[help] The Avant-"A" in the Taskbar beside Systemclock

General questions about scripts and buttons should be asked here. Development scripts and buttons may also be posted for feedback.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

User avatar
Canaris101
Fan
Fan
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 11:20 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: Ultimate 2019 build 2
Default engine: Google Chrome
IE Version: N/A
Skin: Tristan :(
Location: Germany

[help] The Avant-"A" in the Taskbar beside Systemclock

Post by Canaris101 » Tue Sep 11, 2007 3:01 pm

Isn't it ugly?
Image
How can I change it to something spectacular?

I use WinME.

Thanks for Help.
Sorry for my Spaghetti-English...

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: [help] The Avant-"A" in the Taskbar beside Systemclock

Post by MysteryFCM » Tue Sep 11, 2007 3:56 pm

At present, it cannot be changed - only hidden

User avatar
Canaris101
Fan
Fan
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 11:20 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: Ultimate 2019 build 2
Default engine: Google Chrome
IE Version: N/A
Skin: Tristan :(
Location: Germany

Re: [help] The Avant-"A" in the Taskbar beside Systemclock

Post by Canaris101 » Tue Sep 11, 2007 5:01 pm

Mon Dieu! #-o
It's a thing for the next Bug-Fix, I presume? :wink:

Thanks for Answere :)
Sorry for my Spaghetti-English...

abfan123
Avantus Maximus
Avantus Maximus
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:24 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Avant Version: 11.7 build 43
IE Version: 8
Contact:

Re: [help] The Avant-"A" in the Taskbar beside Systemclock

Post by abfan123 » Wed Sep 12, 2007 12:12 am

Hmm
Nice to see that Avant still works under Windows ME.
It doesn't seem like a bug, btw.
What's your "color mode"?
256 colors?
IE8(Pro), Microsoft Security Essentials
Main PC:
Image
Secondary PC same as primary but with Windows 7 x64 Ultimate as the OS.

User avatar
Canaris101
Fan
Fan
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 11:20 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: Ultimate 2019 build 2
Default engine: Google Chrome
IE Version: N/A
Skin: Tristan :(
Location: Germany

Re: [help] The Avant-"A" in the Taskbar beside Systemclock

Post by Canaris101 » Wed Sep 12, 2007 1:04 am

Hmmm, strange.
I thought that some 98er uses AVANT, too.
Color Mode is only 32-Bit, sorry.

But if it's not a bug... what should it be?
Is your "A" prettier than mine?
Please let's see.

Yours,
All in :!:
Sorry for my Spaghetti-English...

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: [help] The Avant-"A" in the Taskbar beside Systemclock

Post by Sara » Wed Sep 12, 2007 2:21 am

It is now the Official Logo of Avant Browser. Not something we can change. Not a "Bug."

Sara :)

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: [help] The Avant-"A" in the Taskbar beside Systemclock

Post by André » Wed Sep 12, 2007 2:35 am

Windows ME, I believe, can only display icons with 16-bits of color in the system tray similar to 2000, 98, and 95. There is a patch to display 24/32-bit icons in 2000 but I don't believe there is a way in ME, but don't take my word for it.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

User avatar
Canaris101
Fan
Fan
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 11:20 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: Ultimate 2019 build 2
Default engine: Google Chrome
IE Version: N/A
Skin: Tristan :(
Location: Germany

Re: [help] The Avant-"A" in the Taskbar beside Systemclock

Post by Canaris101 » Wed Sep 12, 2007 10:27 am

Image

Further Questions? :wink:
No? :shock:

But now comes mine:
Why I have 3 different "A"-Symbols in my Taskbar, but the ugliest beside my Clock :?:
Sorry for my Spaghetti-English...

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: [help] The Avant-"A" in the Taskbar beside Systemclock

Post by hornakapopolis » Wed Sep 12, 2007 10:40 am

One of those "A"s isn't in your taskbar, it's an icon in the tab for the page you're viewing in Avant. The "A" that is directly above your Start button is the tab's FavIcon. If you weren't on an Avant site, it wouldn't be there. If you were on CNN.com, it would be CNN's icon.

The one you have circled isn't technically on your taskbar, either... it's in your Quick Launch bar, which, in turn, is on your taskbar. It's simply the icon to start using Avant. If Avant wasn't open, it would still be there.

The system tray, which contains the icon you first pointed out, is a running program in your taskbar. As such, it displays things as it's programmed to, causing the limitation in showing icons that Doc mentioned.

User avatar
Canaris101
Fan
Fan
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 11:20 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: Ultimate 2019 build 2
Default engine: Google Chrome
IE Version: N/A
Skin: Tristan :(
Location: Germany

Re: [help] The Avant-"A" in the Taskbar beside Systemclock

Post by Canaris101 » Wed Sep 12, 2007 10:51 am

I know... I know...

But:
Have you all this superpretty symbol?
Sorry for my Spaghetti-English...

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: [help] The Avant-"A" in the Taskbar beside Systemclock

Post by hornakapopolis » Wed Sep 12, 2007 11:21 am

Well, we've explained the "where" and the "why," so I'm not sure what else can be said... unless your last question (?) wasn't actually a question.

User avatar
Canaris101
Fan
Fan
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 11:20 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: Ultimate 2019 build 2
Default engine: Google Chrome
IE Version: N/A
Skin: Tristan :(
Location: Germany

Re: [help] The Avant-"A" in the Taskbar beside Systemclock

Post by Canaris101 » Wed Sep 12, 2007 11:41 am

Oki, once again ;) :

Do you (all here or you) have the same symbol beside your systemclock (below/right) like I have?
Sorry for my Spaghetti-English...

ABman
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 965
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:29 pm
Windows Version: XP+SP3 Home
Avant Version: 2012
IE Version: IE7/8

Re: [help] The Avant-"A" in the Taskbar beside Systemclock

Post by ABman » Wed Sep 12, 2007 1:03 pm

Canaris101 wrote:Oki, once again ;) :
Do you (all here or you) have the same symbol beside your systemclock (below/right) like I have?
Yes, I have the same icon by the system clock. (I prefer the old icon!)

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: [help] The Avant-"A" in the Taskbar beside Systemclock

Post by addonsfan » Wed Sep 12, 2007 2:18 pm

Hi,
Bug fix: update to WinXP or better. =D>
I don't have the SYSTRAY icon enabled at the moment, but it looks the same as yours, just better, because I'm using WinXP. See how that works? #-o

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: [help] The Avant-"A" in the Taskbar beside Systemclock

Post by addonsfan » Wed Sep 12, 2007 2:26 pm

One more suggestion:
Go to Tools > Avant Browser Options > TRAY ICON > Uncheck "Enable Tray Icon" > Apply > Ok

User avatar
Canaris101
Fan
Fan
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 11:20 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: Ultimate 2019 build 2
Default engine: Google Chrome
IE Version: N/A
Skin: Tristan :(
Location: Germany

Re: [help] The Avant-"A" in the Taskbar beside Systemclock

Post by Canaris101 » Wed Sep 12, 2007 2:31 pm

@ AbMan:
Ahhhhjaaahhhh :)
This is one of the Answeres I needed.


Yes, I'm agree with you.
The old Icon is sexier :mrgreen:


@ addonsfan:
Can You please post a little Screen of your A-Symbol?
I enable all Systrayicons that I need, and there are only these Icons on, that I have in my Autostart.
I know about the XP-Thing, that starts a lot of Things that not really important if I want, I can disable the A-Icon, too... but sometimes I close my Browser (and other important Things) in Tray and its easier to open then again then again.
Sorry for my Spaghetti-English...

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: [help] The Avant-"A" in the Taskbar beside Systemclock

Post by addonsfan » Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:17 pm

The "A" in the systray pretty much looks like the "A" in the favicon of this site.

User avatar
robc
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 988
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 3:33 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate SP1
Avant Version: 11.6 Build 20
IE Version: 7
Location: Italy

Re: [help] The Avant-"A" in the Taskbar beside Systemclock

Post by robc » Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:37 pm

Er... where's the problem? Avant's main icon, the icon of the shortcut the setup creates, the icon that displays in the tray if the option is checked and the site/forum favicon contain the same image, that is the new Avant logo that appeared with 11.5 build 20. If you don't like the icon, there's not much you can do, as I said elsewhere, apart possibly changing the icon of the shortcut and removing the icon from the tray...
Image formerly known as Image

User avatar
Canaris101
Fan
Fan
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 11:20 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10
Avant Version: Ultimate 2019 build 2
Default engine: Google Chrome
IE Version: N/A
Skin: Tristan :(
Location: Germany

Re: [help] The Avant-"A" in the Taskbar beside Systemclock

Post by Canaris101 » Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:44 pm

... or waiting till someone change it.
Maybe in the next Build?
Sorry for my Spaghetti-English...

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Re: [help] The Avant-"A" in the Taskbar beside Systemclock

Post by Sara » Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:58 pm

Since it's a brand new logo, that's not going to happen for a couple of years (or until the author gets tired of it), so I guess not. BTW, when you "close" Avant to the System tray it's not really closed, it's still running in the background, taking up resources. I disabled mine years ago as it caused more trouble than it was worth.

Sara :)

Post Reply