Right Click,, Rename Tabs

If you have suggestions to make Avant Browser even better, describe them here.

Moderators: Support Staff², Support Staff, AvantGuard, Developer

bobad
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2003 12:02 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:

Right Click,, Rename Tabs

Post by bobad » Sat Nov 15, 2003 2:13 pm

Tab names are annoying. Some of my groups all have the same beginning to the tab names, so I don't know what they are unless I click on them. The simple ability to right-click and assign a sticky name would be great. Instead of "Home of the world's best freeware because I say so and my site rules and the rest suck", you would see "Best Freeware" every time that tab is opened from within a group.
Robert A Adkins

azlector
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 8:11 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Right click, rename tabs

Post by azlector » Wed Nov 26, 2003 4:53 pm

I second the motion. NetCaptor has this feature, and (when I used to use NetCaptor) it came in very handy when a lot of tabs with similar names were open.

User avatar
jis
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 446
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:45 pm
Windows Version: WXPPSP3, WVHPSP2, W7U64
Avant Version: 11.7.0.46SR
IE Version: 8
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Right click, rename tabs

Post by jis » Fri Nov 28, 2003 2:01 pm

I vote for implementing this functionality too.

jis
Avant user since the year 2003.

User avatar
Sara
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 6283
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 11:16 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2015 build 27lite
Default engine: N/A
IE Version: IE 10(64 bit)
Skin: Crystal
Location: Butler, PA

Post by Sara » Fri Nov 28, 2003 8:27 pm

Me too!

Sara :D

Logan
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 11:31 pm
Avant Version:

Post by Logan » Fri Nov 28, 2003 8:28 pm

Count me in.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Fri May 21, 2004 5:28 pm

Robyn wrote:I note the request to have tabs appearing as tabs but would further add to this to see the name of the page the tab refers to even allowing for a 'sticky' name to be applied by the user. It would be a lot easier to navigate with the tabs if they were namd and closed individually. Sorry if this has already been requested.
Another request for this feature

User avatar
angeldust
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 2295
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2003 11:45 pm
Windows Version: Windows 7
Avant Version: 2010 Bld 127
IE Version: 8
Location: T.O. Canada
Contact:

Post by angeldust » Fri May 21, 2004 11:16 pm

If you hover (not hoover) over the tab you will get the full name appearing for that tab which of course is not the same for ea. tab for diff. links from same page.
I use this when browsing this forum, as I open all thread per section to read at once.
To be Truly Loved is to Live, I HAVE Lived. Image

User avatar
fjcag
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 4:45 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: New Jersey, USA

naming tabs

Post by fjcag » Mon Jun 07, 2004 5:35 pm

It would be great to be able to set a sticky name for the tab that would carry over whenever that is opened. If we can change the tab names for groups in the groups.dat file how come it does not show that name on the tab when that site is opened.

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: naming tabs

Post by hornakapopolis » Mon Jun 07, 2004 5:54 pm

fjcag wrote:If we can change the tab names for groups in the groups.dat file how come it does not show that name on the tab when that site is opened.
My guess would be because the tabs in Avant pull the name from the title of the web page displayed. The reason the titles are in the groups.dat file is so that they be differentiated if editing is needed. That's why you have to go to the .dat file to edit them, rather than being able to do it in Avant.
There is another request to be able to edit the names of ites inside of Avant here.
Last edited by hornakapopolis on Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jhansman
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2004 5:33 am
Avant Version:

Post by jhansman » Thu Jun 10, 2004 6:17 pm

Please, please, add this feature. Seems like a common sense option for any tabbed browser, no? Yes!

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:38 pm

metahuman wrote:Suggestion: Customizable Window Tabs
  • Description: User-controlled client-side renaming of Window Tabs.
    Example:
    • Default title: "Welcome to California"
      Renamed title: "CA Biz Dept."
    Benefit: Aids organization and browsing productivity.
Thanks for reading.
Another request for this feature

User avatar
fjcag
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 4:45 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: New Jersey, USA

Customizable Window Tabs

Post by fjcag » Sat Jun 19, 2004 5:24 pm

Exactly Great please put this on the top of the list for the next update. I have tried almost all the browsers and they all have good and bad features. Avant browser tops my list as far as good features, one of the only bad features is the sizing and naming of the tabs. Please Mr Che consider this request.

Thank You

fjcag

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by hornakapopolis » Wed Jun 23, 2004 2:14 pm

song wrote:It will be useful for me if the TAB TITLE could be renamed
Another request

JeRrYFaR
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 8:41 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Contact:

Post by JeRrYFaR » Fri Jul 15, 2005 9:51 pm

I requested this under the help section, however I also cast my vote for this.. I am very impressed w/ this browser..

lostjoey
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:46 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:

Post by lostjoey » Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:49 am

Yes, I have been waiting for this too - it's already integrated in Maxthon and/or SlimBrowser (not sure which) - it's the only thing I find annoying about Avant..

Scrabble
Semi-Fan
Semi-Fan
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 10:36 pm
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:

Re: Right Click,, Rename Tabs

Post by Scrabble » Wed Feb 21, 2007 8:39 pm

I vote for this too.

However, in the meantime, people could implement the auto-execute script below which makes the titlebar scroll. In turn, the tab scrolls too. Then you could read what tab it is as it scrolls. I will admit it can drive you buggie...especially with a lot of tabs open. :shock:


var repeat=1
var title=document.title
var leng=title.length
var start=1
function titlemove() {
titl=title.substring(start, leng) + "......." + title.substring(0, start)
document.title=titl
start++
if (start==leng+1) {
start=0
if (repeat==0)
return
}
setTimeout("titlemove()",100)
}
if (document.title)
titlemove()

User avatar
hornakapopolis
AvantGuard
AvantGuard
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 2:09 pm
Windows Version: Windows 10 Pro 64
Avant Version: 2015
Default engine: Chrome
IE Version: 11
Skin: Stickers
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Right Click,, Rename Tabs

Post by hornakapopolis » Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:47 pm

Scrabble wrote:However, in the meantime, people could implement the auto-execute script below which makes the titlebar scroll. In turn, the tab scrolls too. Then you could read what tab it is as it scrolls. I will admit it can drive you buggie...especially with a lot of tabs open. :shock:
Good idea.

Personally, I added an icon and used it as a button. Clicking the Add-on button scrolls the tab and titlebar. Reloading the tab stops it.

You should add that to the Add-ons area.

josephrot
Semi-Avantic
Semi-Avantic
Posts: 582
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 11:52 pm
Windows Version: XP SP1 SP2 SP3 Vista
Avant Version: 11.7 Build 19
IE Version: IE 6 and 7 Firefox
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Right Click,, Rename Tabs

Post by josephrot » Thu Feb 22, 2007 7:57 pm

Count me in as another vote for this feature.

You never realize how useful it might be, until you realize you can't yet do it. 8)

Hai

Post by Hai » Thu Mar 08, 2007 6:27 am

That interests me the most.

Bryan
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 5:01 am
Windows Version: Windows
Avant Version:
Location: Singapore

Post by Bryan » Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:52 am

Yes please have this function. It's very important!

Post Reply