Avant Browser nolonger opens with Avant Browser

This forum is for forum-related discussion only. DO NOT post anything here regarding Avant Browser itself or regarding anything other than the forums themselves. Post in Registration/Log In Issues if you are having trouble logging in!

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Forum rules
Do not post anything here that is not directly related to this forum. If you break this rule, you may receive a warning, and your post may be deleted.
eastangel
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 7:50 pm
Avant Version:

Avant Browser nolonger opens with Avant Browser

Post by eastangel » Wed Jun 03, 2009 8:37 pm

Hi,

After installing build 32 and then build 33, I could no longer open Avant Browser or Forum Web page.
I am getting following message.

Code: Select all

Firewall Alert
Your request triggered an alert! If you feel that you have received this page in error, please contact the administrator of this web site. 
I have to Firefox/Orca browser to open "http://www.avantbrowser.com/"

Any clues to solve this problem.

Thank you,

East

Moved to Forum Discussion. -DrDrrae

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant Browser nolonger opens with Avant Browser

Post by kudos » Wed Jun 03, 2009 9:35 pm

Thanks for reporting, the board administrators are aware of this and are working to resolve it after the recent board attacks.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Avant Browser nolonger opens with Avant Browser

Post by André » Thu Jun 04, 2009 4:18 am

I can't reproduce it but I've alerted MysterFCM.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Avant Browser nolonger opens with Avant Browser

Post by addonsfan » Thu Jun 04, 2009 4:33 am

What firewall software are you using? Most likely, you need to add avant.exe to it's exceptions list.

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Avant Browser nolonger opens with Avant Browser

Post by addonsfan » Thu Jun 04, 2009 4:54 am

I just realized you said it was just happening for the Avant Browser server only. I believe this is actually a server side issue.

Is this server using WebKnight? I think that's a question for MysteryFCM...

User avatar
André
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5787
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 1901 3:19 am
Windows Version: Windows 7 x64
Avant Version:
Location: Baltimore and McHenry, Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Avant Browser nolonger opens with Avant Browser

Post by André » Thu Jun 04, 2009 4:55 am

The error eastangel is seeing is caused by a firewall and filtering program recently installed on the server to help mitigate any further possible DOS attacks. The config still has some tweaking to do as you can see here.
Formerly known as DrDrrae.
Image
I am not a member of the development team.
Please search the forum before posting questions.

Avant Force Wiki || Avant Force Blog
Desktop:
Intel C2Q Q9550 @ 3.7GHz || 8GiBs DDR2 800 @ 435MHz || Asus P5E
112 GiB SSD || 931 GiB HDD || 2x ATI 5770 in CrossfireX || Picture

NetBook:
ASUS Eee PC 1000HE || 1.66 GHz Atom N280 || 2 GiB DDR2 667 || 320 GiB HDD

NAS:
Intel E5200 @ 2.632 GHz || 4 GiB DDR2 800 @ 421 MHz || Foxconn G31MXP-K
5.45 TiB RAID 6

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Avant Browser nolonger opens with Avant Browser

Post by addonsfan » Thu Jun 04, 2009 4:57 am

Yeah, it all makes sense now... :lol:
I just remembered about the recent DDOS attacks.

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Avant Browser nolonger opens with Avant Browser

Post by MysteryFCM » Thu Jun 04, 2009 8:25 am

Sorry for the delay folks, I'm looking into it and will sort it out asap.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant Browser nolonger opens with Avant Browser

Post by kudos » Sat Jun 06, 2009 8:38 pm

Just to say that I have not had the firewall alert message for several days now. Good work - thanks MysteryFCM.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Avant Browser nolonger opens with Avant Browser

Post by MysteryFCM » Sun Jun 07, 2009 11:06 am

Cheers :)

addonsfan
Avantic Elite
Avantic Elite
Posts: 1940
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:56 am
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: N/A
IE Version: N/A
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Avant Browser nolonger opens with Avant Browser

Post by addonsfan » Sun Jun 07, 2009 11:22 am

:mrgreen:

eastangel
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 7:50 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Avant Browser nolonger opens with Avant Browser

Post by eastangel » Tue Jun 09, 2009 2:39 pm

I am trying to open Avant browser and forum web page. Still, I am getting firewall alert only when using with IE8 or Avant browser.

Firefox/Orca working fine.

Code: Select all

Firewall Alert
Your request triggered an alert! If you feel that you have received this page in error, please contact the administrator of this web site. 
I did not have any problems from my home computer.

This happens only from Work computer. I did not have any firewall program installed on my computer.

Thank you,

East

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Avant Browser nolonger opens with Avant Browser

Post by MysteryFCM » Tue Jun 09, 2009 2:50 pm

Is this for the forum AND the website?

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Avant Browser nolonger opens with Avant Browser

Post by MysteryFCM » Tue Jun 09, 2009 4:40 pm

Looking through the logs, this seems to have been due to your user agent. I've modified the filter so it's not as tough on the user agent strings.

eastangel
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 7:50 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Avant Browser nolonger opens with Avant Browser

Post by eastangel » Tue Jun 09, 2009 4:59 pm

Both.

Still same way. After filter change.

I can successfully perform "New version check"

East

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Avant Browser nolonger opens with Avant Browser

Post by MysteryFCM » Tue Jun 09, 2009 5:02 pm

I don't actually have access to the main Avant homepage server, only the forums server. I'll take a look at the filter logs again.

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant Browser nolonger opens with Avant Browser

Post by kudos » Tue Jun 09, 2009 5:59 pm

Can you try clearing temporary internet files in case you are viewing a cached page.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

eastangel
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 7:50 pm
Avant Version:

Re: Avant Browser nolonger opens with Avant Browser

Post by eastangel » Tue Jun 09, 2009 6:02 pm

Did fresh restart. Cleared catch using "ccleaner".

East

User avatar
kudos
Support Staff²
Support Staff²
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 10:35 am
Avant Version:

Re: Avant Browser nolonger opens with Avant Browser

Post by kudos » Tue Jun 09, 2009 6:07 pm

Please go to What's My User Agent? and post back your user-agent string from IE and Avant.
 
.:Volunteer support staff (regular user):.
Image
I am not a member of the Avant / Orca development team
Please search this forum / the Wiki before posting questions
Forum Rules | Frequently Asked Questions | Active Topics

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Re: Avant Browser nolonger opens with Avant Browser

Post by MysteryFCM » Tue Jun 09, 2009 6:11 pm

I checked the logs again, and there's nothing in the forums filter logs to indicate you have been blocked since I made the changes.

I can't do anything about the filter on the www.avantbrowser.com server until Anderson comes back online.

Post Reply