Anti-Crash

If you have suggestions to make Avant Browser even better, describe them here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

Post Reply
ryanraab
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 8:43 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Edmonton/Alberta/Canada

Anti-Crash

Post by ryanraab » Thu Jul 29, 2004 6:32 pm

A anti-crash system if possible. I use a tool by dachshund called anticrash it works good. Wanted to know if it possible to make something like this integrated in avant designed just for it. Also avant does not crash anymore at all. I'm happy anderson finally fixed the crashing problems but if it were ever to happen this would help.
Peace out

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Thu Jul 29, 2004 6:36 pm

I can't see something like Anticrash being added to AB as it's simply not necessary (makes more sense to use an external problem as it would go loop de loop if the program it ws running in errr.... crashed, lol).

ryanraab
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 8:43 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Edmonton/Alberta/Canada

Post by ryanraab » Thu Jul 29, 2004 6:38 pm

Was it a ok idea atleast. So I don't feel useless. :lol:
Peace out

Logan
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 11:31 pm
Avant Version:

Post by Logan » Thu Jul 29, 2004 6:48 pm

It sounded like a good idea to me. Although Avant hasn't crashed in weeks for me(except for the link you gave in another thread). I think the option to recover any pages that were lost when Avant crashes covers this somewhat. Perhaps a reworking of it may be in order. I would like to be able to choose which pages to reopen that way I can just not open the page that caused the problem.

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Thu Jul 29, 2004 6:50 pm

Logan wrote:I would like to be able to choose which pages to reopen that way I can just not open the page that caused the problem.
One of the features included with AB Edit is the Recovery Console (designed specifically for this, hehe) :wink:

Logan
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 11:31 pm
Avant Version:

Post by Logan » Thu Jul 29, 2004 7:15 pm

I couldn't get AB Edit to work for me. It said I didn't have Avant installed.

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Thu Jul 29, 2004 7:24 pm

Thats wierd :?

There's only two possible reasons for that happening;

1. AB is named "avant.exe" instead of "iexplore.exe"
2. ABE is unable to determine the location of AB

ABE uses the following registry key to determine AB's location (this is because I've not found any other way to find out). Once it's retrieved the path, it checks to make sure iexplore.exe exists in the folder, and if not, throws the error you received.

Registry key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\Classes\htmlfile\shell\AvantBrowser\command

If possible, can you let me know which dir AB is installed in, which dir AB is using for your settings, and the name of the AB exe file please?

Logan
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 11:31 pm
Avant Version:

Post by Logan » Fri Jul 30, 2004 7:43 am

Everything is in it's default location for WinXP. I tried both the full install and the basic install. I'm going to do some comp cleaning(including the reg) and try again. Will let you know how it goes.

User avatar
Chandu9013
Avantic
Avantic
Posts: 785
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2004 4:13 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Pondicherry,India
Contact:

Post by Chandu9013 » Fri Jul 30, 2004 7:57 am

Using Anti Crash for abt a month now and avant hasn't crashed since then :lol:
D.Sai Chandra Sekhar (Chandu)
Avant Browser 10.1 Build 30
Internet Explorer 6 SP1
Mozilla Firefox 1.0.1
Windows 98 Second Edition
_________________
Image

User avatar
MysteryFCM
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7330
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:34 am
Windows Version: 10, 8.0, 8.1, 7, Vista, XP
Avant Version: 13.00 Build 23
Default engine: Gecko
IE Version: 7.x, 8.x, 9.x, 10.x, 11.x
Skin: AthenX
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Contact:

Post by MysteryFCM » Fri Jul 30, 2004 4:07 pm

Logan wrote:Everything is in it's default location for WinXP. I tried both the full install and the basic install. I'm going to do some comp cleaning(including the reg) and try again. Will let you know how it goes.
Everything seems to be going to **** this year :cry:. Been trying to re-produce this on both my 9x and XP Pro systems, and so far, have been unsuccessful unfortuntely.

Post Reply