Double click tab to close

If you have suggestions to make Avant Browser even better, describe them here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
tbsmith
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2004 4:03 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:

Double click tab to close

Post by tbsmith » Tue Jan 18, 2005 1:21 am

I'd like AB to 'wait' to see if I'm double clicking a tab to close it before it brings the window to the front. If I have a large pdf in a background window and I want to close that window by double clicking the tab, after the first click AB tries to bring the window to the front and then tries to close it after the second click. This takes cpu time to load the page even though I really just want to close it.

-Thanks
-Todd
Todd B Smith

User avatar
SweetLou
Avant Guru
Avant Guru
Posts: 3897
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:33 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Lakewood, Ohio USA

Post by SweetLou » Tue Jan 18, 2005 1:27 am

You can just middle click the tab to close it. I don't think I would want it to wait to see if I am double clicking a tab before it brings it to the front. When I click a tab, I want it to display as fast as possible.
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to prosper. -Benjamin Franklin
Where's the dancing and singing monkey?

tbsmith
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2004 4:03 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:

Post by tbsmith » Tue Jan 18, 2005 1:33 am

I don't have a middle button. I'm on a two button + touchpad laptop. Is there a way I can emulate the middle button? For instance, if I could hover the mouse over a tab and press a key (space bar or something), that'd be cool.
Todd B Smith

User avatar
robc
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 988
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 3:33 pm
Windows Version: Vista Ultimate SP1
Avant Version: 11.6 Build 20
IE Version: 7
Location: Italy

Post by robc » Tue Jan 18, 2005 10:24 am

You MAY have a middle button on your laptop: many manufacturers (Alps and Logitech at least) allow you to configure "gestures" on the touchpad to emulate, say, scrolling, doubleclicking etc. I've configured mine to scroll vertically if I slide my finger on the right side, horizontally if I slide on the top and to middle click if I tap on the top right corner of the touchpad... have a look at the control panel of your touchpad and its documentation.
Image formerly known as Image

User avatar
Chandu9013
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 785
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2004 4:13 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Pondicherry,India
Contact:

Post by Chandu9013 » Tue Jan 18, 2005 3:09 pm

Otherwise right click on that tab and click on close.Same no. of clicks though(2). :) That is what i do when i have something like what u mentioned :)
D.Sai Chandra Sekhar (Chandu)
Avant Browser 10.1 Build 30
Internet Explorer 6 SP1
Mozilla Firefox 1.0.1
Windows 98 Second Edition
_________________
Image

Sergei
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 5:09 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Galway, Ireland
Contact:

Post by Sergei » Tue Jan 18, 2005 4:25 pm

What you want is impossible I think. Another option instead would be to display Avant's red "close tab" button.
My Cartoons
:
IE7 ][ Windows XP Tablet PC Edition 2005 ][ Avast! Antivirus ][ Kerio Firewall ][ DSL

User avatar
Chandu9013
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 785
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2004 4:13 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Pondicherry,India
Contact:

Post by Chandu9013 » Wed Jan 19, 2005 9:41 am

Sergei wrote:What you want is impossible I think. Another option instead would be to display Avant's red "close tab" button.
That will take more tab bar space.I don't think that is a supportable idea
D.Sai Chandra Sekhar (Chandu)
Avant Browser 10.1 Build 30
Internet Explorer 6 SP1
Mozilla Firefox 1.0.1
Windows 98 Second Edition
_________________
Image

Post Reply