Page 1 of 2

Right Click,, Rename Tabs

Posted: Sat Nov 15, 2003 2:13 pm
by bobad
Tab names are annoying. Some of my groups all have the same beginning to the tab names, so I don't know what they are unless I click on them. The simple ability to right-click and assign a sticky name would be great. Instead of "Home of the world's best freeware because I say so and my site rules and the rest suck", you would see "Best Freeware" every time that tab is opened from within a group.

Right click, rename tabs

Posted: Wed Nov 26, 2003 4:53 pm
by azlector
I second the motion. NetCaptor has this feature, and (when I used to use NetCaptor) it came in very handy when a lot of tabs with similar names were open.

Re: Right click, rename tabs

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2003 2:01 pm
by jis
I vote for implementing this functionality too.

jis

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2003 8:27 pm
by Sara
Me too!

Sara :D

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2003 8:28 pm
by Logan
Count me in.

Posted: Fri May 21, 2004 5:28 pm
by hornakapopolis
Robyn wrote:I note the request to have tabs appearing as tabs but would further add to this to see the name of the page the tab refers to even allowing for a 'sticky' name to be applied by the user. It would be a lot easier to navigate with the tabs if they were namd and closed individually. Sorry if this has already been requested.
Another request for this feature

Posted: Fri May 21, 2004 11:16 pm
by angeldust
If you hover (not hoover) over the tab you will get the full name appearing for that tab which of course is not the same for ea. tab for diff. links from same page.
I use this when browsing this forum, as I open all thread per section to read at once.

naming tabs

Posted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 5:35 pm
by fjcag
It would be great to be able to set a sticky name for the tab that would carry over whenever that is opened. If we can change the tab names for groups in the groups.dat file how come it does not show that name on the tab when that site is opened.

Re: naming tabs

Posted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 5:54 pm
by hornakapopolis
fjcag wrote:If we can change the tab names for groups in the groups.dat file how come it does not show that name on the tab when that site is opened.
My guess would be because the tabs in Avant pull the name from the title of the web page displayed. The reason the titles are in the groups.dat file is so that they be differentiated if editing is needed. That's why you have to go to the .dat file to edit them, rather than being able to do it in Avant.
There is another request to be able to edit the names of ites inside of Avant here.

Posted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 6:17 pm
by jhansman
Please, please, add this feature. Seems like a common sense option for any tabbed browser, no? Yes!

Posted: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:38 pm
by hornakapopolis
metahuman wrote:Suggestion: Customizable Window Tabs
  • Description: User-controlled client-side renaming of Window Tabs.
    Example:
    • Default title: "Welcome to California"
      Renamed title: "CA Biz Dept."
    Benefit: Aids organization and browsing productivity.
Thanks for reading.
Another request for this feature

Customizable Window Tabs

Posted: Sat Jun 19, 2004 5:24 pm
by fjcag
Exactly Great please put this on the top of the list for the next update. I have tried almost all the browsers and they all have good and bad features. Avant browser tops my list as far as good features, one of the only bad features is the sizing and naming of the tabs. Please Mr Che consider this request.

Thank You

fjcag

Posted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 2:14 pm
by hornakapopolis
song wrote:It will be useful for me if the TAB TITLE could be renamed
Another request

Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 9:51 pm
by JeRrYFaR
I requested this under the help section, however I also cast my vote for this.. I am very impressed w/ this browser..

Posted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:49 am
by lostjoey
Yes, I have been waiting for this too - it's already integrated in Maxthon and/or SlimBrowser (not sure which) - it's the only thing I find annoying about Avant..

Re: Right Click,, Rename Tabs

Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2007 8:39 pm
by Scrabble
I vote for this too.

However, in the meantime, people could implement the auto-execute script below which makes the titlebar scroll. In turn, the tab scrolls too. Then you could read what tab it is as it scrolls. I will admit it can drive you buggie...especially with a lot of tabs open. :shock:


var repeat=1
var title=document.title
var leng=title.length
var start=1
function titlemove() {
titl=title.substring(start, leng) + "......." + title.substring(0, start)
document.title=titl
start++
if (start==leng+1) {
start=0
if (repeat==0)
return
}
setTimeout("titlemove()",100)
}
if (document.title)
titlemove()

Re: Right Click,, Rename Tabs

Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:47 pm
by hornakapopolis
Scrabble wrote:However, in the meantime, people could implement the auto-execute script below which makes the titlebar scroll. In turn, the tab scrolls too. Then you could read what tab it is as it scrolls. I will admit it can drive you buggie...especially with a lot of tabs open. :shock:
Good idea.

Personally, I added an icon and used it as a button. Clicking the Add-on button scrolls the tab and titlebar. Reloading the tab stops it.

You should add that to the Add-ons area.

Re: Right Click,, Rename Tabs

Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 7:57 pm
by josephrot
Count me in as another vote for this feature.

You never realize how useful it might be, until you realize you can't yet do it. 8)

Posted: Thu Mar 08, 2007 6:27 am
by Hai
That interests me the most.

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:52 am
by Bryan
Yes please have this function. It's very important!