston: Thu Jul 29, 2010 5:41 pm 
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:29 pm
Posts: 86
Avant Version:
Sometimes when you click on a link you're supposed to get a small pop-up window (even if you've blocked pop-ups), maybe with a scroll bar but without browser menu controls. An example: if you're browsing Amazon.com "Recommended for You" and you come across a recommendation based on a prior purchase that you don't want used for recommendations, you can click "Fix This" and a small window with on browser controls is supposed to pop up where you can tell Amazon to ignore your earlier purchase when it makes recommendations. In Build 46 (which I'm back to using) this works fine, but in 101 you get a full-sized window which you cannot close. Eventually a message appears that the tab is no longer working.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #1 on: Fri Jul 30, 2010 12:29 am 
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:29 pm
Posts: 86
Avant Version:
Just focusing on what happens in Amazon "recommended for you":

1. Click on "Fix This" (which let's you choose not to use the prior purchase that caused the recommendation to be made in Amazon's making future recommendations).
2. Avant should open a floating window with no browser controls, but instead the new window is maximized.
3. Attempting to close the maximized window fails. Ultimately Avant says something like the window is not working and gives the choice to re-open or close.
4. For the rest of that browsing session, selecting "Fix This" in the amazon recommendations doesn't work -- no window opens allowing you to "fix" the recommendation.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #2 on: Fri Jul 30, 2010 7:37 pm 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Posts: 7239
Location: New York
Windows Version: 8.1
Avant Version: 2014 Build 7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
I have the exact same issue opening game rooms at pogo.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #3 on: Fri Jul 30, 2010 8:03 pm 
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:29 pm
Posts: 86
Avant Version:
I just checked out Build 102 that was released today (7/30) and the problem is still there. I keep going back to 11.8.0.8, which works fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #4 on: Mon Aug 02, 2010 6:19 am 
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3118
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
smoddelm wrote:
I just checked out Build 102 that was released today (7/30) and the problem is still there. I keep going back to 11.8.0.8, which works fine.


I don't have this problem in buld 103...Please download and have a try.

_________________
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #5 on: Mon Aug 02, 2010 11:20 am 
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:29 pm
Posts: 86
Avant Version:
Semi-fixed -- the window doesn't quit working now, I can close it, and I can "Fix This" with repeated Amazon recommendations. However, it is still maximized rather than the floating window with no browser controls that I get in early builds and in all other browsers (IE, Firefox, Chrome, Opera).


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #6 on: Mon Aug 02, 2010 7:58 pm 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Posts: 7239
Location: New York
Windows Version: 8.1
Avant Version: 2014 Build 7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
smoddelm wrote:
Semi-fixed -- the window doesn't quit working now, I can close it, and I can "Fix This" with repeated Amazon recommendations. However, it is still maximized rather than the floating window with no browser controls that I get in early builds and in all other browsers (IE, Firefox, Chrome, Opera).

Same with the Scrabble game room windows at pogo.com. (you have to login to access the rooms) Build 105


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #7 on: Thu Aug 05, 2010 10:17 pm 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Posts: 7239
Location: New York
Windows Version: 8.1
Avant Version: 2014 Build 7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
This is still unfixed build 107

Has anyone confirmed the pogo.com issue?

Login at pogo, go to http://www.pogo.com/games/scrabble and click on one of the free game rooms. It should open in a small window but it opens maximized instead.

Edit: Actually it seems AB opens everything as a maximized window. It ignores all javascript window resizing code. I've tried on many sites.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #8 on: Thu Aug 05, 2010 10:39 pm 
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:29 pm
Posts: 86
Avant Version:
Right - everything is maximized.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #9 on: Fri Aug 06, 2010 12:06 am 
Offline
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Posts: 3384
Avant Version:
Confirmed with http://www.popuptest.com/popuptest1.html

_________________
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image

I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #10 on: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:07 pm 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Posts: 7239
Location: New York
Windows Version: 8.1
Avant Version: 2014 Build 7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Submitted to bug tracker


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #11 on: Wed Aug 11, 2010 11:48 am 
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:29 pm
Posts: 86
Avant Version:
Was hopeful when I saw a new version was available this morning. disappointed to see this issue is not fixed.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #12 on: Fri Aug 13, 2010 3:07 pm 
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:29 pm
Posts: 86
Avant Version:
Same again today. I'm going back to Build 8 until the things that got wrecked in subsequent builds get fixed.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #13 on: Thu Aug 19, 2010 6:56 pm 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Posts: 7239
Location: New York
Windows Version: 8.1
Avant Version: 2014 Build 7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Still broke in 110.

Jasmine, can you guys not confirm this? It seems like it should be easy to fix..


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #14 on: Fri Aug 20, 2010 5:16 pm 
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 10:56 pm
Posts: 72
Windows Version: Win 7 64 pro
Avant Version: 11.8 build 122
IE Version: IE 9
still get a full sized window when getting a pop up

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #15 on: Mon Aug 23, 2010 6:32 am 
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3118
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Just the most serious problems got the priority to be taken care of first~ :think:

_________________
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #16 on: Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:30 am 
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3118
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Though the changelog didn't say whether the problem was fixed, I just tested in build 110 and noticed that pop-ups open with small windows. could you confirm again?

I use IE8 standard mode.

_________________
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #17 on: Mon Aug 23, 2010 11:11 am 
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:29 pm
Posts: 86
Avant Version:
Jasmine wrote:
Though the changelog didn't say whether the problem was fixed, I just tested in build 110 and noticed that pop-ups open with small windows. could you confirm again?

I use IE8 standard mode.


Using IE8 standards, all still open maximized for me in Build 110.


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #18 on: Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:18 pm 
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Posts: 7239
Location: New York
Windows Version: 8.1
Avant Version: 2014 Build 7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
smoddelm wrote:
Jasmine wrote:
Though the changelog didn't say whether the problem was fixed, I just tested in build 110 and noticed that pop-ups open with small windows. could you confirm again?

I use IE8 standard mode.


Using IE8 standards, all still open maximized for me in Build 110.

Me to


Top
 Profile  
 
Post Reply #19 on: Tue Aug 24, 2010 12:20 pm 
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:29 pm
Posts: 86
Avant Version:
Just downloaded Build 111 released today -- it's fixed!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group