Build 101 and window size

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Build 101 and window size

Postby smoddelm » Thu Jul 29, 2010 5:41 pm

Sometimes when you click on a link you're supposed to get a small pop-up window (even if you've blocked pop-ups), maybe with a scroll bar but without browser menu controls. An example: if you're browsing Amazon.com "Recommended for You" and you come across a recommendation based on a prior purchase that you don't want used for recommendations, you can click "Fix This" and a small window with on browser controls is supposed to pop up where you can tell Amazon to ignore your earlier purchase when it makes recommendations. In Build 46 (which I'm back to using) this works fine, but in 101 you get a full-sized window which you cannot close. Eventually a message appears that the tab is no longer working.
smoddelm
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:29 pm
Avant Version:
Top

Re: Build 101 and window size

Post Reply #1 by smoddelm » Fri Jul 30, 2010 12:29 am

Just focusing on what happens in Amazon "recommended for you":

1. Click on "Fix This" (which let's you choose not to use the prior purchase that caused the recommendation to be made in Amazon's making future recommendations).
2. Avant should open a floating window with no browser controls, but instead the new window is maximized.
3. Attempting to close the maximized window fails. Ultimately Avant says something like the window is not working and gives the choice to re-open or close.
4. For the rest of that browsing session, selecting "Fix This" in the amazon recommendations doesn't work -- no window opens allowing you to "fix" the recommendation.
smoddelm
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:29 pm
Avant Version:
Top

Re: Build 101 and window size

Post Reply #2 by bigC » Fri Jul 30, 2010 7:37 pm

I have the exact same issue opening game rooms at pogo.com
bigC
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
 
Posts: 7239
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Location: New York
Windows Version: 8.1
Avant Version: 2014 Build 7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Top

Re: Build 101 and window size

Post Reply #3 by smoddelm » Fri Jul 30, 2010 8:03 pm

I just checked out Build 102 that was released today (7/30) and the problem is still there. I keep going back to 11.8.0.8, which works fine.
smoddelm
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:29 pm
Avant Version:
Top

Re: Build 101 and window size

Post Reply #4 by Jasmine » Mon Aug 02, 2010 6:19 am

smoddelm wrote:I just checked out Build 102 that was released today (7/30) and the problem is still there. I keep going back to 11.8.0.8, which works fine.


I don't have this problem in buld 103...Please download and have a try.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder
Jasmine
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Top

Re: Build 101 and window size

Post Reply #5 by smoddelm » Mon Aug 02, 2010 11:20 am

Semi-fixed -- the window doesn't quit working now, I can close it, and I can "Fix This" with repeated Amazon recommendations. However, it is still maximized rather than the floating window with no browser controls that I get in early builds and in all other browsers (IE, Firefox, Chrome, Opera).
smoddelm
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:29 pm
Avant Version:
Top

Re: Build 101 and window size

Post Reply #6 by bigC » Mon Aug 02, 2010 7:58 pm

smoddelm wrote:Semi-fixed -- the window doesn't quit working now, I can close it, and I can "Fix This" with repeated Amazon recommendations. However, it is still maximized rather than the floating window with no browser controls that I get in early builds and in all other browsers (IE, Firefox, Chrome, Opera).

Same with the Scrabble game room windows at pogo.com. (you have to login to access the rooms) Build 105
bigC
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
 
Posts: 7239
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Location: New York
Windows Version: 8.1
Avant Version: 2014 Build 7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Top

Re: Build 101 and window size

Post Reply #7 by bigC » Thu Aug 05, 2010 10:17 pm

This is still unfixed build 107

Has anyone confirmed the pogo.com issue?

Login at pogo, go to http://www.pogo.com/games/scrabble and click on one of the free game rooms. It should open in a small window but it opens maximized instead.

Edit: Actually it seems AB opens everything as a maximized window. It ignores all javascript window resizing code. I've tried on many sites.
bigC
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
 
Posts: 7239
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Location: New York
Windows Version: 8.1
Avant Version: 2014 Build 7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Top

Re: Build 101 and window size

Post Reply #8 by smoddelm » Thu Aug 05, 2010 10:39 pm

Right - everything is maximized.
smoddelm
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:29 pm
Avant Version:
Top

Re: Build 101 and window size

Post Reply #9 by kudos » Fri Aug 06, 2010 12:06 am

 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image

I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics
kudos
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:
Top

Re: Build 101 and window size

Post Reply #10 by bigC » Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:07 pm

bigC
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
 
Posts: 7239
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Location: New York
Windows Version: 8.1
Avant Version: 2014 Build 7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Top

Re: Build 101 and window size

Post Reply #11 by smoddelm » Wed Aug 11, 2010 11:48 am

Was hopeful when I saw a new version was available this morning. disappointed to see this issue is not fixed.
smoddelm
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:29 pm
Avant Version:
Top

Re: Build 101 and window size

Post Reply #12 by smoddelm » Fri Aug 13, 2010 3:07 pm

Same again today. I'm going back to Build 8 until the things that got wrecked in subsequent builds get fixed.
smoddelm
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:29 pm
Avant Version:
Top

Re: Build 101 and window size

Post Reply #13 by bigC » Thu Aug 19, 2010 6:56 pm

Still broke in 110.

Jasmine, can you guys not confirm this? It seems like it should be easy to fix..
bigC
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
 
Posts: 7239
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Location: New York
Windows Version: 8.1
Avant Version: 2014 Build 7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Top

Re: Build 101 and window size

Post Reply #14 by AkaRei » Fri Aug 20, 2010 5:16 pm

still get a full sized window when getting a pop up
Image
AkaRei
User avatar
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 10:56 pm
Windows Version: Win 7 64 pro
Avant Version: 11.8 build 122
IE Version: IE 9
Top

Re: Build 101 and window size

Post Reply #15 by Jasmine » Mon Aug 23, 2010 6:32 am

Just the most serious problems got the priority to be taken care of first~ :think:
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder
Jasmine
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Top

Re: Build 101 and window size

Post Reply #16 by Jasmine » Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:30 am

Though the changelog didn't say whether the problem was fixed, I just tested in build 110 and noticed that pop-ups open with small windows. could you confirm again?

I use IE8 standard mode.
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder
Jasmine
User avatar
Offline
Support Staff
Support Staff
Avant Guru
 
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Location: Beijing China
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Top

Re: Build 101 and window size

Post Reply #17 by smoddelm » Mon Aug 23, 2010 11:11 am

Jasmine wrote:Though the changelog didn't say whether the problem was fixed, I just tested in build 110 and noticed that pop-ups open with small windows. could you confirm again?

I use IE8 standard mode.


Using IE8 standards, all still open maximized for me in Build 110.
smoddelm
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:29 pm
Avant Version:
Top

Re: Build 101 and window size

Post Reply #18 by bigC » Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:18 pm

smoddelm wrote:
Jasmine wrote:Though the changelog didn't say whether the problem was fixed, I just tested in build 110 and noticed that pop-ups open with small windows. could you confirm again?

I use IE8 standard mode.


Using IE8 standards, all still open maximized for me in Build 110.

Me to
bigC
User avatar
Offline
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Avantus Maximus
 
Posts: 7239
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Location: New York
Windows Version: 8.1
Avant Version: 2014 Build 7
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Top

Re: Build 101 and window size

Post Reply #19 by smoddelm » Tue Aug 24, 2010 12:20 pm

Just downloaded Build 111 released today -- it's fixed!
smoddelm
Offline
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:29 pm
Avant Version:
Top


Return to Avant Browser Bug Reports



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot]

ABPro style designed by Statm1