Avant switch between IE7 and IE8 Final

Finished Scripts and Buttons ready for download can be found here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Avant switch between IE7 and IE8 Final

Post by statm1 » Thu Jun 18, 2009 12:13 am

The reason why I said it wouldn't be soon is because of MS's traditional timetable for bringing out a new version of IE. It was almost 2 years for IE8. Also Im sure it would be possible for the button to only appear when IE8 was installed. I'm pretty sure they will get rid of the button in IE9. Which they are working on right now.
Image
-- Matt --

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: Avant switch between IE7 and IE8 Final

Post by AXEMAN » Thu Jun 18, 2009 8:35 pm

Thanks again addonsfan you beat me to the punch LOL Since i am posting i was wondering is there such thing as a good registery cleaner that is free. :)

bigC
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:40 pm
Windows Version: 10
Avant Version: 2016 Build 1
Default engine: Firefox
IE Version: 11
Skin: Crystal
Location: New York

Re: Avant switch between IE7 and IE8 Final

Post by bigC » Thu Jun 18, 2009 9:00 pm

AXEMAN wrote:Thanks again addonsfan you beat me to the punch LOL Since i am posting i was wondering is there such thing as a good registery cleaner that is free. :)
Kind of an OT question but... http://ccleaner.com

User avatar
AXEMAN
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1606
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:55 am
Windows Version: WIN 7 64 BIT
Avant Version: THE LATEST
IE Version: 9

Re: Avant switch between IE7 and IE8 Final

Post by AXEMAN » Fri Jun 19, 2009 7:51 pm

Sorry about that bigC i did not realize at the time :) :thumbup:

WindRune
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 6:55 am
Windows Version: Windows XP
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A

Re: Avant switch between IE7 and IE8 Final

Post by WindRune » Sun Jul 12, 2009 11:42 pm

statm1 wrote:I'm pretty sure they will get rid of the button in IE9. Which they are working on right now.
Hopefully you are right. I just wish that they didn't created the button in the first place. Whoever suggested that needs some punishment. :think:
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Avant switch between IE7 and IE8 Final

Post by statm1 » Mon Jul 13, 2009 9:09 am

I would have to disagree with that. It would of been stupid to ignore all the sites that had not been updated to work with IE8 yet.

The reason why I said I was pretty sure they would get rid of the button in IE9 was because most sites should be updated by then and if they aren't then they would of had enough time to do so. Plus, the IE8 engine would have a good foot hold by then and will not require the IE7 engine any longer. There would not be any need to have a button to switch between the IE8 engine and IE9 because I believe if your site worked in IE8 then it should work just fine in IE9 as well.
Image
-- Matt --

User avatar
statm1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2168
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:03 pm
Windows Version: Windows 8/7
Avant Version: 2012 Build 181
IE Version: 10
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Avant switch between IE7 and IE8 Final

Post by statm1 » Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:37 am

As of AB 11.7 Build 45, Avant is now automatically switched to IE8 standards mode at installation. You will still need this plugin to switch back to IE7 compatibility mode..
Image
-- Matt --

Post Reply