Bug: Focus issue

Please put your bug reports here, and only here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, Developer, AvantGuard

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7244
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Bug: Focus issue

Postby MysteryFCM » Tue Jun 22, 2010 4:47 pm

When switching back from Outlook to Avant, I press CTRL+N to open a new tab, but Avant itself doesn't seem to have focus, which of course means, the address bar doesn't have focus either.

If I switch back to Avant but don't press CTRL+N then Avant keeps focus, but this doesn't exactly help when I want to open a new window ;)

Now for the annoying part - this is not a constant problem. This issue only arrises sporadically, which is why I've not gotten you a video of it's happening in action ;)

Rather aggravating when I don't usually notice until after I've typed or pasted the address, and wonder why it's not doing anything ;)

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7244
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Bug: Focus issue

Postby MysteryFCM » Wed Jul 28, 2010 11:22 pm

This issue is somewhat back.

Doesn't seem to matter if Avant already has focus or not. If I click CTRL+N to open a new tab, the address bar correctly highlights - but it doesn't have focus, meaning I can't type or paste into it, without clicking into the address bar and highlighting the contents manually.

User avatar
Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China
Contact:

Re: Bug: Focus issue

Postby Jasmine » Thu Jul 29, 2010 4:30 am

Happen sporadically again?
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7244
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Bug: Focus issue

Postby MysteryFCM » Thu Jul 29, 2010 4:35 am

Nope, each and every time

User avatar
Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China
Contact:

Re: Bug: Focus issue

Postby Jasmine » Thu Jul 29, 2010 5:20 am

How does it happen? I can't replay it~
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7244
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Bug: Focus issue

Postby MysteryFCM » Thu Jul 29, 2010 11:07 pm

All I'm doing is pressing CTRL+N to open a new tab, you see the address bar become highlighted, but it's not got focus, which prevents me typing in it (can't do a video of it due to the keyboard having to be used)

User avatar
Jasmine
Support Staff
Support Staff
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:10 am
Windows Version: windows sp3 2003 vista win7
Avant Version: Latest release
IE Version: IE9 8 7
Location: Beijing China
Contact:

Re: Bug: Focus issue

Postby Jasmine » Fri Jul 30, 2010 2:21 am

OK, no problem here on both win2003 and xp. Which system does your problem happen on? xp or vista?
Image
Please provide the following information before reporting problems:
Avant Version; System(also point out it is a 32 or 64-bit OS);IE; Memory Size; CPU Speed;
Optional: Firewall; Graphics Card

For the problems hard to replay, could you add me into your MSN or Skype list if you use either of them? The advantage is that you can let us know the situation in the first place by making some screenshots, sharing your screen or explaining the specific problems more clearly when they happen.
E-mail: Jasmine#avantbrowser.com(please repalce # with @)
MSN: dishmoon#msn.com
Skype: JasmineThunder

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7244
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Bug: Focus issue

Postby MysteryFCM » Fri Jul 30, 2010 2:25 am

Windows 7 Home Premium and Vista Home Premium SP2

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7244
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Bug: Focus issue

Postby MysteryFCM » Fri Jul 30, 2010 2:28 pm

Fixed with 102 :)

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7244
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Bug: Focus issue

Postby MysteryFCM » Fri Jul 30, 2010 5:27 pm

I spoke to soon.

If Avant already has focus, and I press CTRL+N, then the address bar gets focus.

If I'm switching to Avant from another window (i.e. Outlook), and press CTRL+N, then the address bar gets highlighted, but does NOT get focus.

As an aside, build 102 crashed on me earlier ;) (the entire avant process, not just the individual tab), was loading a page on Robtex at the time (page has loaded just fine since).

Stability certainly seems to be getting alot worse with each 11.8 release :(

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7244
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Bug: Focus issue

Postby MysteryFCM » Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:48 am

Was in my RSS reader, switched back to Avant and ........ this happened (you'll notice my RSS reader has focus *inside Avant*, instead of the newly created tab);

imgAvant_Tab_focus_issue.png


As you can see, Avant was already loading a page when I switched back to it. Doubt that's related though as it's done it when it wasn't loading anything aswell.

Closed the tab that was loading a site, and created a new tab (to come to these forums to report the focus issue incidentally) and Avant completely crashed.

/edit

Avant had been open ~8 hours or so, with multiple tabs open btw.

baer-x
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 9:02 am
Avant Version:

Re: Bug: Focus issue

Postby baer-x » Wed Sep 08, 2010 7:20 am

Same error here but I don´t think, it looses focus, it seems to be a timing problem. After opening a new tab it lasts up to two seconds, then the adress line gets focus. same problem after pressing F6 for typing a new URL. It lasts some seconds before you can type in the adress field.

Maybe it has something to do with another annoying "feature": when switching from Avant to another task via Alt-Tab you have to press twice to activate the next task. The first Alt-Tab remains you in Avant but without focus.

These two bugs make the use of Avant Browser extremely annoying.


Return to “Avant Browser Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users